Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2002
I Bought FRAMED and NEXT in 1974 - nearly thrity years down the line and they still sound as good now - this was SAHB before they got really theatrical and boy did they rock - Hole in her stocking is still one of my favourite all time records - as an introduction to the SAHB these two together are briliant - they went on to show what a great band they were with the concept type albums that followed and the brilliant stage shows - I saw them 5 times and each time was a tremedous experience - it's about time they became available to a much wider audience
0Comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2006
I first heard sahb in about 1974 after picking up next in a record store in cardiff took it home and played it for the first time and it blew me away i later found framed in a second hand store. I raved about sahb to all who would listen and quietly built up a small army of converts the highlight was to see the band live at the old cardiff capital in 1975 last year i was given next/framed cd for my birthday and was over the moon anyone who loves raw rock at its best should buy. i always have and will forever remain a loyal fan Geoff Andrews
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2005
This rocks! (Revised)
In 1957 Alex Harvey won a competition to find Scotland's answer to Tommy Steele, winning that title gave him work as a backing singer for Gene Vincent and Eddie Cochran, so by the time he picked up a backing band called "Tear Gas" in summer of 1972 Alex had been working in Show business for nearly 30 years.
For when Alex and his band now renamed "The Sensational Alex Harvey Band" went into the studio to record the first of these re-issued albums "Framed" the sessions where completed in a week.
With it's no-frills rock approach with a twist of blues and with only 2 cover versions that being the title track Framed written by the legendary song writing team of Mike Leiber and Jerry Stroller and the song "I just want to make love to you" written by Willie Dixon both old blues songs Alex had taken and given a new lease of life with his venomous delivery that spat at you as he sang the lyrics.
The rest of the tracks were self-penned between Mr Harvey and the band, one of the stand out tracks for me is the self penned song "Isobel Goudie" which is split into 3 parts (Part1 My lady of the night) (Part2 Coitur Interruptus) (Part 3 Virgin and the Hunter) I think the titles are pretty much self explanatory and the closing track gives a good indication of what coming on the following album, "St Anthony" is a full blown boogie-woogie song with metallic sounding wah-wah guitars.
The following years follow-up album "Next" had expanded the sound of the band by the addition of strings and a brass section and the use of a custom made contraption called a "Tootlebug Drone" this was made for Alex in 60's by electronics wizard Ashley Tootle, this gave the track "Faith Healer" it's sinister throb that ran all the way through the song. But we are getting a head of ourselves, the opening track "Swampsnake" with its boogie-woogie sounding piano and harmonica was the first of many styles that this album has on it.
The very un-politically correct "Gang bang "using a narrative style of story-telling was one style the use of an old 50's hit called "Giddy-up-a-ding-dong was another (this is the only hit that Freddie Bell and the Bellboys had way back in September 1956 it got to number 5) and the other cover version is a tango influenced track written by Jacques Brel about a brothel.
The penultimate track "Vambo marble eye" is another rock work out with wah-wah guitar and heavy percussion, to finish this collection off Alex recorded what I think was one of the best songs of his career in my opinion.

"The last of The Teenage idols" which again has three distinct parts 1 2 and 3, part 1 slow piano dominated part, part 2 is all wah-wah guitars and heavy metal arrangements and the last part is a 50's do-wop version of the song that grinds to a halt.
These first 2 albums by this amazing band where there best in my humble opinion, this material shows a band with their full creative powers and they really where this tight playing live as well, another face of 70's glam not to be missed...
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2008
i first "borrowed" framed from a school friends brother in the seventies.it was deleted at the time and never returned.this and next show exactly why alex & the boys rocked.a very welcome re issue especially as next was deleted on cd afew years ago.an overlooked and unmissable classic first lp.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2010
I already have Framed on Vinyl, but bought this chiefly for a studio version of Faith Healer on Next. It's longer that the one playing on Planet Rock at the moment, but none the worse for that. Other reviews here already rightly praise the musicality etc of the band, so I'll just add that the CD quality is good enough to really bring out the music.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
I like the Next Album but the Framed album isn't as good!
I would recommend this to mostly older people as it is music from their era but as a 20 year old myself, I do like this music, it's really different and unique :)
My favourite tracks on the Next album are Swampsnake and The last of the teenage idol (parts 1-3)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Bought as gift again for my husband and he really likes it. He saw them live, I think in Newcastle around the time of this one and it was one CD he always wanted on CD. Very pleased with it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
arrived very quickly and pleased with it would recommend to any one who likes alex harvey to buy this at such a good price
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Summer 1973 slade at earls court , slade were great , so why do I remember the support bands set more than the main avent, because they were the best live band of the 70s for me, and they played tracks from both these albums, so get buying a bargain.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2004
In 1957 "Alex Harvey" won a competition to find Scotland's answer to "Tommy Steele", winning that title gave him work as a backing singer for "Gene Vincent" and "Eddie Cochran", so by the time he picked up a backing band called "Tear Gas" in summer of 1972 "Alex" had been working in Show business for nearly 30 years.

For when "Alex" and his band now renamed "The Sensational Alex Harvey Band" went into the studio to record the first of these re-issued albums "Framed" the sessions where completed in a week.
With it's no-frills rock approach with a twist of blues and with only 2 cover versions that being the title track "Framed" written by the legendary song writing team of "Mike Leiber" and "Jerry Stroller" and the song "I just want to make love to you" written by "Willie Dixon" both old blues songs "Alex" had taken and given a new lease of life with his venomous delivery that spat at you as he sang the lyrics.

The rest of the tracks were self-penned between "Mr Harvey" and the band, one of the stand out tracks for me is the self penned song "Isobel Goudie" which is split into 3 parts (Part1 My lady of the night) (Part2 Coitur Interruptus) (Part 3 Virgin and the Hunter) I think the titles are pretty much self explanatory and the closing track gives a good indication of what coming on the following album, "St Anthony is a full blown boogie-woogie song with metal sounding wah-wah guitars.
The following years follow-up album "Next" had expanded the sound of the band by the addition of strings and a brass section and the use of a custom made contraption called a "Tootlebug Drone" this was made for "Alex" in 60's by electronics wizard "Ashley Tootle", this gave the track "Faith Healer" it's sinister throb that ran all the way through the song. But we are getting a head of ourselves, the opening track "Swampsnake" with its boogie-woogie sounding piano and harmonica was the first of many styles that this album has on it.
The very un-politically correct "Gang bang "using a narrative style of story-telling was one style the use of an old 50's hit called "Giddy-up-a-ding-dong was another (this is the only hit that "Freddie Bell and the Bellboys had way back in September 1956 it got to number 5) and the other cover version is a tango influenced track written by "Jacques Brel" about a brothel.
The penultimate track "Vambo marble eye" is another rock work out with wah-wah guitar and heavy percussion, to finish this collection off "Alex" recorded what I think was one of the best songs of his career in my opinion "The last of The Teenage idols" which again has three distinct parts 1 2 and 3, part 1 slow piano dominated part, part 2 is all wah-wah guitars and heavy metal arrangements and the last part is a 50's do-wop version of the song that grinds to a halt.

These first 2 albums by this amazing band where there best in my humble opinion, this material shows a band with their full creative powers and they really where this tight playing live as well, another face of 70's glam not to be missed...
11 comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)