Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pirates 3 - The Return of the Swashbuckler
If ever there was going to be a return to the Errol Flynn days this was going to be it and Zimmer has delivered at last. The first movie was different and has suffered from endless comparisons with Steiner, Korngold and the classic movie swasbucklers due to its reliance on eletcric guitars over orchestra. Me? I loved it. I would love to hear it though performed...
Published on 18 Jun 2007 by Michael Trezise

versus
5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near One and Two
Oh dear. The first soundtrack was something special, especially the main themes and the hint of a cello - the second was excellent (Jack's theme tune fitted him exactly and the hornpipe was a refreshing bout of liveliness - also extremely playable with a good fiddle!).

But I think the music for At World's End is rather too much like the film: too epic, too much...
Published on 26 July 2007 by Jen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pirates 3 - The Return of the Swashbuckler, 18 Jun 2007
By 
Michael Trezise (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Audio CD)
If ever there was going to be a return to the Errol Flynn days this was going to be it and Zimmer has delivered at last. The first movie was different and has suffered from endless comparisons with Steiner, Korngold and the classic movie swasbucklers due to its reliance on eletcric guitars over orchestra. Me? I loved it. I would love to hear it though performed entirely by an orchestra.

This soundtrack was eagerly awaited by the movie music collectors in the hope of a real pirate score and Hans Zimmer has deleivered it to us. Full of the jaunty themes known and loved but this time suffused with a power taking you back to those halcyon days of adventure and swordplay. It moves at a fast pace and finally allows full play of the classic Pirate Themes from that first film but given free rein to be played at their most powerful. Romantic underscores for the tension between Sparrow, Swann and Turner are there and bring balance at last in the third movie. Moan about Zimmer? Not here. he has deleivered what he was asked to by Jerry Bruckheimer and also given the film fans what we want too, a true pirate movie score full of fun, flashing adventure and yo ho ho. Turn the dial right up, allow yourself to feel the enjoyment of this music and you won't be disappointed. Enjoy letting yourself visualise Johnny Depp's Capt'n Jack once again except this time, given true power.

If you like Zimmer you will love this. If you like pirate music performed with energy and given an emotional heart you will love it too. Ignore moans about repetition from miserable movie critics too deparate for something new and let yourself have fun again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Film Scores . . . Ever!, 1 Aug 2007
By 
Calvin Scholtz (Cape Town, South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of film music for the past five years and am convinced that this is one of the best film scores I have ever heard. Hans Zimmer has always been a firm favourite of mine as I am constantly in awe of his ability to compose music that sounds truly heroic and emotional.

On this CD, there really isn't a bad track: "Hoist the Colours" is a new 'Pirates' theme, however the tune was composed by director Gore Verbinski and Zimmer before "The Curse of the Black Pearl" was released. In Track 1, it features as a dirge, sung first by a solo boy who is then joined by a full choir; but the theme returns in "The Brethren Court", and most prominently in "What Shall We Die For", where Zimmer slowly builds it up to a triumphant crescendo.

"Singapore" feautures superbly-atmospheric Eastern music, and the track ends with the most heroic take on 'Jack's Theme' yet. "At Wit's End" is dominated by a new theme which Zimmer composed for this film and is most closely associated with Will and Elizabeth's issues. There's even a strangely beautiful passage of female choir that evokes Enya and is the most un-Zimmer like music in the score. 'Calypso's Music Box' also makes a return, first in it's usual, tinkling form and then in a tragic version.

"Up is Down" is one of the best tracks, but I fail in trying to describe it: it has to be heard and felt by the listener! Unable to reprise "The Kraken" in this film, Zimmer opted for a wailing electric guitar in "Parlay", cleverly setting 'Hoist the Colours' against the 'East India Trading Co.' theme as the two sides clash. "I Don't Think Now's The Best Time" is a masterstroke and combines several themes from the past two films into the score while the music for Will and Elizabeth's dramatic wedding scene hints at various waltzes and the Wedding March.

Fans of the "He's a Pirate" theme from the first film will be glad to hear it return on "Drink Up Me Hearties", as it was omitted from the "Dead Man's Chest" soundtrack.

All in all, it's a score that will leave you feeling like swashbuckling your way across the seven seas - which is the point, isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Someone gave Zimmer back his heart!, 30 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Audio CD)
After Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest, Hans Zimmer had to come up with something pretty special to win me over. With Dead Man's Chest Zimmer took some of the best themes from the first film, a collaboration between 15 or so Media Ventures composers such as Harry Gregson Williams and Steve Jablonski, but predominately Klaus Badelt, and did strange things with them. While expanding the jaunty Jack theme and beefing it up was a good idea, as well as bringing in some murky and powerful stuff for both the Kraken and Davy Jones, the score overall was an overloud, bludgeoning experience without much tenderness or subtlety. Too much synthesizer and reverting to his favourite tricks I think may have been the problem. Dead Man's Chest was fun, but lacked colour and seemed to be constantly rushing onwards. After Hans Zimmer's wonderful, delicate and atmospheric music for films such as Da Vinci Code and The Last Samurai I was hoping that with the third Pirates film we would hear a more complex score.

Thankfully, that's just what we get. Once again Zimmer brings in the themes running through Curse of the Black Pearl and Dead Man's Chest which gives a lovely sense of continuity, but these themes are developed even more, becoming action cues that effectively trigger all the right emotions, or background colouring that really add to the depth of the onscreen events. The track 'I Don't Think Now Is The Right Time' so effectively conjured a storyboard in my head, I was able to predict the onscreen action almost perfectly!

At World's End is a much more emotionally charged score, with some lovely soaring moments where the love themes break out from the darker action cues in really uplifting ways. Which is just what you want from a score, something that rewards listening years after the film it accompanies has left cinema screens. Zimmer's music is suitably epic, but also manages to work in a more intimate and delicate way. Some of his favourite motifs are thrown in, which works perfectly, bringing to mind especially The Da Vinci Code, Last Samurai and Gladiator, none of this feels lazy like Dead Man's Chest did in parts, there is also a slightly oriental element especially near the start of the album as our heroes visit Singapore. Zimmer also doesn't forget this is a film about pirates and includes a nice touch of the sea shanty/jig here and there, specifically with track 5. 'Up Is Down'.

Overall Hans Zimmer's score for At World's End is a thoroughly rewarding listening experience. It works by reiterating established themes, but also takes a slightly more offbeat approach with several tracks. Unlike Dead Man's Chest it makes room for a much more romantic and often melancholy sound. I only give it four stars because although I am glad this time we don't have an awful techno remix tacked onto the end, I do feel we could have been given extra DVD content or perhaps simply more score.

Heres hoping that a three-score special edition is released sometime soon.

PJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slightly disappointing movie but a brilliant soundtrack, 30 Aug 2007
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Audio CD)
Alough the movie was not quite as good as I would of hoped (though its still worth 4 stars in my opinion) the soundtrack that accompany's the entertaining movie is in one word, FANTASTIC. It is in my opinion better than the previous two pirate soundtracks having much more fast paced and head beating music. The music accompany's many memorable scenes such as the comical 'Up is down' where our crew of heroes attempts to tip the ship over. Then there is the robust and passionate love theme of Will and Elizabeth, the twangy guitar showdown piece where the opposing sides heroes (and villians) meet for 'Parlay' and of course the main Pirates theme interwined with the new love theme. This soundtrack is well worth buying and has much more music than I have mentioned (don't worry) Its got more music then the previous two individually and of course has the moving song 'Hoist the Colours'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Soundtrack of 2007 so far, 25 May 2007
By 
Paul Tang "asfafa" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Audio CD)
For this third film, it is obvious from listening to this soundtrack that Zimmer has put a lot of effort and care into producing a very listenable and highly recommended album.

Many fans of Hans Zimmer's work will no doubt recognise numerous minor themes from his previous works like The Da Vinci Code, King Arthur, The Last Samurai, plus a few others. Zimmer has 'borrowed' these and woven them into a work of relative complexity, using a full orchestra thankfully to great effect. And it pays off, being more memorable than his Pirates 2 work.

Certainly the best original film soundtrack of 2007 so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's A Pirate For Sure, 16 May 2007
By 
Graham (Co Durham England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Audio CD)
Hans zimmer brings a happy smile to all those people who were disapointed with Pirates 2 Dad man's chest score. With superb new themes and loads more emotion Hans has deffinatley been given the chance to losen the strings and be more relaxed and experimentive given us the hope that the script for the final part of this unsupected trilogy is the best of the bunch........WELL DONE HANS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Users Daughter, 29 Nov 2007
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Audio CD)
A brilliant soundtrack!!! there are the original themes from the first two films, but they have a twist.

At Wits End is one of the best tracks (3) because it has an emotianal slow section that builds to a fast section. After a beginning that sounds murky and dark through to the choral singing, there comes a beautiful romantic tune played exuisitly by the violins. The up-beat section follows and really shows an entirely different side.

Up is Down (5)is another great track with brilliant violin and piccalo solos. My only minor dissapointment with the CD is track 4 - Multiple Jacks. In my personal opinion it is not as good as the others.

Other than that Hans Zimmer has done it again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoist The Colours!, 22 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Audio CD)
Having already the soundtracks from the previous two films, I have to say this one is definately in my opinion the best. you can just hear from the music when to laugh, cry, or even hide behind the cinema seat... there are some hauntingly beautiful pieces and stirring themes to get you picking up your Cutlass and joining the Crew!

Now where's that Monkey, I want to shoot something....

A fitting end to the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Combination of old, new and homage, 11 Dec 2007
By 
A. K. L. McDonald (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Audio CD)
Classic Zimmer and some. Listen carefully and you hear strains of The Da Vinci Code and Gladiator filtering through. Not a critisism, it's just his style. You'll also here the influences of other classical composers coming through, not unusual. While parlay is a delightful homage to Morricone's scoring to the classic duel in 'Once Upon a Time in the West'. Makes me smile everytime I hear it, and wish it were longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hans Zimmer in Action, 29 Sep 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (Audio CD)
Great soundtrack in the classical Hans Zimmer style with strings en masse, brass, choir and more. It's exciting classical music with massive content and logical composition. Music from a great composer. If you like this, you might also like the Transformers soundtrack by Steve Jablonsky (the expensive one with 20 tracks).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End by Hans Zimmer (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews