Customer Reviews


428 Reviews
5 star:
 (262)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homage or parody, Hot Fuzz is the best of modern British comedy.
Police Constable Nicholas Angel is the pride of the London Service, trouble is is that he is making everybody else look bad, so much so his superiors promote him to Sergeant in the sleepy village of Sandford, Gloucestershire. Yet all is not right with Sandford as the locals start meeting grizzly deaths, thus thrusting Angel into his biggest case so far.

The...
Published 8 months ago by Spike Owen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over rated...
I was brought up on films such as The Naked Gun (Police Squad was the tv series) and im only 18, those films were hilarious and i still laugh at them, however, in my opinion, Hot Fuzz is a good film, but it lacks the comedy that i first saw from the trailers, yes there are some funny parts, but i felt the film was slow and i was quite dissapointed with the outcome of it
Published on 23 Nov. 2008 by Mr. I. Powell Morley


‹ Previous | 136 37 3843 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tepid and unfunny, 22 July 2007
By 
Hamstead (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought I was in for a treat with this, but what emerged was poor, unfunny slapstick. I can see that it was a homage to Hollywood action films - and Point Break is one of my absolute favourites, but this just didn't work. Seeing it at the cinema three sheets to the wind on a Friday night might make it seem hilarious I suppose, but not viewed on DVD at home. For the best homage to the English psyche/rural nuttiness and Hollywood, you can't beat Wallace & Grommit's Curse of the Were Rabbit. It's in a different class to this tripe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over-rated, 12 Aug. 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I watched Hot Fuzz on the strength of 'Shaun of the Dead', which was a marvellous breath of fresh air from Hollywoods bloated excesses. HF has a great cast. One of my favourite British actors from any era Jim Broadbent. Simon Pegg who has an intensity in his acting that is very funny. Bill Bailey, Nick Frost, Timothy Dalton etc etc, but somehow it just doesn't work.

The idea behind the story has the makings of a successful comedy. Sgt Angel is sent to Sandford, a small sleepy English town, because he is too good. As Angel Simon Pegg is perfect for the role but is let down most of the time by lines that just aren't that funny. To be honest after an hour had passed I had started to lose interest and at an hour and a half I gave up. It is too long.

Maybe on a 2nd showing I will enjoy it more, but its not a film I'd recommend anybody buying just because they liked 'Shaun of the Dead'. rent it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best british film ever made, 1 Jan. 2008
By 
mike clarke "bock" (zurich, switzerland) - See all my reviews
this film just completely blew me away everything that was amazing and brilliant about the outstanding shaun of the dead is just taken up 100% in this amazing british movie. Jokes, action, fast paced, action packed, in jokes, homage to action films such as point break and bad boys 2. There is so much praise i can lavish on this trio it could take me months. They are the finest film talents in britain and have given us the best movies ever made on our shores. This is without a doubt an amazing movie which has everything just perfect and every detail sorted out. Perfect entertainment and a film that the british public should cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comedy movies I've seen, 21 Oct. 2007
By 
Mary Chrapliwy (NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This movie is about a relentless and highly successful London Police Officer (Nicholas Angel). He has a high arrest record and the other London Police say that "you're making us look bad." So they transfer him up to a sleepy, beautiful town called Sandford - where there hasn't been a crime committed in years. Or so it would seem...

Well, in the sleepy, peaceful town Nicholas finds that all is not what it seems. Viewers see the first of several grisly murders - that murder is then staged as an accident. The town is prepared to write it off as an accident, but Nicholas is not. Against his protests that the accident is no accident, but actually a murder, the head of the local police force refuses to see it as anything other than an accident.

The plot then takes off relentlessly as Nicholas begins to untangle a web of deceptions. Mixed with the serious theme are so many genuinly funny scenes that this movie is more commedy than serious. At the end you will both cringe at some of the gory scenes and laugh at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Fuzz [DVD] (DVD)
Love this DVD. I suggest you buy it and watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proving that British films are best, 23 July 2007
This is funny from beginning to end and has many twists in the plot. At one point one wonders whether it is going to end like "The Whicker Man". Some delightful non-politically correct comments from the baddies and the discarded gypsy caravan in the church crypt adds a nice touch. The good cop is politically correct but that doesn't stop him engaging in mayhem. The cast are great and have the English habit of enunciating their lines clearly (the same cannot be said of many USA films or of some films set in Scotland such as "Sweet Sixteen"). Non British viewers shouldn't come away with the impression that this film depicts typical English village life, would that it was so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too polished, not enough laughs but still an enjoyable romp, 6 July 2007
By 
K-Pax (Bonnie Scotland) - See all my reviews
I was a fan of Spaced, Shaun of the Dead and I genuinely think Pegg and partner are funny guys. However, while the cast of this film is excellent, it's visually impressive and has a good enough plot, if it's being bracketed as comedy this means it should deliver laughs. At times, it is very funny (the swan in fright) but perhaps it was a victim of it's trailer's success. There are hardly any other comic moments in it (that aren't in the trailer) and I felt rather disappointed although I did enjoy the film. For me this was a missed opportunity to build on Pegg's impressive career so far and it just didn't deliver what the hype suggested it might.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Fuzz, 28 April 2007
By 
L. Roberts (Blackpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are a fan of Shaun of the Dead you will laugh out loud at this.

Simon Peggs character Nicholas Angel is transferred to the quiet town of Sanford, where the crime rate is very low.

However Nicholas soon realizes that all is not as peaceful as it seems when a series of 'accidents' leave Nick very suspicious.

I won't reveal much but it is brilliant. You don't seem to care about all of the more 'disusting' scenes because, like Shaun of the Dead, it wasn't made to be taken seriously. It turns gory bits into anoter excuse to laugh.

The action in the film is done well, and the shootout around the end will leave you in stitches as well as leaving your hair standing up.

Yet again Pegg, Frost and Wright bring us another great british film that is well worth buying when it comes out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy Fantastic Fun, 27 Dec. 2007
By 
RS Richards (UK East Anglia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this film at christmas after seeing at the cinema earlier this year! It's a great british film, fantastic fun and well worth adding to you dvd collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars By turns hilarious and creepy, 25 Jan. 2008
By 
Sarah J. Marquis "SassyJ" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is a little hit and miss. Some of the set piece gags, especially the vaulting over the back garden fence routine, were priceless. Some of the gory death scenes, especially the falling masonery thing, we could have done without. On the whole, an interesting successor to Shaun of the Dead, just not quite in the same cult class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 136 37 3843 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews