Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'So take my hand and lead me...'
Following the messy divorce of The Sisters Of Mercy in 1985, Wayne Hussey and bassist Craig Adams joined forces with guitarist Simon Hinkler (ex-Artery) and drummer Mick Brown (ex-Red Lorry Yellow Lorry)to form The Sisterhood. Following wrangles with Sisters Of Mercy vocalist Andrew Eldritch, who rush-released an album using the Sisterhood moniker, the group settled on...
Published on 5 May 2007 by Stefan Moondance

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear
Some bands from back in the day have aged really well, others haven't. Sadly The Mish fall into the latter bracket. One or two quite good tracks on here but overall, if you were there, leave it in the memory bank rather than updating the CD collection if I were you.
Published on 30 Jan. 2011 by PJ Sturdee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'So take my hand and lead me...', 5 May 2007
This review is from: The First Chapter (Audio CD)
Following the messy divorce of The Sisters Of Mercy in 1985, Wayne Hussey and bassist Craig Adams joined forces with guitarist Simon Hinkler (ex-Artery) and drummer Mick Brown (ex-Red Lorry Yellow Lorry)to form The Sisterhood. Following wrangles with Sisters Of Mercy vocalist Andrew Eldritch, who rush-released an album using the Sisterhood moniker, the group settled on the name The Mission.
The First Chapter collects together the groups first two 12" singles on the independent Chapter 22 label, before they signed to Mercury records. Both singles topped the UK Independent chart in 1986.
This welcome reissue re-instates the short instrumental pieces that originally appeared on the 'Garden Of Delight' / 'Like A Hurricane' 12", adds an unreleased early version of 'Bridges Burning' (which would later appear, in re-recorded form, on the band's debut album 'God's Own Medicine'), and provides 4 live tracks that originally appeared on the b-sides of the various 'Wasteland' 12" singles. Also included is a live version of 'Shelter From The Storm' (this version featuring John Paul Jones of Led Zeppelin on keyboards), which the band never released as a studio version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting blown away!!!, 7 Jun. 2011
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Chapter (Audio CD)
This wasn't The Mission's first album, nor is it a studio album. It's a collection made up of the band's first couple of singles and b-sides etc, and the fact that 'The First Chapter' holds its own against some of their more recognised studio output makes this album a bit special.
Songs like the debut single 'Serpents Kiss', 'Garden of Delight' and 'Over The Hills and Far Away' are good toe tapping rockers with some typical 1980s style baritone vocals for added gothness.
My two favourite tracks are perhaps the lesser known songs on offer. 'Naked and Savage' is almost a precurser to 'Dance on Glass' from the 'God's Own Medicine' album. It's a beautifully dark, atmospheric number with a nice, haunting guitar mantra and 'Dancing Barefoot' is a fantastic acoustic guitar based ditty that's brilliant in it's simplicity. The fact that it was recorded by Wayne Hussey on his own with a tape recoder taped to the wall makes it all the more unique.
'The First Chapter' reminds me of Marillion's 'B-Sides Themselves' album in that it is a collection of out-takes and b-sides that are every bit as entertaining as anything else in the band's back catalogue.
You won't find many modern day artists whose 'disposable' material is as strong as this. These were halcyon days of music with genuine creativity and great songwriting quality from hard working bands, who became popular on merit rather than hype.
'The First Chapter', like everything The Mission did from 1986 to 1990 is another example of good music worth rediscovering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5/5 for the album but I can't tell any difference in sound quality on the remaster, 24 July 2007
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The First Chapter (Audio CD)
This is a superb album and still my favourite by the band (although God's Own Medicine and Children are close behind). This remaster is worth picking up for the 5 excellent live tracks tacked on the end but the sound quality of the actual album is no different to the older version in my opinion. This lack of an improved sound quality has made me not bother buying the other remasters because they don't have any live tracks either! This however is a sound buy, go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 1 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Chapter (Audio CD)
Must admit this was one of my favourite albums as a teenager and listening to it again was amazing. Not sure how good it would sound on first listen now but I so enjoyed listening to it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mission accomplished!!!, 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Chapter (Audio CD)
not quite as good as their other albums such as children or god's own medicine, doesn't have one big killer track but they never really disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 23 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The First Chapter (Audio CD)
This is the sound of a band at the start of a long and (sort of) successful career. This is the best of them before they got too big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr N D Bowen (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Chapter (Audio CD)
Classic Mission, say no more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 30 Jan. 2011
By 
PJ Sturdee (Dunstable) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The First Chapter (Audio CD)
Some bands from back in the day have aged really well, others haven't. Sadly The Mish fall into the latter bracket. One or two quite good tracks on here but overall, if you were there, leave it in the memory bank rather than updating the CD collection if I were you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The First Chapter
The First Chapter by The Mission (UK) (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews