Customer Reviews


8 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalgia, 14 July 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Gunsmoke: Complete First Season (6pc) (Full Sen) [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]I bought this series a couple of weeks ago and have been watching the odd episode usually after my wife has gone to bed and i am suprised at how much i am enjoying it.I watched Gunsmoke as a child and enjoyed it but this first series is new to me and the episodes are only 25 minutes long whereas when i was watching they were a full hour(including adverts).There are times when you wish they had developed the characters a little more but overall its a great series and a wonderful nostalgic wallow in good old fashioned Cowboy stuff.The second series was made in 1 hour episodes and i am sure i will get it because once you get into it Gunsmoke really was a very good show.As John Wayne says in the intro get use to James Arness as he going to be around for a long time and he was right,Gunsmoke ran for 25 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent and Entertaining, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Sometimes the first seasons of a TV show can be a little patchy, but not in this case. I also think that the stories work better in a 25 minute format. It's surprisingly intelligent and entertaining compared to later seasons when it seemed to become more formulaic. James Arness said that early TV shows were based on the radio show scripts, which accounts for the quality. It's probably the finest example of TV Westerns and well worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first class, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought this set as I can remember seeing them in the 1950s I liked them as a child and I still like them now I will be buying some more soon.
I had them in plenty of time and am very happy with the service and the dvds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Region One, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I gave this 5 stars because it came on time and well packed, I could watch the DVD because it was region 1, that means it can only be viewed in the USA, so I sent it back to the USA for a full refund. It was my mistake I should have checked the Regions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Good quality picture . Not bad stories . Watched it as Gun Law late fifties .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gunsmoke complete first season, 16 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Hello! Gunsmoke complete first season Amazing got up to the forth season but haven't watched them yet, I wasn't born when it was shown on the tv, I can understand why it ran for so many years, I just hope they complete all the seasons so I can get the whole collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
golden oldie a must if ure into westerns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful entertainment!, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunsmoke: Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Brought back great memories of how westerns used to be made.would highly recommend it .Will be buying season 2 as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews