Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkly majestic, totally superb
While I would have called myself a Paradise Lost fan for the last 4 years or so, and I have every CD they have made, I wouldn't have rated them among my "must see" top 10 until now. I always found them too inconsistent, with flashes of brilliance sandwiched between slabs of uninspired same-ness.

However all that has changed. `In Requiem' is quite superb. I...
Published on 7 Sep 2007 by Anthony Horwood

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
After the promising direction Paradise Lost's previous album took, I can't help but feel disappointed with this one. Most of the songs just don't stand out to me, instead they feel like generic pop gothic metal songs. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, but previous albums like Icon, Draconian Times and Paradise Lost have set the standard so high that in comparison this...
Published on 18 July 2008 by M. Ball


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkly majestic, totally superb, 7 Sep 2007
By 
Anthony Horwood "Bruce" (Paris) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Requiem (Audio CD)
While I would have called myself a Paradise Lost fan for the last 4 years or so, and I have every CD they have made, I wouldn't have rated them among my "must see" top 10 until now. I always found them too inconsistent, with flashes of brilliance sandwiched between slabs of uninspired same-ness.

However all that has changed. `In Requiem' is quite superb. I liked it from the first listen, but somehow I kept it in my car for two weeks without ever feeling the need to change CDs. This is easily the best album in Paradise Lost's long, illustrious career and should, if there is any justice, mark the turning point, where acclaim is poured all over them.

My daughter is always asking me questions like "what's your favourite track" and with In Requiem it took me about 2 weeks to conclude that it is `Unreachable'. This is not because nothing stands out, the problem is that it *all* stands out. The whole album is composed of `A-sides'.

It's a dark, gloomy kind of music though tracks like Requiem provide an opportunity to slam your head against unyielding objects. The guitars are consistently perfect; the solos are precise and brief and the wall-of-noise is used sparingly and effectively. Instrumentally this is without doubt the band's zenith. Lyrically it is still Paradise Lost, so apparently meaningful lines are interspersed with head-scratching gibberish occasionally, but so what? The overall impression is one of darkly crawling power, and that works very well, thanks. Nick Holmes, always impressive, is at his best ever on this album ranging from straight singing to darkly threatening growls via a credible impression of James Hetfield. This is a band at the peak of their powers and they look poised to exceed themselves and possibly the rest of the dark metal world.

There is no track that immediately bites your face and won't let go (No `Isolate', `Erased' or `Forever After') but there isn't anything on the album I won't sing along to either. It is consistently excellent and should be the album that brings this always excellent band the wider audience they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Lost 2007, 4 Oct 2007
By 
Vaclav Smerda "vs3" (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Requiem (Audio CD)
This is undoubtedly one of the top 5 releases of 2007. And even though someone might disagree, probably PL's best album so far.

It's very dark, doomy. No messing around, straight to the point ... pure metal. I was just looking at the track listing and wanted to pick the stand out tracks. But there are no stand out tracks on this album. It's brilliant from the first note to the very last one.

If there is something like band's identity, for me it was album Draconian times for PL. Now, that album always had a weakness for me and that were the vocals. In comparison to that album, In Requiem hasn't got any weakness. Nick Holmes is fantastic, absolutely faultless.

It's pointless to analyze In Requiem. You'll buy it anyway and you'll find out for yourself. You certainly won't regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradiselost, back in a tour de force album - the finest yet!, 21 May 2007
By 
S. Naisbitt "dekka7@aol.com" (wallsend, tyne and wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Requiem: Special Edition (2 Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of paradiselost since 1993's thundering and doom leaden opus Icon came to my attention. I have bought every album since on the day of release and eagerly anticipated them, with good reason. Even in the latter years of the nineties when the Halifax quintet where at the apex of their almost techno-pop experimental phase (alienating a fair portion of their hardcore doom fanbase in the process) I had to respect the nerve of these guys to risk sales and popularity for the sake of sticking to their creative guns, even if softer offerings like One Second and to the largest extent 1999's Depeche Mode-like album Host took several spins to grow on me.

With 2007's new album In Requiem the band have offered up a welcome progression, harking back to the melody-ridden thunder of 2005's brilliant self titled record. In Requiem delivers 53+ minutes of solid driven stonk! - full of melodies and crushing riffage that will pin you to your easy chair and never fail to impress. Nick Holmes' vocals are, as ever, clean crisp and precise, the perfect slightly gravelled partner to the cutting guitar work of music writer Greg Macintosh. New drummer Jeff Singer fits seemlessly into the signature plaintive howling guitars and anguish tinted sound of a band I love and have seen live twice (both gigs great nights out).

I prefer to let Amazon customers experience music for themselves, as it's such a subjective artform. So I won't bore you with my list of stand-out tracks. To this reviewer the entire album is excellent. What I will say is: if you like paradiselost then this is a welcome addition to their discography and your collection. If you're new to this band/curious then get this album now! You're a fan of heavy intelligent rock/gothic themed metal? Then come witness a brilliant underrated British band at the peak of their power. . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another stunning album, 2 Aug 2007
By 
N. Willetts (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Requiem (Audio CD)
I've being a fan of The Lost since seeing them at Donnington many years ago, and despite numerous changes in musical directions (most noticably the excellent Depeche Mode inspired Host)have always enjoyed their CD's. They are rightly classed as the link between The Sisters of Mercy and Metallic and the new CD is no exception.

Excellent songs played with great skill. The stand out tracks for me are Unreachable,Fallen Children, Sedative God and Your Own Reality with the extra cover version of Missing (unfortunately only on the special edition version) being yet another classic cover by the band in the same way that Small Town Boy stood out on Symbol of Life

After all this time I still find it amazing that the band are not one of the top UK metal artists but that is unfortunately other peoples loss

Thanks guys - keep up the good work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to heavier pastures!, 29 May 2007
By 
Mr. Paul I. Harrod "Rhino" (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Requiem (Audio CD)
Paradise Lost are something of an anomaly, massive in Europe but criminally ignored by press and non-believers here in their home country. It's always been the case that we underappreciate our homegrown metal bands (with the honourable exception of Maiden)but with this, their 11th album, you'd like to think this situation will change - although I wouldn't bet on it. "In Requiem" sees them re-embracing the doomy, guitar heavy sound of their earliest work in favour of the much ridiculed Depeche Mode-style of more recent stuff (which was still bloody good by the way!) With a crisper production and Nick Holmes' vocals sounding better than ever this is at least as good as "One Second" or "Draconian Times" and hopefully this time around with a label in Century Media that understands this type of music as an initially good press we could see Paradise Lost finally get the recognition they deserve for being one of the greatest metal bands Britain has ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shades, 20 Jun 2012
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Requiem: Special Edition (2 Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
Yet another very good effort from the lads! And yet again not a complete triumph either. This is similar to their self-titled previous release but with maybe a slightly darker tone.

The best tracks are 'Requiem', 'Unreachable' (these being my pick), 'Never for the Damned', 'The Enemy' and 'Beneath Black Skies'. The rest are all good but could have been slightly better. It is as heavy as their previous album, no more so, and sticks to the same formula.

Recommended but if you want classic then I'd point you to Shades of God, Icon or Draconian Times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Requiem review, 16 Oct 2010
This review is from: In Requiem (Audio CD)
Paradise Lost have proven themselves again and again. They do it once more with In Requiem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 19 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Requiem (Audio CD)
This has got to be one of the best albums I have purchased this year. Came cross this band purely by chance - if you are into sisters of mercy and within temptation then I can heartily recommend this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Lost continue to stun....., 4 Aug 2007
This review is from: In Requiem: Special Edition (2 Bonus Tracks) (Audio CD)
Paradise Lost's 11th album 'In Requiem' is absolutely stunning. It blends elements from almost all previous albums with what I consider a refreshing new style of gothic metal.
It's organic, very dark, heavy and even brutal in places.
Opener 'Never for the damned' is a barrage of riffs, furious vocals and wonderful leads which sets the tone for the rest of the album. Second song 'Ash and debris' is my personal favourite. Much a song of contrast; the first half presents a massive groove with much anger and stunning lead fills whilst the second half is an epic wall of sound with pianos and leads. Nick's singing on this song is the best I've ever heard. Other favourites of here are 'Requiem': the albums heaviest song, its bonecrunchingly heavy verse demonstrates the crest of heavy metal today, I say. 'Praise lamented shade' is just incredible. It's four minutes of slow burn, gothic and splendid, with the albums best chorus. 'Beneath black skies' is another highlight. Its intro provolks images of midnight twilight, with deeper singing reminiscent of the 'One Second' style. Any reference to older material is a positive I say.
There are, however, a couple of songs where a new direction is hinted, where no trace of previous offerings can be found. 'Unreachable' and 'Fallen children' are such songs. The latter is particularly impressive and reminds me somewhat of 'Mercy' from 'One Second', although they really don't sound much alike. Perhaps the slow pianos are all they have in common.....
In summary: 'In Requiem' is a sure sign that Paradise Lost will continue with this unparalleled output for some time yet. Many suspected the end of the band after their excellent 10th, self-titled album, whereas others, like myself, saw it as more of a celebration of ten albums.
The first five songs are simply stunning, the albums second half is a mixture of more experimental and classy mid-tempo songs. Closer 'Your own reality' is fantastic with soaring leads and great singing.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Part of the Circle, 7 Dec 2007
This review is from: In Requiem (Audio CD)
You can never accuse Paradise Lost of being boring. Once again they have produced an album different from the last, and not stuck to tried and tested (and generic) formula.

So where does this album fit in the pantheon of PL albums?
Well "Lost Paradise" and "Gothic" were experiments in Grindcore Metal.
"Shades Of God" was more slowed down Metallica, whilst "Icon" and "Draconian Times" were polished materpieces of Goth Metal.
"One Second" was the one that departed from convention and brought in elements of electronica.
"Host" was the lost album (although I love it, and consider it the dark rock successor to REM's Automatic For The People), whilst "Believe in Nothing" returned to heavy roots and probably sits between "Shades Of God" and "Icon" in terms of sound.
"Symbol of Life" once again allowed for electronic elements, and probably sits between "One Second" and "Host" in terms of sound.
Then came the perfect 10th studio album, "Paradise Lost", which I would consider to be the succesor to "Draconian Times".

And so on to in "In Requiem". This album, in terms of sound, sits between "Gothic" and "Shades of God"... but is it any good?

The answer is a firm "yes"... but I took convincing.
I'm not a fan of the death metal style grunts that pass for vocals, and although I know that "Lost Paradise" and "Gothic" were necessary to PL's evoltion, they are still not my thing... and this album does have alot of those style of vocals.

But the music remains very PL, albeit in a further evolved form. The lyrics are superb, but if you have any other PL albums then like me you will consider this to be the norm.

So highlights:
Without a doubt "Fallen Children" (which deserves to be the next single) and "Sedative God" are the highlights of the album.
The cover of Everything But The Girl's "Missing" is great, and the bonus track "Silent in Heart" when Nick "moans" Holmes sings "I'm here, like sunshine" is just fantastic.

Purists will love this album. It's heavy and gravelly. If you want to criticise it, the opening tracks are patchy, and there is little here to convert new followers.

But as far as I am concerned, the worlds best band have put out another offering that is sufficently different from anythig previous whilst still maintaing and enhancing their identity.

Go and buy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Requiem: Special Edition (2 Bonus Tracks)
In Requiem: Special Edition (2 Bonus Tracks) by Paradise Lost (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews