Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally violent but never gratuitous
Straightheads is the story about a successful, controlling career woman, Alice, played by Gillian Anderson, who decides to take her young alarm man, Adam, played by Danny Dyer, on a date.

However both Adam and Alice are assaulted on the way home, following which their lives become entwined, with both obsessed with how they were hurt, unable to speak of it to...
Published on 30 April 2007 by Jaybird

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, brave and challenging vengeance thriller
Not for weak stomachs, this is a deliberately challenging and harsh 'eye for an eye' picture. Gillian Anderson and Danny Dyer make for an intruiging couple as Alice and Adam. She's a high flyer. He fits TVs. But when she invites him on a date to a lavish country house party, and the two end up getting together, it looks like things couldn't go much better.
They...
Published on 7 Aug 2010 by Benminx


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very cold dish, 4 Oct 2009
This review is from: Straightheads [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This movie is an unconvincing descent into gratuitous violence redeemed only by an excellent performance from Gillian Anderson. Although the desire for revenge is an understandable response to the brutality suffered by the two main characters their reaction is not a credible one. Few people act on an urge for vengeance but even if we accept that they do on this occasion it's hard to believe they would be this extreme. What is this movie trying to tell us about a lust for violence? Well, nothing really, except that some people have such a lust. Now, I like a good gory horror flick, but in such films the violence is not posited as real. Here, however, we're supposed to accept these sadistic acts of retaliation as a plausible, and we're left feeling a little grubby for having witnessed them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anderson's turn as city slicker Alice is the highlight!, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Paul Townsend (Bristol, South Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straightheads [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Twisted is the best way to describe Straightheads, a low-budget British revenge thriller from up-and-coming writer/director Dan Reed. Gillian Anderson and Danny Dyer star in what is essentially an excuse to wallow in nasty sex and even nastier violence - and sometimes both simultaneously. There are occasional stabs at something approaching a thoughtful analysis of the human condition, but by the time the curtain falls, you'll most likely be left feeling violated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straightheads [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..GEM OF A FILM..", 21 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Straightheads [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is without a doubt very cool Its a simple good old revenge movie! for a first time director he has done a brilliant job!! the cast is great, especially Gillian anderson, it was good to see her do such shocking roll, and shes got her boobs out a hell of a lot of scenes!!!! Its a very enjoyable film so watch it.. Although its not a horror film, It will probably appeal more to horror fans due to the rape, revenge, and violence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent British Film, 31 Dec 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Straightheads [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Somewhere in here was a very good movie trying to get out. For me its probably between 3 and 4 stars. The fact that its never really very good doesn't mean to say you shouldn't watch it. The script whilst it has a lot of flaws and some gaping plot holes is basically a nice little twist on the standard revenge movie (think Straw Dogs). Some previous reviewers have been quite harsh in their criticism, but my feeling is that it actually reflects human nature rather well. I.e. different people will react differently if they have been the subject of a violent attack.

The cast all give decent performances with Gillian Anderson undoubtably the best actor in the film. However the big problem with the film is its lack of sympathetic characters. In the end you just don't care what happens to anybody.

I'm grateful that some British films are still being made though, as compared with some of the rubbish coming out of Hollywood this IS a masterpiece. So overall I only recommend buying if its very cheap, as it maybe worth seeing once, but I don't know how it will stand up to repeated viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straightheads [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Alright
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not to everyone's taste ... strong sexual violence., 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straightheads [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting story, well acted. Some scenes over violent. Not to everyone's taste. Danny Dyer good as always. Gillian Anderson excellent!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly moronic trash, 20 Dec 2007
This review is from: Straightheads [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Well this film must go down as quite simply one of the worst I've ever seen. It is the most pointless piece of crap I have seen for many years. The premise of the film is totally ridiculous - would a successful super attractive lady of Gillian's quality really get hooked up with some semi-literate chav like Dyer's character? Er no.

So this film goes from one ludicrous premise to another, then to another, then to another. It is a bloody awful mess, with Anderson so badly miscast it is hilarious. Incredulous, plotless, souless, mercifully this "film" was at least short.

Uugghhh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gillian anderson shines, 29 July 2010
By 
Hiran Weliwitigoda "thoughtful" (Sri lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Straightheads [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I own the DVD.If you are gillian anderson fan you will like this movie. Gillian acts as a upmarket executive who takes a toy boy out on a weekend and gets in to difficulty with a gang of men. The bluray is region B coded. so it will only play on region free bluray players or region b locked players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Rubbish!!, 9 Feb 2008
By 
laineyf "widnes" (warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Straightheads [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I'm not giving this sad excuse for a film any stars at all, as it really doesn't deserve it. I can't understand what Danny Dyer and Gillian Anderson were thinking when they signed up for this one, I can only think it was for the money. It is just plain nasty, in the worst way. It has no structure at all, and I have seen much better rubbish on Zone Horror, and at least on that channel you know what you're getting!! It's just not what I would expect from 2 such high profile actors, who I normally like very much. Give it a miss, it's just not worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Straightheads [DVD] [2007]
Straightheads [DVD] [2007] by Gillian Anderson (DVD - 2007)
£11.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews