Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't think twice....
As the song says Don't Think Twice about buying this DVD - the suffusion of Dylan's songs with Bryan's dynamic performances and arrangements make this an essential purchase for any fan.

Stand out tracks - Just like Tom Thumb's Blues, Gates of Eden, Make You Feel My Love, and Baby Let Me Follow You Down.
Published on 18 July 2007 by G. G. Stafford

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let down
I have the CD of the same name & it gets frequent plays. Ferry's interpretations of Dylan's brilliant songs are great. So I thought the DVD would add another dimension to the music. It didn't. The presentation was dull, dull, dull. The music was still fine but the visual added absolutely nothing. I love to watch artists perform & interact & enjoy what they do ( like on...
Published on 24 May 2012 by Gulliver


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't think twice...., 18 July 2007
By 
G. G. Stafford "Gareth Stafford" (Chesterfield, Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bryan Ferry - Dylanesque Live - The London Sessions [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
As the song says Don't Think Twice about buying this DVD - the suffusion of Dylan's songs with Bryan's dynamic performances and arrangements make this an essential purchase for any fan.

Stand out tracks - Just like Tom Thumb's Blues, Gates of Eden, Make You Feel My Love, and Baby Let Me Follow You Down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good accompaniment to a good album, 12 Jun 2007
By 
L. E. Stacey "lukestacey12" (Portsmouth, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bryan Ferry - Dylanesque Live - The London Sessions [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is the dvd accompaniment to Bryan Ferry's follow up to his 2002 Album Frantic. The Dylanesque album, which as te title alludes to is a series of Dylan overs given the Ferry treatment.

The Album tracks are:

1)Just like Tom Thumb's blues

2)All i really wanna do

3)The times they are a-changing!

4)Gates of Den

5)Positivately 4th Street (my personnel favoe of the whole album)

6)All along the watchtower

7)Knockin on heavens door

8)Simple twist of fate

9)Make you feel my love

Bones Tracks:

1)Baby let me follow you down

2)Dont thinktwice, it's alright

3)If not for you

+ original 1973 promo for 'a hard rain's a-gonna fall", and some interview footage

The majority of this concert has already been broadcast on terrestial tv but does include additional footage which makes the DVD still a worthwhile purchase. As the title suggests this is soley material from his latest album so anyone hoping for some Ferry and Roxy Music classics will be dissapointed. As he's aged Ferry's voiced has deepened and changed slightly (again most notable on the new Dylanesque album) which i think sounds better, however others have said that he's sounding his age, so dont expect any 'Virginia Plain' sharpness im afraid. Wether you enjoy this (aside from seeing Ferry in action) will depend on how you liked the album which has had a Marmite effect on people,. That said it placed 5 in the charts when released which was Ferry's highest entry since Mamouna in the early nineties.

I was lucky too see Ferry on this tour a few times (Brighton, Bournemouth and London) and he still oozes charisma and is best appreciated in a proper live venue. Those who unfortunately were unable to catch the tour will find this a great representation, however i'd have preferred it had they recorded from a leg of the tour (e.g Brighton), as it would have captured the atmosphere and would have included some of the limited Roxy numebrs he's been playing as well.

Highly Reccomended though not as long, atmospheric or entrancing as the 'Live at the Apollo' DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bryan Ferry - Dylanesque Live, 8 Jan 2014
By 
John Bosson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fan of Bryan Ferry & Roxy Music I found the DVD value for money. However,
having attended a live concert, when Bryan covered most of the tracks, then I found
this to be more exhilarating and would really like DVD of the tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dylanesque, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an amazing DVD. The music is superb and the track "The Days they are a' changing" has a superb beat to it.
Thoroughly recommended for all fans of either or bot Dylan and Ferry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cover of dylan songs with great musicians to boot, brilliant arrangements, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Ferry - Dylanesque Live - The London Sessions [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Fabulous cover of Dylan songs, I recommend it to everyone. Even if you are not a Bryan Ferry fan you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful interpretations, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Ferry - Dylanesque Live - The London Sessions [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Just love BRYAN FERRY.It was wonderful.I found the 'Roxyfying' of Bob Dylan amazingly good and would love to see it live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful recording session but vocals are more Brandoesque than Dylan, 2 Jun 2011
By 
Bryan Ferry has always been known for his professionalism as a musician and reveals in a new way the coolness of Dylan. He has assembled a wonderful group of talented musicians and backing singers. The guitarists are superb: Oliver Thompson gets some amazing sounds out of his electric guitar, though never intrusive, and Leo Abrahams is also clearly a master of his instument. And how do they all know when to come in, who has the riff, and when to stay in the background? The only quibble is that Ferry somewhat mumbles the lyrics which are difficult to make out, a pity since the words are as important as the music and Dylan's own vocals were always clear. Maybe it should have been called "Brando-esque", although that is a bit unfair, given the superb blending of rhythm and harmony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best from Bryan Ferry, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Ferry - Dylanesque Live - The London Sessions [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Bryan ferry stamps his own style on other artists songs and this collection of Bob Dylan`s compositions is masterful. Ferry is unique, he blends each song to preserve the originality with his own interpretation resulting in a fantastic DVD. Filmed in a studio setting with some of the best musicians on the planet(Chris Spedding,Leo Abrahams,Oliver Thompson,Andy Newmark,Guy Pratt and Colin Good)with great backing singers. If there is a better version of `Tom Thumb`s Blues` I have yet to hear it ! A musical extravaganza,not to be missed if you appreciate quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRYAN FERRY SINGS BOB DYLAN, 1 Jun 2010
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was a little unsure buying this DVD until I put it on, this is Bryan Ferry doing superb Dylan covers. The one great thing you notice throughout is the absolute quality of BD's songs,although at times I don't overlike Bob's version's but they are his songs.That said these are some of the best cover versions around.It's not live in the sense of having an audience but is clearly being played live as it is filmed.The band are excellent throughout, and it's nice to hear Bryan's views of the songs and the effect they've had on him. Dylanesque is a great Ferry album and I feel live like this it's even better.Bryan Ferry is a class artist with a great voice and this material fits him like a glove.Recommended and be sure you'll play it again and again.
Great to see it's being reissued,because it more than deserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing Ferry / Dylan DVD, 18 Jan 2010
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bryan Ferry - Dylanesque Live - The London Sessions [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Bryan Ferry's solo work is often inconsistent and frustrating - some of it is anodyne, bland even, but now and then he will come up with a concept that he can really make work for himself. 'Dylanesque' is one such project. Ferry is no stranger to covering Dylan, of course; his first solo hit was a cover of 'A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall', and he has returned to Dylan's catalogue intermittently through the years. This filmed-in-the-studio DVD, whilst not being particularly visually dynamic, sees Ferry fronting a fine band and investing a lot of the material with some soulful vocalising and his own (pretty good) harmonica work. The more stripped-down stuff works best, but the guitar work of Jonny Greenwood and Chris Spedding adds colour and atmosphere to the song arrangements. The interviews add some illumination to Ferry's song choices and interpretations - his reworking of 'Positively Fourth Street' in particular recasts the song away from the splentic put-down of the original to being a more considered and regretful version. However, the take on 'The Times They Are A Changin' is nearly pub-rock, and could have benefitted from a more radical approach. Overall, though, the DVD highlights Ferry's artistry, and his interpretive skills are remarkably effective. Well worth the money, to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bryan Ferry - Dylanesque Live - The London Sessions [DVD] [2007]
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews