Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well cast, well crafted and very satisfying TV adaptation
One of a series of US TV movies with all-star casts that Norman Rosemont produced in the 70s which got cinema releases in some countries, 1976's The Man in the Iron Mask is a highly enjoyable take on Dumas' old warhorse that benefits from some excellent casting and surprisingly lavish production values. Despite playing Aramis in Richard Lester's The Three Musketeers,...
Published 21 months ago by Trevor Willsmer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I saw this years ago and remember it as good. I bought it recently and rewatched and yes
I saw this years ago and remember it as good. I bought it recently and rewatched and yes, it is still good, and Chamberlain is splendid as as the dual character. But it is sombre and the finale is very scary and made me think just how shocking and unbearable it must have been for the original "man in the iron mask". Dumas discovered a note had been found when the...
Published 2 months ago by Helen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well cast, well crafted and very satisfying TV adaptation, 18 Sept. 2013
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man In The Iron Mask [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
One of a series of US TV movies with all-star casts that Norman Rosemont produced in the 70s which got cinema releases in some countries, 1976's The Man in the Iron Mask is a highly enjoyable take on Dumas' old warhorse that benefits from some excellent casting and surprisingly lavish production values. Despite playing Aramis in Richard Lester's The Three Musketeers, this time round Richard Chamberlain takes the dual roles of the dissolute and decadent King Louis XIV of France and his twin brother Philippe, who has been locked away in the Bastille, his face hidden behind an iron mask lest he pose a threat to his rule, with the connivance of Patrick McGoohan's evil courtier Fouquet. This time round the Musketeers are represented by Louis Jourdan's D'artagnan, who rescures him and plans to replace the bad twin with the good twin - if he can somehow teach the unsophisticated prisoner enough etiquette to pass himself off as royalty. There's not much action, but some thoroughly entertaining storytelling livened up by an excellent cast that also includes Jenny Agutter (you can tell this was intended for TV by the fact it's one of the few films she made in the 70s where she keeps her clothes on), Ralph Richardson, Ian Holm, Vivien Merchant and Esmond Knight, although Freddie Young's photography of the French locations is surprisingly ordinary. Highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I saw this years ago and remember it as good. I bought it recently and rewatched and yes, 24 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man In The Iron Mask [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this years ago and remember it as good. I bought it recently and rewatched and yes, it is still good, and Chamberlain is splendid as as the dual character. But it is sombre and the finale is very scary and made me think just how shocking and unbearable it must have been for the original "man in the iron mask". Dumas discovered a note had been found when the Bastille was taken by the populace at the start of the French Revolution, that referred to "the man in the iron mask" and a prisoner number. So far as I know, nothing more was ever learned about this prisoner. This movie shows just how appalling such a fate would be. The original book is atmospheric enough but Chamberlain brings this to terrifying life.

I personally much prefer the quite lighthearted version (the story somewhat changed) with the same title but starring Jeremy Irons and others. My favourite musketeer is always Aramis, and Irons is a simply brilliant Aramis, bringing out just how clever Aramis is and how ambitious and brilliant.

Unfortunately, the only one of our musketeer heroes to appear in this Chamberlain Man in the Iron Mask is d'Artagnan and his original actions in the Dumas story are much changed. The script is manged well to ensure it all makes sense, but it isn't the original story and the lack of Aramis in particular as the grand schemer, and the lack of what happens to Athos and most particularly to Porthos is very unfortunate.

I imagine there were budgetary issues that made the producers cut the story to the bare minimum and on that level if's excellent.

Yes, there is a problem for me as doubtless for some others that Chamberlain had earlier played Aramis in the Lester version of the Three Musketeers.... it's a bit disconcerting to see the same actor as now the royal twins. Given a choice, I prefer Chamberlain in this movie as in the Lester movie he was a bit too tall, although he acted the part with perfect humour and charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent version of the Dumas novel., 29 Nov. 2014
By 
IP - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Man In The Iron Mask [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all historical movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
This is an epic retelling of the durable Alexandre Dumas's novel and is set in 17th century with Richard Chamberlain staring in the dual roles of the twin royal brothers separated at birth Phillipe and the present King Louis XIV.

While watching this film it's hard at times to remember this was only meant to be a TV production. This must be one of the most lavish and successful television movies made in the 70's that I have seen. I saw it first time as a child and was much fascinated. Now almost four decades later it is still a fine spectacle to watch.

What really makes this movie work is the stellar cast, Chamberlain excels in both his rolls, whilst Patrick McGoohan is equally on top form as the sinister vain, heartless Fouquet, Ian Holm, Ralph Richardson and the rest of the cast are also having a good time turning out magnificent performances..

In this excellent production Alexandre Dumas' classic story has received an equally classic adaption
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars if it had subtitles, 1 April 2008
By 
J "jan" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man In The Iron Mask [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
This was the 1970's TV version, and all the better for that in my opinion - stunning sets and costumes, some lovely music, and good solid acting: Richard Chamberlain does a great job in the dual role, and there are fine performances from Jenny Agutter, Ian Holm, Vivien Merchant and Brenda Bruce. Patrick McGoohan is rather a "Boo and Hiss" pantomime baddie, but that just adds to the pleasure of seeing him come to grief. This DVD is visually very good, but I was disappointed not to have subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Great, 31 Aug. 2011
By 
Mrs. Marilyn A. Rice "RR" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Man In The Iron Mask [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this made for TV movie on channel 4 today and I was quite impressed with it and I preferred this one more than the Leonardo Di Caprio version, because this one had more of a story to it. The movie also has wonderful scenery and cinematography which was filmed mostly in France and their is an interesting cast, including Richard Chamberlain, Patrick McGoohan and Louis Jourdan. But I thought Richard Chamberlain's multiple role was quite tame and I thought that Patrick McGoohan had no enthusiasm as the villain. But Louis Jourdan steals the movie, which he does a great performance as D'Artagan. Their are a few swordfights throughout the film and Chamberlain and Jourdan show the audience that they are born for these types of roles, which they also starred together in the 1975 made for TV version of the "Count of monte cristo", which is also worth watching. If you have not seen this watchable Alexandre Dumas version, it's worth watching and I hope you enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Great, 18 Jun. 2012
By 
Mrs. Marilyn A. Rice "RR" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this made for TV movie on channel 4 today and I was quite impressed with it and I preferred this one more than the Leonardo Di Caprio version, because this one had more of a story to it. The movie also has wonderful scenery and cinematography which was filmed mostly in France and their is an interesting cast, including Richard Chamberlain, Patrick McGoohan and Louis Jourdan. But I thought Richard Chamberlain's multiple role was quite tame and I thought that Patrick McGoohan had no enthusiasm as the villain. But Louis Jourdan steals the movie, which he does a great performance as D'Artagan. Their are a few swordfights throughout the film and Chamberlain and Jourdan show the audience that they are born for these types of roles, which they also starred together in the 1975 made for TV version of the "Count of monte cristo", which is also worth watching. If you have not seen this watchable Alexandre Dumas version, it's worth watching and I hope you enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film. The classic versions of Alexander Dumas stories ..., 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man In The Iron Mask [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Great film. The classic versions of Alexander Dumas stories are the best. I would recommend watching the The Three Musketeers and The Four Musketeers staring Oliver Reed, Micheal York et al.

It is a shame they have not brought out the The Return of Musketeers staring the same actors on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film Buff, 17 Jan. 2011
By 
Mrs. S. F. Fitzgerald "FILMBUFF" (HERTFORDSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man In The Iron Mask [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film years ago and really emjoyed it, I think it is the best version of this story
Richard Chamberlain is great in this role,it is better than the re-make with Leonnardo Di Caprio,
would recommend this film to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie - shame about the extra features., 30 Sept. 2000
Richard Chamberlain's tour de force efforts in two roles receives its first airing on DVD - and fans won't be disappointed.
However, it would have been great if a few extra features had been added, for example movie trailers (it was a TV movie in the States but had a theatrical release in Europe), or a director's commentary.
That aside, The Man in the Iron Mask remains one of the best adaptations of Alexandre Dumas's work.
Special mention should also go to co-stars Patrick McGoohan (a delightful baddie), Ralph Richardson and a very young Denis Lawson for their excellent performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably Good Version, 1 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man In The Iron Mask [1976] [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps a little slow for modern audiences, but for my money this is the best version of this film. Purchased for my five year old son who is developing an interest in the stories of Dumas, this a good accompaniment to the three musketeers films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man In The Iron Mask [1976] [DVD]
The Man In The Iron Mask [1976] [DVD] by Richard Chamberlain (DVD - 2007)
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews