Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths & English
Oh my, this is by far Dizzee's best album yet. The raw beats and big clash sounds of Boy in da Corner, developed through Showtime - can clearly be seen to culminate in this latest album. Maths and English is the most complete and cohesive sound Dizzee has brought to the market to date. Dizzee's lyrics are as sharp and street as ever - and in true Dizzee style e.g Dream...
Published on 6 Jun 2007 by Mr. B. Roads

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good
All I will say is, despite many reviews in the press, this cannot compete with 'Showtime' for pure depth of emotion and consistency.

Some great tracks on here but, maybe it's because I'm not so into house music (although I do love the Summertime one) but it doesn't really seem to hold together. I'll allow him the gimmicky Lily Allen one as he had 'Dreams' on...
Published on 5 July 2007 by Ted Frost


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maths & English, 6 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. B. Roads "Road-z B" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
Oh my, this is by far Dizzee's best album yet. The raw beats and big clash sounds of Boy in da Corner, developed through Showtime - can clearly be seen to culminate in this latest album. Maths and English is the most complete and cohesive sound Dizzee has brought to the market to date. Dizzee's lyrics are as sharp and street as ever - and in true Dizzee style e.g Dream (Showtime) there are elements of humour in Maths & English that help to lighthen some of the heavier lyrics.

If you're looking for true big clash grime, with pure hate lyricsc you may well be disappointed. This is Dizzee at his best - establishing his own unique sound - though the roots of the beats and lyrics can not be denied!

Yes, this album is different to the past two - but its always all about developing, evolving and pushing the underground music scene forward. Dizee we salute you! Keep doing your thing, keep doing it real, and definatly keep doing it your way! Big up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dizzee's had the good sense to move on from "Grime", 18 Jun 2007
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
The first salient point about this album is clear as soon as you look down the track listing and see "feat. Lilly Allen" and "feat. Alex Turner"; this is Dizzee going "mainstream", which is just as well given that "grime" is pretty much dead in the water these days as an ongoing concern.

Of course there are still those old "gang violence" references in full flow but the juxtaposition of these references and lyrics such as "Pull your trousers up!... Read a book!... Find a pretty girl and settle!" make for an exhillarating listen, even if at times the ideas seem to jar.

Crucially though, there are a number of fantastic moments on this album.

Chief one is Pussyole, which is the finest songs of any genre that I've heard in quite some time, and excitement is also to be found on the likes of Sirens (think Jay Z's 99 Problems set in London) and Where's Da G's (which talks about "fake aggression" on the streets and includes the "find a pretty girl and settle" line quoted earlier).

As for the Allen and Arctic Monkeys tie-in's, they're good, but don't match up to the best moments on the album. And if I'm being really honest, Allen's appearance here grates on me for some reason.

And on the whole this is a remarkable album. The variety of it may surprise some, but it provides the album with the magic that makes it pretty irresistible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars [] Maths and English, 4 Jun 2007
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
Dizzee Rascal returns with his third album and its so refreshing to hear him doing his own thing but bringing in collaborators from different genres and also bringing in different sounds and styles into his own songs.

This album is much better than his previous release (Showtime) and could also give 'Boy In Da Corner' a run for its money.

Buy the album and see for yourself as I think you'll be pleasantly suprised...

Stand out tracks =

Pussyole (Oldskool)

Sirens

Da Feelin'

Temptation (ft. Alex Turner 'Arctic Monkeys')

Wanna Be (ft. Lily Allen) - personal favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Purchase..., 10 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
A good cd to buy if your experimenting into Dizzee Rascal work, Sirens has to be my favourite. Worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DizzeeRascalForPrimeMinister.co.uk, 6 Nov 2008
By 
S. A. Burley (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
This is definately his best yet. He goes from strength to strength in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dizze rascals best album yet!, 20 Jun 2008
By 
Mark A. Pickford "freya" (kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Math + English (Audio CD)
Dizzee Rascals latest album is by far his best yet, and extremely promising to do well.
I think firstly I should point out that, there is not one song on the album I don't love!
He's back with bigger, better beats- even better, if possible, than `Boy in the corner'.
My particular favourites Lily Allen remix `wana be', `flex', `sirens' and `bubbles'.
This album is a guaranteed amazing buy, one of the best albums you could ever buy, one of the best albums you could ever get.
Even though I have heard, and listened to the songs over and over again, I am yet to be bored, its just one of those albums you will always love.
Dizzee is definitely flaunting his potential in this album, and is showing us yet again Britain holds one of the most desired rappers in the world.
Dizzee has always been a favourite of mine and after you listen to this album, I bet he will be yours too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars COULD BE BETTER, BUT ANOTHER VERY GOOD ALBUM, 1 Sep 2007
By 
P. Myatt "Computer Whizz" (Lichfield,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
This is another great album by Dizzee Rascal. Boy in tha corner and Showtime were strictly grime. This is a mixture of grime, old school hip hop and a little bit of rock. With collaberations with Lilly Allen, Alex Turner of the Artic Monkeys and 2 rappers from America it all adds to an overall good album. Old Skool and Sirens hav been the most publized singles but very there are some other ones as good, if not better. This is certainly not a waste of money and would be a good assest to your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, 5 July 2007
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
All I will say is, despite many reviews in the press, this cannot compete with 'Showtime' for pure depth of emotion and consistency.

Some great tracks on here but, maybe it's because I'm not so into house music (although I do love the Summertime one) but it doesn't really seem to hold together. I'll allow him the gimmicky Lily Allen one as he had 'Dreams' on his last album and didn't let it ruin the whole concept, but the Artic Monkey's track doesn't quite work.

Sort of going back to 'Boy in Da Corner' in the way it is pretty sketchy but with some great tracks like 'Pussyole', 'Where's Da Gs', 'Sirens' and Bubble.

Worth a listen but not quite the step forward I was hoping for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dizzee going off the boil?, 26 Oct 2007
By 
jambox (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
Can't help feeling disappointed by Dizzee's third album - nowhere near as innovative or clever as his earlier stuff.

What's Lily Allen doing on here? She's fine in herself and I enjoyed her album but her track sounds out of place and she isn't well used as with Common or even Kate Nash's appearance on the new Kano album.

I don't really understand the Arctic Monkeys track either - seems like they went out of their way to do something together, rather than it being a good opportunity in itself, sounds like a very average album track with a sample thrown in.

Pussy'ole is a good grime track but nothing earth-shattering and probably a bit too straightforward for someone of Dizzee's obvious intelligence. We want to see him twist these things up a bit rather than come with straight aggression!

Sirens, Where's Da G's and Excuse Me Please are the good news - showing real variety and creativity.

Sirens is a terrific bit of social observation and has a really big sound - use it to scare your neighbours!
Where's Da G's is a fine pure hip-hop tune with a knowing west-coast synth, although I thought Dizzee sounded a bit outclassed rhyme-for-rhyme when put next to the very polished UGK MCs.
Excuse me Please is intelligent and minimalistic introspection, seemingly touching on the Jean Charles de Menezes shooting - who else has taken THAT on?

Too much filler here, though and as different as they are, it's hard to avoid comparison with the new Kano album, which is extremely well made and drips with quality from beginning to end. I'd like to see Dizzee give the tours a rest and come with something as well rounded and well-produced as that for his next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still relevant but trying to hard, 29 Jun 2007
By 
Lukey Boy (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maths and English (Audio CD)
Boy In Da Corner was a landmark album in music, no doubt it, he had so much energy, so much anger and took music to totally new places, a defininitive document from grime. now he seems to have lost something im not what, but something seems to be missing. granted on a few tracks like pussyole he hits home, but his love for US hip hop artists like tu pac, jay-z is a shame as he can be so much better than that, he could transcend the bling. and thats where he's trying too hard to tick all the boxes to be a success, Artic Monkeys (altho this song is growing on me), Lily Allen, The US jerks, Shy FX. The result seems like an album that was done last minute and doesn't work as a whole. What dizzee needs to realise is he just needs to be himself and thats what people love, and thats what will make him a legend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maths And English [VINYL]
Maths And English [VINYL] by Dizzee Rascal (Vinyl - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews