Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE REAL ESSENTIAL CLASH
Having waited years for this release when it finally arrived it was like all my Christmas coming together as this singles box set has it all.

Including all the singles even 1985s This is England this is definitely a release any hardcore Clash fan will want to have. The real pleasure begins when you open the box and see all the singles are presented in their...
Published on 26 Jun 2009 by nin/ja77

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars collection
All the hits on this Cd , as asked by a pride to play the clash at her wedding found this collection good price
Published 3 months ago by patrick vanspall


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE REAL ESSENTIAL CLASH, 26 Jun 2009
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Having waited years for this release when it finally arrived it was like all my Christmas coming together as this singles box set has it all.

Including all the singles even 1985s This is England this is definitely a release any hardcore Clash fan will want to have. The real pleasure begins when you open the box and see all the singles are presented in their original covers and even the discs are made to like the old singles and for one split second i thought i had picked up the wrong format. That worry was soon forgotten when i realised what they had done.

The thing with the Clash was they were actually a real singles band in that they just didn't release recycled album tracks they actually had stand alone singles. Such as Radio clash, Complete Control and the brilliant (white Man) in hammersmith Palais, you also get the Cost of Living ep. As you would expect the artwork for their singles was always top notch.

So what you get is 19 singles all presented in their original case, some of the singles include newly added tracks, such as the ones that were released in America, So you end up getting tracks that have never been released on cd before. As some singles had different mixes for different countries. Some of the singles have over seven songs on them. This release is surley meant to be loaded on to your mp3/ipod for full enjoyment.

Included is a booklet which features contributors like Shane McGowan, Ian Brown, Mike D (Beastie Boys), and ex footballer (yes some do have good taste) Stuart Pearce. Even their former manager Bernie Rhodes writes a few words.

Casual Clash fans would probably be better of with the single disc release but for Clash fanatics this is really ESSENTIAL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lesson in guitar music, 5 Oct 2006
This review is from: Singles (Audio CD)
Not wishing to dismiss some stunning album tracks and excellent B-sides, The Clash's singles were an amazingly consistent statement.

There is no filler on here. From the punk blast of "White Riot" through to the oustanding "White Man In Hammersmith Palais" the first half of this album is gritty, intelligent and essential. The latter part of this collection shows a wider influence - Motown on "Hitsville UK" and rockabilly-drone on "Know Your Rights".

So being just a singles collection it omits such gems as "Guns of Brixton" and "Straight To Hell" but this remains an excellent singles collection from one of the greatest bands that ever walked the planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spark of ingenuity, 5 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Singles (Audio CD)
I feel unworthy to do anything other than basque in the greatness of The Clash and place this album on a pillar of all time greatness.
These tracks have said more politically, socially and with more drive that 10 cabinets at downing street. This compliation of classics tracks their growth as a band from simplistic marvells such as "White Riot" to the ever so cunning "London Calling" up to the point where you wonder whether punk is loosing its meaning.
Anyhow. There be times when you think "Golly-gosh is it me are all of these pop-punkish type bands today copying them","Did I hear that right, did they just say..." and maybe "When will this end". But, in summary you will most probaly think the album was a fantastic insight to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 4 Jan 2007
By 
J. F. Northfield "joff183" (stevenage, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a fantastic box set. The sound is awesome and it is like owning a box set of actual clash 7' singles as they are replicated with original sleeve and even the cd itself is a replica of the vinyl. Awesome!! it has all the singles.Plus it has some rare US b-sides on the disc, this is ten time better than buying a greatest hits. Go buy will you can, they are numbered!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my God! This is truly awesome..., 6 Jan 2009
I bought this on the strength of the Amazon reviews. Do as I did and you will not be disappointed.

This is a brilliant box set. Wonderfully packaged with fantastic original artwork, it contains all the Clash's singles and B-sides (19 discs in total). The sound quality is excellent and the accompanying booklet is well presented, with many quotable contributions from famous Clash devotees.

What can you say about the band? They were stylish, they had attitude, but above all they recorded many great records. Surely the most enduring of all the groups to emerge from the punk era, a genre they comfortably transcended.

Not only a great collection of music; this is a fantastic historical document which pays well deserved homage to one of Britain's greatest bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost......................., 10 Aug 2012
If you're interested enough to read this, I needn't tell you how wonderful The Clash were, "on vinyl" and live.
This is a wonderful box set, very thoughtfully put together and produced. Personally I can take or leave the booklet - "stars" recollections of the first time they heard The Clash etc etc pale into comparison with my own personal memories of way back in 1977 !!!
Yes, truly wonderful collection of songs in beautifully re-produced original 7" single covers.............
...but **** BE WARNED ****..... Much to my frustration, the "Cost of Living" EP DOES NOT include the 50 second or so "Advert" that was tagged onto the end of "Capital Radio" originally. For all the effort that was made to produce this box set, how could this have been overlooked?? Especially as it is apparently included on the Japanese Version ??!!??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs - great artwork!, 13 May 2008
By 
D. Turner (Cardiff, Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singles (Audio CD)
While I agree that there may be more comprehensive Clash sets available (my personal favourite being 'The Story Of The Clash Volume 1') this release does exactly what it says on the tin. All the singles, though not in chronological order - unlike the previous 1991 version, combined with far improved artwork. And it is this that sold me on this CD.
The colourful booklet has been designed with care and features notes from the great and good on each track. Everybody from Pete Townsend to Danny Boyle and many inbetween, get to comment on their favourites and the impact these tracks had on them. Single sleeve artwork and illustrations adorn the liner notes together with some fine shots of the band. All in a slip-sleeved jewel case. And for once, no grammatical mistakes seem to have been made (far too common nowadays on many releases).
A fine release and an excellent introduction to the bands more famous tracks. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!!!, 2 Mar 2007
By 
Anthony Corbett (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a truely stunning collection. There's stuff here I've never heard before - all perfectly mastered so the sound quality is superb. There's also a bit of inspired fun in having the CDs as replicated 7" vinyl singles (remember them?), all in mock original sleeves.

Clash fans, punks and those into 70s/80s rock will know the stuff here. Reggae fans should buy this at the earliest opportunity, not only for the studio 1 inspired "Armagideon Time" (and the brilliant dub versions provided here) or the Mikey Dread produced "Bankrobber" but also for "Cool Confusion" - a US release - and the many other reggae inspired tunes. However, "London Calling" and "Rock the Casbah" are enough to recommend this to anyone with a pulse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars punk, 4 Mar 2014
By 
D. J. Badman (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Singles (Audio CD)
Bought this cd for my girlfriend,she and i are very happy with it. I'm an old punk so have all clash anway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All killer, no filler., 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Singles (Audio CD)
Emerging from the unpromising beginnings of the south West London pub rock circuit in the mid 70's the Clash went on to become the definitive punk group. If punk was a movement largely defined by the medium of the single rather than the album then no other group can claim a legacy as rich as this. From the raw explosive power of White Riot and the howling, rampant, rage of Complete Control this collection chronicles their development into musicians able to deliver their message with skill and verve whilst Joe Strummer proved himself to be a song-writer without compare.

More than 35 years later the lyrics to timeless classics like White Man In Hammersmith Palais still pack a powerful punch: "If Adolf Hitler flew in today, they'd send a limousine anyway". This is a track which not only displays Strummer's prodigious lyrical talent but also highlights the fluency which they were able to fuse the energy and urgency of punk with the rhythms of reggae.

On London Calling the thundering clatter of drum and guitar and haunting vocal howl of Joe Strummer perfectly capture the apocalyptic anxiety of the early eighties "the ice age is coming, the sun's zooming in", whilst the sombre march of The Call Up makes a plaintiff stand against the jingoism that prevailed around the time of the Falklands war.

This is all killer, no filler. I would give 10/5 if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Singles
The Singles by The Clash (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews