Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of everything
This new album is quite spectacular. It has in some ways gone back to the root of The White Stripes were all about, a guitar, drums and vocals. In other ways this album has pushed further the boundaries of the little box Jack White confines himself to; they have ditched the Marimba, taken on some bagpipes, some horns and added a synthesiser that sounds like it belongs in...
Published on 5 Aug 2007 by Greg

versus
16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The modern cd mastering process ruins another album.
after listening to the cd just once i feel compelled to write a rant somewhere. this is good new album, but i just cant get past the awful sound quality.

this overcompressing of the music on modern cds is beginning to annoy the hell out of me. im fed up of buying new cds and having to hear digital distortion which im damn sure the artist never intended to be...
Published on 18 Jun 2007 by Cashbox


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of everything, 5 Aug 2007
By 
Greg (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Icky Thump (Audio CD)
This new album is quite spectacular. It has in some ways gone back to the root of The White Stripes were all about, a guitar, drums and vocals. In other ways this album has pushed further the boundaries of the little box Jack White confines himself to; they have ditched the Marimba, taken on some bagpipes, some horns and added a synthesiser that sounds like it belongs in an Irish jig. This leaves us with a very diverse sounding album. The title track and lead single Icky thump is just plain weird at first, but the jerkiness and blasts of synthesiser soon grow on you. Moving swiftly onwards we get a bit country with You Don't Know What Love Is, it's brilliantly catchy. 300 MPH...... doesn't sound like the name implies until the distortion pedal kicks in around the two and a half minute mark and erupts, but it settles down. Conquest uses the horns to great effect, the song is not swamped by the songs but they act rather as a motif to the fact that it is a cover of an old song, for ten seconds somewhere in the middle of this song is sounds like new rave but that's just my opinion. Bone broke next is a classic White Stripes song, guitar drums and vocals, simple yet effective. Now comes the strange part, Prickly Thorn and St. Andrew tie in with one another, the first of these is pretty much a folk song, the second a psychedelic meltdown of backwards bagpipes and drums with some eerie spoken works by Meg White. Little Cream Soda is back to the three elements of The White Stripes, but it is quite heavy. In my opinion it is the last five songs on the album that are the best, Rag & Bone is a comical spoken word piece, I'm Slowly Turning Into You is epic with the effect on the guitar here not disimilar to that on Blue Orchid. Matyr is both slow and emotional yet thumps along in the chorus driven by stabs of organ and trundling bass heavy guitar. Catch Hell Blues is The White Stripes in their barest form with this track recorded in one take. Effect and cause is an acoustic country song yet the highlight of this song has to be the lyrics.

A quick note must be made about the sound quality of the CD version, everything seems to have compression on it and so this makes the CD version sound a little muddy at times, buy the vinyl if this concerns any audiophiles out there but it isn't really too much of a problem, I think it adds a fuller sound when compared to their older albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A coat of many colours, 23 July 2007
This review is from: Icky Thump (Audio CD)
This album oozes with contrasting styles and sounds and all held together with a tremendous drumming backbeat. Like others I cannot quite get into the opening title track but it's a treat from thereon in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play it again, 4 July 2007
By 
Jay (West Mids) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Icky Thump (Audio CD)
I have probably always enjoyed the idea of The White Stripes a little more than I have ever enjoyed listening to them; a dirty, raw, under produced, blues sound with big riffs is about all you can want from a band but for this listener they never completely delivered. They have always managed to write some fantastic tunes but tend to lose me over the course of an album, sometimes falling prone to a little style without substance - not with this album.
As the White Stripes tend to mine similar terriotory you may feel that you've heard it all before on first playing 'Icky Thump' but that second listen is key. All the heavy riffery is there as before but there are also some peculiar sounding passages to songs as well that make the album that bit more diverse and re-playable. There is also a 'cleaner' sound to the record, compared to an album like 'Elephant', which depending on your tastes may be a good or bad thing but it definately works with the songs on here.
The White Stripes always make good albums but in 'Icky Thump' I honestly believe they may have made their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars long live the stripes, 18 Jun 2007
This review is from: Icky Thump (Audio CD)
5 stars, because any White Stripes album is a gift. To quote (not perfectly) a recent NME review. "You go to your garage expecting to see your ford mondeo and find a unicorn instead". How many bands are really writing songs and working them with true energy, depth and spirit? Lets forgive 'Get Behind Me Satan' - sometimes you have to fail a bit - out of the flames comes a pheonix (sorry more mythological analogy), though I'm sure Jack White wouldn't see it that way. First listen tells me I'm about to have some beautiful relationships. Time will tell if they equal Death Letter, Ball and Biscuit and all the others - too numerous to mention.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget me, 19 Jun 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Icky Thump (Audio CD)
All "Icky Thump" initially brought to mind was Graham Chapman telling Terry Jones how to say, "Eee, ecky thump!" into a mike.

But it's also the title of the White Stripes' sixth album, and after the mediocre dry spell of "Get Behind Me Satan," it's nice to hear that the Stripes seem to have regained their creative juices. This time they pack the album with dark seventies-style rock'n'roll and some traditional folk flourishes.

It kicks off with the dark, plodding guitar that blazes up to life every few seconds, and a sinuous synth ripple that slithers through the melody. "Icky thump/Who'da thunk?/Sittin drunk on a wagon to Mexico?" Jack yowls, describing the less pleasant corners of Mexico, and taking a moment to jab at Americans ("Why don't you kick yourself out/You're an immigrant too!").

It softens up a lot for the catchy, bluesier rocker "You Don't Know What Love Is (You Just Do As You're Told)," and the mellow gritty "300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues." Then the album goes through two phases: the first is one of British and Scottish folkiness, and a trumpety rocker that sounds like a B-side from Beirut. Then the last leg of the album slips back to blazing rock'n'roll, full of dark energy and retro organ.

I never quite figured out what was going on in the halfhearted "Get Behind Me Satan," except that every band has their dud. And fortunately "Icky Thump" is everything that album wasn't -- spirited, creative, enthusiastic, and full of those little moments and brilliant instrumentation that bring it alive. Nice to see they haven't run out of juice yet.

Yeah, we have Jack blazing away like a forest fire on his guitars, whether it's softer blues riffs, ringing blasts or hard-rocking swirls. And Meg smashes the drums like no other. But their music is festooned with a colourful array of extra instrumentation -- sweeps of eerie, vintage psychedelic synth, sprightly gypsyish trumpets, and even bagpipes for the mesmerizing "St. Andrew (This Battle Is In The Air)."

Jack seems to have regained his verve as well: he sounds assured and a little sad, and his quirky voice has a new depth and power. But he hasn't lost his melancholy edge, singing of Mexican robberies, stream of consciousness love songs, the rag and bone man, and a man who loves a woman so deeply, he lets her go so he won't make her unhappy.

And Meg gets to display her clear voice a few times -- she gets to talk with Jack in "Rag & Bone," and the eerie Scottishy ballad "St. Andrew (This Battle Is In The Air)" has her murmuring a prayerlike song over a bagpipe/drum melody. ("This battle is in the air/I'm looking upwards/where are the angels?/I'm not in my home!").

"Icky Thump" is both a wonderful return to form, and a foray into new territory for the White Stripes. A glorious experience, and it only gets better with repeated listens. A triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An improvement on 'Get Behind Me Satan', 30 Aug 2007
By 
Dafydd Jones "MetalliManic" (Aberystwyth, Ceredigion United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Icky Thump (Audio CD)
Let's clear one thing up. 'Icky Thump' is good. It isn't at the level of the first few albums, but 'Get Behind Me Satan' was so bad, I thought it could only improve. Thankfully it did.

'Icky Thump' starts off with the infectious title-track, with Jack White the Third's umistakeable guitar sounds and riffs, a wailing keyboard and Meg White's somewhat primal drums. It's catchy, it's clever, and it's very good. New single 'You Don't Know What Love Is' is slower, but still has that unmistakeable 'Stripes' sound. Other highlights of the album are the 'Catch Hell Blues', '300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues', 'Little Cream Soda', 'Bone Broke', 'I'm Slowly Turning Into You' and 'A Martyr For My Love For You'. 'Conquest' is fun, and enjoyable listening, but can't really hack it, whereas the bagpipes on 'St. Andrew' and 'Prickly Thorn (Sweetly Worn)' do not do the album any favours.

The Stripes try to do too much on a few occasions but their sound is back. A good effort, and album number seven won't be far away, I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars racing stripes come in first, 25 Jun 2007
This review is from: Icky Thump (Audio CD)
after all the hype, i was expecting the 2nd coming but that didnt come thru on the first couple of hearings. the songs sounded derivative rehashes of past glories, undistinguished and at times quite annoying (i.e. Conquest) with bagpipes and weird sounds....jack was playing and singing well with the enigmatic Meg knocking out that solid beat behind him & certainly there was more guitar than on Satan but sadly the songs didn't seem to cut it........on the following day i listened again and it didnt seem so bad this time but nothing really stood out- could take it or leave it..At that point i thought if i tried it once more i'd know if Icky Thump and my ears had any future together.....

it GOT me on the 3rd hearing..

The album starts with the powerful title track which has a great zeppelin style riff with snatches of keyboard reminiscent of deep purple (circa In Rock)....and yet the white stripes are able to mix all their influences together to make their own unique sound that surpasses all those before them..

From the 1st song to the last the energy never lets up - every track is strong and offers something new with each listen - coupling the vitality of the first album and the maturity of Elephant and GBMS - the white stripes have finally produced their masterpiece...

In 1967 they were celebrating Pepper. Forty years on and its 2007 and we are celebrating Icky Thump. Perhaps the current state of the music scene ain't so bad after all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic as allways!!!, 24 Jun 2007
By 
Darrel J. Taylor "IN UTERO76" (scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Icky Thump (Audio CD)
I have been a big big fan of The White Stripes for a long time now, and i can honestly say they never dissapoint me! Jack n Meg are on stonking form with this excellent album.

Why do people feel the need to ridicule meg on her drum playing, the whole purpose and greatness of this band, is in its childish simplicity, and not relying on big money sounds and recordings. Jack is as great and gorgeous as allways...!!! I hope they keep up the fantastic work of entertaining us, as its a more interesting and lively world with them in it. Francesca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the hype and adds a lot on., 5 July 2007
By 
B. Francis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Icky Thump (Audio CD)
It's an album which certainly had high expectations before it arrived, and I'm pleased to say it meets up to them very well indeed.

Get Behind Me Satan had quite a lot of songs based on piano playing but this isn't the case here. It's a largely guitar based album with a few notable exceptions.

The White Stripes are often compared to Led Zeppelin and you can see why. For perhaps the first time they have demonstrated their ability to play a wide variety of music styles. Gentler blues numbers like 300mph Torrential Outpour Blues go alongside the traditional White Stripes sounds found on Bone Broke. Again in parallel with Zeppelin, they've delved into a bit of folk. Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn is reminiscent of The Battle of Evermore. It's a brilliant song and one you can't help but to sing along to. It stirs up thoughts of country living and rolling hills.

All in all a magical journey through a variety of music styles, with some classic White Stripes punch thrown in to boot. There's a reason why it's gone straight to number one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Icky Thump blows the mind, 16 Oct 2007
By 
Scott Coates (Stoke On Trent UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Icky Thump (Audio CD)
Icky Thump does blow the mind literally when the title track kicks in and it dawns on you what powerful back to basics rock music sounds like. Icky Thump is a glorious return for The White Stripes from Jack's mad scientist role in the experimental Get Behind Me Satan. It is a return to the musical composition of Elepahnt with exploding gutiar riffs that leave your speakers crackling;aslo Meg's thumping, marching drum beats such as in the tracks Bone Broke and Little Cream Soda. Jack White is evolving into one of the greatest songwriters of his generation and songs like 300mph Outpour Blues and Martyr For My Love For You show his emotional passion for blues music. 300mph Outpour Blues is a highlight of the album as when you listen to it for the first time it will make you feel mellow and relaxed then 2 minutes give you a sudden wake up call with a guitar blitzkerig upon your mind.

While Icky Thump contains simple blues numbers such as Catch Hell Blues; it aslo holds the key to the laboratory with envelope being pushed further on songs like Conquest which includes a trumphet squaring off alongside Jack's feverish playing. Songs such as Prickly Thorn But Sweetly Worn and St Andrew acknowledge Jack's family roots of Scotland, although St Andrew is one of the strangest songs I've ever heard but do act as a divider in the middle of the album as soon as St Andrew ends Little Cream Soda kicks in and whatever doubt you had will be forgotten.

The title track encoporates elements of Led Zeppelin and as it was the first single gives you the flavour of the rest of the album. You Don't Know What Love Is contains Beatlesque melody and is in a way similar to I Just Don't Know What To Do taken from Elephant.

Overall Icky Thump is the next step in the evolution of White Stripes music and is a must buy album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Icky Thump
Icky Thump by The White Stripes (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews