Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Madness
I've managed to have this former Coal Chamber frontmans 3rd Devildriver release for a couple of weeks now and i've got to say this is going to be one of the metal genre's best releases of 2007. This is level on par with Machine Head " The Blackening ". All tracks are metal monsters , thrashrifftastic and its an injustice if this doesn't sell by the bucketload . I'm not...
Published on 14 Jun 2007 by Mr. M. D. Burridge

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting There....
It's surely a blessing for Dez Fafara that these days, when his name's mentioned, thoughts are conjured up of his metal titans now on their third album, and not his now-defunct nu-metal escapades in Coal Chamber. And to be fair to Devildriver, they have steadily improved since their 2003 self titled debut. But I have no idea where on earth everyone reviewing this CD has...
Published on 25 Feb 2008 by I. Lehnert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This will kick your ass!!, 2 July 2007
This review is from: The Last Kind Words (Audio CD)
So another stonkin' release from the most underrated band in modern day metal. This is my second favourite album of the year so far, just behind Machine Head's `The Blackening', and that ain't no easy feat!

With tracks like `Not All Who Wander Are Lost' and `Clouds Over California' it's clear why this band should be up there with the heavyweights such as Machine Head, Lamb of God and Mastodon. This album far exceeds their previous two releases both on musicianship and song writing. The playing of drummer Jon Boecklin is truly outstanding along with both guitarists. As anyone knows who saw them at the Download Festival, these guys are pulling off these songs live with no problems.

Definitely a must for all metal fans, if you liked the other two albums, you'll love this one.

Go buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant album!, 27 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Last Kind Words (Audio CD)
Devildriver strike again with yet another metal masterpiece. They have returned starting where they left off last time with 'The Fury Of Our Maker's Hand' but turning up the ante with meaty riffs, kick ass solos and vocals that will rip your head off! Stand out tracks such as 'Bound By The Moon' and 'Not All Who Wonder Are Lost' really show what this band are capable of. Devildriver are one of the best metal bands out there at the moment! If you are metal fan do not miss this album! It's just amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OH MY GOD!!!, 26 Jun 2007
By 
S. Powell (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Kind Words (Audio CD)
THERE ARE MANY WORDS TO DESCRIBE THIS BAND, AWESOME, UNRELENTING, OUTSTANDING, BALL-BREAKINGLY HEAVY, BASICALLY JUST GOODAMN MAGNIFICENT!!! THEIR THIRD STUDIO ALBUM GIVES US A REMINDER JUST WOT THE HEAVY METAL SCENE IS MISSING RIGHT NOW!! THIS YEAR HAS ALREADY SEEN MACHINE HEAD RELEASING THE TOP ALBUM OF 2007, SURELY 'THE LAST KIND WORDS' IS GOING TO BE UP THERE!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devildriver does it again!!!, 26 Jun 2007
By 
Michael H. Jenkins "Jinxdogg3825" (Kansas City, MO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Kind Words (Audio CD)
I am a native of Kansas City, MO in the US of A and this album is not being released until 07.31.2007 but I was able to obtain a copy anyway. No worries Dez, I will purchase the US version too as I believe in supporting artists.

Enough of that, this album absolutely kicks ass! There are a lot of bands out there doing a lot of heavy stuff but in my opinion Devildriver are the creme de la' creme. Get this album! Listen to the whole thing beginning to end because it's that kind of album!

Now why would the go and have Roadrunner Europe release it first? Everyone knows most Americans believe if they can get it free then why pay even when people's kids depend on the artist's work?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Release of 2007 by far!, 24 Jun 2007
By 
A. Everitt "The Rhinoron" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Kind Words (Audio CD)
What can i say... this release, to me, epitomises metal in 2007. Devildriver have always been a band i've "liked" but never "loved". I picked up their 1st 2 albums, and thought they weren't bad... but didn't compare to the rest of my collection. All that changed with this though - the album blew me away. Tracks like Clouds Over California and Axe Shall Fall are by far and away two of the most sensational songs i've heard in a long long while. Devildriver have clearly hit their stride on this third album. If you're a fan of the band, you'll love this, or if like me - you merely "liked" them before, or thought that they weren't bad then DEFINATELY give this a spin - you won't look back!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 19 July 2007
By 
Nicholas A. Herring "Nick Herring" (Dorset, Poole) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Kind Words (Audio CD)
I remeember hearin coal chamber when i was bout 15 at school and a friend showed me to them and thought they werent that great. (He loved them) Each album just sound the same. The devildriver came along and i wasnt so keen on their self-title, but it did grow on me abit. but it was fury of the maker's hand which i heard first and that was impressive, but the last kind words is just amazing, a masterpeice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes Boss!!, 30 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Last Kind Words (Audio CD)
Wow. Now this is what modern metal is all about!

After the complete horsesh*te that was Coal Chamber Dez finally thought about putting out a few metal albums. Devildriver and Fury... were jolly good metal albums, with the aggression in Dez's voice finally getting it's required stage.

Then along comes this slab of metal to hit you square on in the chops, and boy does he deliver with this album.

This is just sheer modern metal brutality. Machine-gun rhythm section, monster riffing, wonderfully aggressive vocals, all with an underlying melody, which ensures each song sounds quite different from the others.
Easily one of the best albums of the year, and will probably be fighting it out with Machine Head's Blackening album to take that title.

Spine crushing stuff. You'll be forming your own circle pits in your living room/bedroom listening to this bad boy.

Metal!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third strike!, 11 July 2007
By 
Emerson Marini (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Kind Words (Audio CD)
Yeah.
The guys are still awesome.
Still technical, still hard, still metal!
Don't waste time... Go and buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Kind Words
The Last Kind Words by DevilDriver (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews