Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars1,370
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews(2 star). Show all reviews
on 24 September 2013
This release is deeply disappointing. To cut off almost 30% of the frame to become widescreen is ridiculous. The original full frame looks so much better. Yes Disney may have offered many of their mid-period cartoons in a widescreen cut for cinemas that felt they had to show it that way and for those that never saw the original full frame they would never know what they missed but only a few minutes of an AB test shows what a terrible mutilation this release is. Shame on you Disney, give us the full film! If you can find the 4:3 DVD get it, it is just so much better.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
not as i expected,the sound tracks on two songs were very poor and it kept sticking meaning you missed the full value of these brilliant songs and lyrics
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
Blank DVD, tried to play on three different players - no joy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
not a brilliant dvd colour was very green sound track poor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
DVD was for grandchildren and they love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
Was listed as 'very good condition' .....both dvds scratched, and even the case plastic was torn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
Bought as part of a collection, as growing up never enjoyed this film from the Disney library, but that said shall split review into two aspects;
The film -
I find the characters of Bagheera and Mowgli excruciatingly irritating to sit through, and Baloo swings back and forth between a comic relief and just grating. Alot of the musical numbers I will admit are fun, Bear Necessities isn't too bad, I really enjoy I Wanna Be Like You, and the song near the end that was a riff on The Beatles is quite entertaining. The characters of the vultures are quite amusing, King Louie is great and Sheer Khan is genuinely one of the great Disney villains. Some of the elements just don't seem to gel, like the army elephant sequence that just feels really out of place, and slightly distracting voice acting from Winnie The Pooh voicing Kaa the snake. The story is fine, if nothing too exhilarating - it is largely just an intolerable protagonist that makes this one really unenjoyable to watch.
The Blu Ray-
The transfer is absolutely amazing, and allows the animation to easily look like a film from the same era as Little Mermaid (the slightly sketchy style of animation being the only thing that seperates it from looking Tarzan-ish) and all the colours pop beautifully, and the audio is crisp and clear, as well as perfectly balanced so won't need to keep adjusting the volume settings throughout. The extras are packed onto this and largely of interest and variety for such an old film, so should keep a fan busy for hours after the fact.

Overall; the transfer and blu ray itself is easily worth the 5 stars, however the feature itself is only a 2 for me. That being said at the current price I do not regret purchasing it, so anyone who was a fan of the film itself this is a fantastic deal and a must-upgrade, so add another couple of stars to the rating above!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
The DVD was not the DVD in the picture as advertised that I received.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Quality not very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
This arrived with the protective cling film around it split and no greetings cards.
The DVDs inside the box were fine, and the Jungle Book film is wonderful. I'd just not bother spending the extra on cards which don't exist!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.