Customer Reviews


384 Reviews
5 star:
 (226)
4 star:
 (70)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homage or parody, Hot Fuzz is the best of modern British comedy.
Police Constable Nicholas Angel is the pride of the London Service, trouble is is that he is making everybody else look bad, so much so his superiors promote him to Sergeant in the sleepy village of Sandford, Gloucestershire. Yet all is not right with Sandford as the locals start meeting grizzly deaths, thus thrusting Angel into his biggest case so far.

The...
Published 2 months ago by Spike Owen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over rated...
I was brought up on films such as The Naked Gun (Police Squad was the tv series) and im only 18, those films were hilarious and i still laugh at them, however, in my opinion, Hot Fuzz is a good film, but it lacks the comedy that i first saw from the trailers, yes there are some funny parts, but i felt the film was slow and i was quite dissapointed with the outcome of it
Published on 23 Nov 2008 by Mr. I. Powell Morley


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homage or parody, Hot Fuzz is the best of modern British comedy., 22 Aug 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Police Constable Nicholas Angel is the pride of the London Service, trouble is is that he is making everybody else look bad, so much so his superiors promote him to Sergeant in the sleepy village of Sandford, Gloucestershire. Yet all is not right with Sandford as the locals start meeting grizzly deaths, thus thrusting Angel into his biggest case so far.

The biggest question on most film goers lips was could the pairing of Edgar Wright and Simon Pegg triumphantly follow the monster cult success of Shaun Of The Dead? Well the plot premise for Hot Fuzz hardly leaps out as something to grab the attention span of many, but they have crafted a tremendously funny film that winks at the action genre with genuine love and admiration.

Simon Pegg and his trusty sidekick, Nick Frost, clearly have an earthbound appeal that many (even outside of Britain) can warm too, not pretty or over svelt, these guys are fans of movies making movies purely for the fans, and it shows. Neither Pegg or Frost try to steal scenes from each other, both men after over a decade of working together are clearly comfortable with their coupling and thus manage to fine tune their working chemistry.

Once Angel (Pegg) lands at Sandford Village we are introduced to a ream of British Village stereotypes (archetypes actually), all characters ripe for hilarious scenarios that our fish out water (big city cop) Sergeant struggles to comprehend. We observe as he is dumb struck at the ineptitude of the Village Police Force (erm service actually) and is then forced to work alongside dough eyed Constable Butterman (a film stealing Frost). Angel's exasperation at where he finds himself is mirthful joy to us the viewers. The dialogue is priceless, one liners and hat tipping nods to the action genre come thick and fast, in fact you can watch Hot Fuzz repeatedly and play spot the homage each time. I mean come on people, we got both James Bond (a delicious turn from Timothy Dalton) and Belloq in here strutting their stuff. The action set pieces are not found wanting either, director Wright having the time of his life with the crash bang wallop that flows in the final third.

The test of a great comedy is how it stands up to repeat viewings, to me Hot Fuzz delivers no matter how many times it is viewed. For even when you know what is coming up next, the smile on your face is already there before the event, wonderful, wonderful film made by guys who love movies as much as ourselves. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's No Shaun, but this is pure fun, 26 Aug 2007
By 
Poor Napoleon (TX United States) - See all my reviews
Hot Fuzz is an excellent film. I have yet to be dissapointed with this team's work. Hot Fuzz continues the trend of Shaun of the Dead where it pays homage to a genre while creating and developing its own characters and story.

In Hot Fuzz, Simon Pegg is a good London cop - so good he is promoted to seargant in a small town where he is supposedly useless because nothing ever happens. His partner is the inept Danny, played by Nick Frost - who is just as funny and a bit more useful than he was in Shaun of the Dead (well, he doesn't screw up as much). Cameos read like a who's who of british comedy with Steve Coogan, Martin Freeman, and Bill Bailey making appearances.

A lot of reviewers have stated that this just isn't funny. It's funny, but Pegg and Wright, in penning the script have gone for some big in jokes, carefully inserted that to the regular movie goer, may go over their head. There's also a type of humour here that not every film goer will get. Part of Simon Pegg's success as a comedian is his dry, deadpan delivery. In many ways he reminds me of a young Bill Murray.

This film doesn't seem as successful because the action genre is just not as much in our current mindset as the horror genre. So one liners and fun dialogue exchangers are replaced by a lot of visual gags. Unfortunately, this means the characters aren't quite as developed as they are in Shaun of the Dead. This isn't a big deal - it's an action movie after all - but it was one of the charms of both Spaced and Shaun.

The finale of the film (possible spoiler) however, features a pitch perfect action scene. Here, the filmakers show their range by creating a brilliant action sequence that also has many of their trademark hilarious moments. It's not Shaun funny, but it still shows these guys have a lot more up there sleeves. So what's next - sci fi? western?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to spoof blood and gore but..., 12 May 2008
By 
MayGoodComeToUs (Rome, Lazio, ITALY) - See all my reviews
I think I must be the only person in the universe who has not seen Shaun of the Dead. This was my first Pegg experience and I dare not watch anything prior for fear of "ruining him" for me...For those who did not like this film because it was too "Arnie" with all of the firepower etc...all I can say is that was the point. This is a spoof! I am not sure how I managed to rent this movie because I am not usually a fan of the "anihilation movie" (I think the goose probably had a lot to do with it...) but I am very glad I did! I do agree that there was more gore than I had expected (sleepy village amid rolling hills...you have to reckon the goose is going to be the most dangerous thing our hero faces, no?) and that there probably should be some sort of warning. If, however, there will be no kids around and you feel that you have been properly warned about the gore, do NOT pass up this "hot" and "fuzzy" experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Schlocky Horror Picture Show!, 20 Aug 2007
By 
C. O'toole "bigcon" (co. down N ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Alas, if only England was like Working Title's spin on it, we could play tennis with Kirsten Dunst while she winks suggestively, we could drunkenly stroll to The Lucky Boat to meet andie McDowell, we could leisurely stroll through Notting Hill to the strains of Bill Withers... It's a sepia tinted world to be sure.
We now come to their latest project Hot Fuzz, the rustic English opener is spliced with a Lethal Weapon like second half. The amiable first half sees Sgt Nicholas Angel(an excellent Simon Webb) golden boy Police "Officer" a pollitically correct dot the i s and cross the ts anal retentive who gets despatched to the country by his superiors (Martin Freeman, Steve Coogan and Bill Nighy all in excellent form) because he is making his colleagues look inept in comparison. He winds up in sleepy Sandford, Gloucestershire where he is not expected to make any waves. The town is idyllic with an exceptionally low crime rate but a very high accident rate! Something isn't quite right from Timothy Dalton's smarmy Supermarket owner to Edward Woodward's over zealous community liason. People are unexpectedly slaughtered by a cloak wearing psychopath...but is it why we think?
Sgt Angel is twinned up with Danny (Nick Frost) an oafish overweight idiot and son of the local Police chief Jim Broadbent.
The film is drenched with so many references that it becomes almost original. The village is reminiscent of the Daily Mail's Middle England that it bemoans is disappearing. This is crossed with Stepford Wives overtones. The second half is gun toting brilliance and reeks of Dirty Harry and Martin Riggs. On the way are hilarious interludes such as the village hall production of Romeo + Juliet. Stephen Merchant turns up in a hilarious cameo where he describes a missing swan which has escaped( long neck, orange beak etc..)If only Timothy Dalton exuded some of this sheer class whilst 007 he would have undoubtedly been my favourite Bond. Violence is sporadic but schlockily scary. The film is generally hiarious and worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fuzztastic!, 25 Jun 2007
By 
D. Woods (DURHAM, DURHAM United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can I say? Absolutley fantastic! Simon Pegg and Nick Frost are a superb comedy double act and the director of the film, Edgar Wright, deserves a whole heap of praise and a lot more money to work with on his next movie. The jokes, sly references, one-liners and visual gags are great - well timed and equally well delivered. And what a cast! Edward Woodward, Paul Freeman, Jim Broadbent, Billie Whitelaw and not to mention the wonderful Timothy Dalton. I haven't seen him in a film this good for ages. The film itself is a manic mix of Bad Boys, The Bill, The Wicker Man and the League of Gentlemen. The final shoot-out/car chase/fist fight is brilliantly done. Its great to see, that after Shaun of the Dead, Pegg and Wright didn't just go for the easy option and do a re-hash, instead bringing us a new plot with fresh characters. Some critics out there (I'm talking to you, TOTAL FILM) have had the arrogance to suggest that Pegg should have played a character 'more like Shaun' (even though after Shaun, they hoped he wouldn't play the same kind of character over and over again) and that Edgar Wright 'could have a great career', if he decided to make either comedies or straight faced movies. They actually made these comments after the huge success of the film both here in the UK and the US! I'm telling you people, don't listen to these idiots, just get with the Fuzz!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll love it if you pay attention, 20 Jan 2008
By 
Kamran Rahman (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is an intelligent British spoof cop film. It is rather different from American spoof movies, the list of which is almost endless and which rely on rather cheap gags, all the way back to Airplane and Naked Gun. This film has a proper plot line which is at the same time quite clever and in the end too ridiculous for words. Having a proper plot line means that (unlike American films) it can't be "laugh-a-minute" all the way through but instead has to lay the seeds of its jokes subtly during the first half before starting to bring them out in spectacular bloom during the second half. This means that the first half is funny (there is a good scattering of cheap gags all the way through), but feels a little slow, whereas the second half (definitely the last half hour) will leave you in stitches - but of course only if you have paid careful attention to the "set ups" in the first half.

This film pushes the boundaries of spoof movies and brings them home to Britain in a way that Hollywood could never do and certainly with jokes that many people outside Britain just would not get. Watch out in particular for the hint of "forbidden love" between the two cops and a subtle joke on Timothy Dalton's chin right at the end...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterically funny and well worth going to the cinema to see, 20 Feb 2007
By 
I went to see this movie and I laughed so much I almost fell out of my wheelchair.

One of the best films to come out the UK in a dog's age. It is hysterically funny, deliciously gruesome in parts, you flinch at the scene when the reporter gets part of a church steeple dropped on his head and as for the scene in the model village, well you have to see it to believe it.

The plot is simple and to the point, hot shot London police officer Nicholas Angel played by Simon Pegg gets sent to a sleepy little village in middle England because he is too good at his job and is making his colleagues look bad.

However this little village isn't quite what it seems, there are a lot of unexplained deaths that are being passed off as accidents, and Nicolas finds out that the police chief isn't all that keen to rock the boat for his own reasons.

With a lumbering side kick who just happens to be the police chief's son, Nicholas tries to find out what is going on but is thwarted at every turn, and we watch in hysterical amusement as he arrests naughty boys for underage drinking, tries to capture a run-a-way swan, and collects an armoury of weapons from a farmers barnyard, whilst trying to work out why so many people in the village are having such "terrible accidents."

Not popular with the rest of the police officers/staff who would rather eat cake and drink tea, he tries to instil in them some pride in their job, he finally gets them to believe that not all is what it seems in their sleepy little village and one of the best scenes in the film is when they have to attack the Somerfield supermarket and are met by enraged villagers lobbing supermarket trolleys, vegetables and other food stuffs at them, you've not seen anything like it before but it is worth seeing the film just for those ten minutes alone.

Taking the Mickey out of every American buddy-buddy cop movie ever made, from Bad Boys, to Point Break, to 24 Hours, we are treated to an outrageous tongue in cheek comedy that leaves you wiping your eyes from laugher and hysteria.

With a star studded cast that include Timothy Dalton, Jim Broadbent, Edward Woodward, and Steve Coogan to name but a few, we get quality acting in a comedy that should be nominated for an Oscar just based on laughs alone.

As squeamish in parts as Shaun of the Dead but well worth going to the cinema to see and I will be buying the DVD as soon as it comes out because I will have to watch it all over again, because I am sure I have missed a lot of the jokes and humour when I was laughing so much in the cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yarp!, 7 Dec 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A big "Yarrp" to the very English action movie Hot Fuzz. No, it's not as good as Shaun of the Dead, but it's not really a disappointment either even if the laugh count is a lot lower. Much of the film really isn't that funny, yet it gets by for much of its running time on sheer enthusiastic likeability. At times Edgar Wright's direction tries a little too hard and few of the many cameos have much to do (though a heavily disguised Cate Banchett makes a real virtue of her anonymity and Peter Jackson does turn up as a psycho Santa), but it's one of the very few films where the fun that the filmmakers seem to be having actually seems to translate to the finished product. As with Shaun, it's an inspired bit of gene-splicing, in this case a wonderful yet surprisingly logical cross between Agatha Christie and Jerry Bruckheimer, with a series of very English crimes - motivated by nothing so sordid as monetary gain or as logical as a criminal conspiracy but rather by something infinitely more respectable - culminating in 20 minutes of virtuoso mayhem that sees Simon Pegg and Nick Frost shooting up the kind of quaint and picturesque village more used to the genteel Sunday teatime likes of The Vicar of Dibley and All Creatures Great and Small. Even the casting of the local Neighbourhood Watch is truly inspired, consisting of (among others), James Bond (Timothy Dalton, whose `supermarket slasher' gets my vote for Best Supporting Actor this year), Callan (Edward Woodward), Bellocq from Raiders of the Lost Ark (Paul Freeman), the nanny from The Omen (Billie Whitelaw) and the villain from Lethal Weapon 3 (Stuart Wilson). And there's been some real thought put into the disposal of the bad guys, which mirror the various murders in gruesomely exaggerated fashion via bear traps, model villages and sea mines. Very pleasing indeed - even the extras on the DVD are unusually entertaining. Yarrp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best film ever, but still great, 5 Sep 2007
By 
li "L.S" (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
Police officer Nicholas Angel is transferred to a
rural village. On arrival, Angel teams
up with the oaf-like PC Danny Butterman and
together they investigate a series of mysterious
murders, all of which are classed as 'accidents' by the increasingly strange townsfolk.
The film starts extremly dull, why it dosent get a five
but the gore is quailty and the story is great!
Not quite a comedy but woth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could this be any better?, 6 May 2007
This review is from: Hot Fuzz (2 Disc Special Edition) With Limited Edition Artcards (Exclusive to Amazon.co.uk) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Like many others, I saw this film the day it opened at the cinema and was truly astounded at the storyline and great characters that showcased in it. Simon Pegg stars as a police officer whose precocious talents have provoked the jealously of his London constabulary, and who decide to draft him to a local village where they hope he will fade into obscurity. The rest of the plotline is a tale of deceit and conspiracy as the mysteries of the village are slowly revealed- I wont elaborate any further in case you havent seen the film yet.

One of the great features of the film is its ability to satirise famous sequences from other Hollywood Blockbusters- there are obvious references to the 'Wicker Man', which famously explored the idea of a sinsister occult religion being practised in a rural village. As in 'Shaun of the dead' there is a heavy ammount of violence in the film, but it is always portrayed as burlesque and hyperbolic, ensuring that you cant help but laugh at some of the most gruesome sequences. One of my favourite aspects of this fim is the return of Timothy Dalton (former James Bond) to the big screen, and in his role as the suave, charismatic villain, he provides a superb counterpart to Pegg's austere police image, perhaps inspried by the ice cool front of clint eastwood in the dirty harry movies- indeed there is a very distinct spaghetti western shoot-out at the end of the film.

So this film really has it all, great plotline and tremendous characters- avid film critics will delight in attempting to spot the innumerable film references that are scattered throughout the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews