Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths & English
Oh my, this is by far Dizzee's best album yet. The raw beats and big clash sounds of Boy in da Corner, developed through Showtime - can clearly be seen to culminate in this latest album. Maths and English is the most complete and cohesive sound Dizzee has brought to the market to date. Dizzee's lyrics are as sharp and street as ever - and in true Dizzee style e.g Dream...
Published on 6 Jun 2007 by Mr. B. Roads

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good
All I will say is, despite many reviews in the press, this cannot compete with 'Showtime' for pure depth of emotion and consistency.

Some great tracks on here but, maybe it's because I'm not so into house music (although I do love the Summertime one) but it doesn't really seem to hold together. I'll allow him the gimmicky Lily Allen one as he had 'Dreams' on...
Published on 5 July 2007 by Ted Frost


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 18 Sep 2014
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
Excellent value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this, 3 Jun 2007
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
Dizzee Rascal's third studio album is here and as listenable as ever. Dizzee's lyrics are clearly delivered with a strong sense of rhythm against well produced backing music and, over the course of the album, collaborations with several other artists.

Some people have compared 'Sirens' (the first single) to Jay-Z's '99 Problems' and despite obvious stylistic similarities it sounded to me like having a Nu-Metal, Primal Scream-like influence somewhere. The most pleasing sound in this track is the regular sounding of a ride cymbal throughout. Compared to previous Dizzee, it's straightforward and restrained but Dizzee's unique delivery still gives the track an irresistible offbeat feel. Incidentally, the sirens of the title are police sirens but the track is, like most of Dizzee's work, loose enough to permit a Homerian interpretation.

In 'Wanna Be', Lily Allen collaborates and lends her pleasant, girly, glottalstopped and slightly bitchy whine/singsong to proceedings. The track isn't only infected by Lily's vocal style but also has an echo of the distinctive dub sound of her first album to it. 'Wanna Be' feels like it's outside of the style of the rest of the album and I just can't decide if it's my favourite track on there. I also can't decide if the obvious allusion to The Spice Girls is intentional.

Also worthy of note is 'Where's Da G's' feat Bun B and Pimp C, a vocal-heavy dissection of the fakeness of contemporary culture (classic line: "how many real cooks on the TV?") and the day to day lives of the rappers participating.

Overall Maths and English is, as the title suggests, a mix of different yet crucial disciplines and succeeds in providing a catchy sound and clear, well written British rap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still relevant but trying to hard, 29 Jun 2007
By 
Lukey Boy (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
Boy In Da Corner was a landmark album in music, no doubt it, he had so much energy, so much anger and took music to totally new places, a defininitive document from grime. now he seems to have lost something im not what, but something seems to be missing. granted on a few tracks like pussyole he hits home, but his love for US hip hop artists like tu pac, jay-z is a shame as he can be so much better than that, he could transcend the bling. and thats where he's trying too hard to tick all the boxes to be a success, Artic Monkeys (altho this song is growing on me), Lily Allen, The US jerks, Shy FX. The result seems like an album that was done last minute and doesn't work as a whole. What dizzee needs to realise is he just needs to be himself and thats what people love, and thats what will make him a legend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R.I.P. Dizzee Rascal's integrity., 7 Nov 2008
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
There have been exactly 53 million hip-hop albums made, now here's another one from the man who should've made another innovative grime album. It's like Ferrari stopping production because there's more money in making metal dustbins. No, wait I could live with that. If you think this album is his best check out a Big Brothers album or Labotomy.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tired and Sloppy, 5 Jun 2007
By 
Marvel (Wolftown UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
I bought this album with much anticipation......only to be shot down in flames. True, there are possibly 4 decent trakcs but that isn't enough (especially considering that Boy In Da corner was jam packed with innovative and edgy tracks)This album feels sloppy: the beats aren't as fresh as they were before. Previous Dizzee tunes had dark and chaotic beats that often changed mid-song.....none of this here i'm afraid. Not 'grimey' at all. In fact several tracks seem to be pure hip-hop (something which he said he doesn't do...remember he got cussed by Crazy Titch for appearing on tim westwood's rap show) The lyrics are tired too. Boring and uninventive. Not the clever Rascal that won the mercury music prize. As, i said though, this album does have a few saving graces...but not enough to warrant any more than 2 stars. Sorry people: wish i could say otherwise but this is a poor effort from a boring Dizzee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You gotta get it!, 1 July 2007
By 
M. Byrne "Turbo" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
This album is the best dizzee rascal one out! havnt took it out of my CD player for hours and hours! All good choons if you got a spare £8 GET IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor and Boring, 12 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
The songs are poor on the album, by far the worst album he has brought out. I recommend not to buy this and buy another of his albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maths and English
Maths and English by Dizzee Rascal (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews