Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat for vintage cartoon buffs
This item, which I ordered recently from one of Amazon.uk's marketplace sellers, is a textbook example of the right way to compile a set of vintage cartoons. It contains 75 Walter Lantz cartoons (spread over three discs), dating from the 1930s onwards, and originally made for the cinema. Most of them feature Woody Woodpecker, but there are also plenty featuring characters...
Published on 12 Dec 2007 by The Wanderer

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for my dvd player
I bought these dvds just because some of the reviewers stated it plays on UK dvd-players too. No, they don't! not on my new Panasonic and this dvd player have seen many different dvds before. One dvd has a strange spot, another has a few scratches, the third is fine but none of them is recognised by my dvd-player so I'm going to return this item.
Published on 17 July 2011 by Yanina


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treat for vintage cartoon buffs, 12 Dec 2007
This review is from: Woody Woodpecker & Friends Classic Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This item, which I ordered recently from one of Amazon.uk's marketplace sellers, is a textbook example of the right way to compile a set of vintage cartoons. It contains 75 Walter Lantz cartoons (spread over three discs), dating from the 1930s onwards, and originally made for the cinema. Most of them feature Woody Woodpecker, but there are also plenty featuring characters like Chilly Willy and Andy Panda - and, not least, a collection of miscellaneous cartoons which, for example, satirise American history, Hollywood movies, etc. The DVD menus are clearly presented and easy to navigate. There are no advertisements for other products to have to sit through first. According to the information on the box, these cartoons are digitally remastered and completely uncut. As for the first part of that statement, I would say that both picture and sound quality are outstanding (and, for that matter, the best I've found in any cartoon compilation). Regarding their being completely uncut, I certainly see no reason whatsoever to dispute this. Unlike the various Disney compilations, this set contains no introductions to cartoons which might be taken as politically incorrect. There is, however, a warning printed on the box, stating that the DVDs are intended for adult collectors and may not be suitable for children. Be that as it may, I think that for animation quality and sheer inventiveness of gags, these toons take the cake! Those of us who recall the old News & Cartoon Cinemas should enjoy them especially. Several extra features are provided in the form Woody Woodpecker on TV, the story of his origins, and a behind-the-scenes look at creating a cartoon. I found the price of this DVD set to be very reasonable considering the high quality of the product, and more than adequate value for money. Let's hope that other companies which market cartoon DVDs take note of how things really should be done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilled for Lantz and Woddy to have their day., 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woody Woodpecker & Friends Classic Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I'm thrilled that Woody and Walter Lantz have finalled got a full dvd of cartoons.
Never have I thought that these cartoons would ever hit the shelves.

Woody has always neem in the shadows so to speak in the cartoon realm, not sharing the spotlight as much as his peers like Mickey Mouse, Bugs Bunny, Tom and Jerry etc.
This set has cartoons that range from memorable to forgetable.
The set is in a well presented box with 3 disc holders showing each individual contents.
The menus are basic with Bonus features, which are an episode of The Woody Woodpecker shower and segments, behind the scenes with Walter Lantz, and showing how a Oswald cartoon is made.

I would have liked commentaries or documentries but we cant have it all.

The restoration is par-par, there is noticable DVNR on 70% of each cartoons which is tedious and a trick Warner should stop doing for restoration. The cartoons all have grains even after the DVNR process.

Anyways, this American version comes fully in tact with all cartoons uncut! Exceptt for Toyland Premiere which is sadly censored.

The real treat is seeing the development of Woody, seeing Oswald and 4 Tex Avery cartoons featuring Chilly Willy and the birth and creation of Andy Panda.

for under fifteen quid including postage for 75 cartoons is a bargin! Despite minor flaws the pro's outweigh the negatives.

This dvd as a previous reviwer has stated is region free. I have tried this dvd on now 3 region 2 players and to my knowledge is Region 1 coded.

CONTENTS BREAK DOWN with Dates of release:

Disc one
Woody Woodpecker 01 Knock Knock 11/25/40
02 Woody Woodpecker 7/7/41
03 The Screwdriver 8/24/41
04 Pantry Panic 11/24/41
05 The Hollywood Matador 2/9/42
06 Ace in the Hole 6/22/42
07 The Loan Stranger 10/19/42
08 The Screwball 2/15/43
09 The Dizzy Acrobat 5/31/43
10 Ration Bored 7/26/43
11 The Barber of Seville 4/10/44
12 The Beach Nut 10/16/44
13 Ski for Two 11/13/44
14 Chew-Chew Baby 2/5/45
15 Woody Dines Out 5/14/45

Oswald the Lucky Rabbit Hells Heels 6/2/30
Spooks 7/14/30
Grandma's Pet 1/18/32
Confidence 7/31/33
The Merry Old Soul 11/27/33

Cartune Classics King Klunk 9/4/33
Toyland Premiere 12/10/34
Hollywood Bowl 10/5/38
Scrambled Eggs 11/20/39
Hysterical Highspots in American History 3/31/41

Bonus features: 1982 documentary short: Walter, Woody and the World of Animation
Vintage 1932 documentary short: Cartoonland Mysteries

Disc two
Woody Woodpecker 16 The Dippy Diplomat 8/27/45
17 The Loose Nut 12/7/45
18 Who's Cookin' Who? 6/27/46
19 Bathing Buddies 7/1/46
20 The Reckless Driver 8/26/46
21 Fair Weather Fiends 11/18/46
22 Musical Moments from Chopin 2/24/47
23 Smoked Hams 4/28/47
24 The Coo Coo Bird 6/9/47
25 Well Oiled 6/30/47
26 Solid Ivory 8/25/47
27 Woody the Giant Killer 12/15/47
28 The Mad Hatter 2/16/48
29 Banquet Busters 3/3/48
30 Wacky-Bye Baby 5/2/48

Andy Panda Life Begins for Andy Panda 9/9/39
Fish Fry 6/19/44
Apple Andy 5/20/46
The Bandmaster 12/22/47
Scrappy Birthday 2/11/49

Swing Symphonies $21 a Day (Once a Month) 12/1/41
Pass the Biscuits, Mirandy! 8/23/43
The Greatest Man in Siam 3/27/44
Abou Ben Boogie 9/18/44
The Pied Piper of Basin Street 1/15/45

Bonus features: Six behind-the-scenes segments produced for The Woody Woodpecker Show

Disc three
Woody Woodpecker 31 Wet Blanket Policy 8/27/48
32 Wild and Woody! 12/31/48
33 Drooler's Delight 3/25/49
34 Puny Express 1/22/51
35 Sleep Happy 3/26/51
36 Wicket Wacky 5/28/51
37 Slingshot 6 7/8 -7/28/51-
38 The Redwood Sap 10/1/51
39 The Woody Woodpecker Polka 10/29/51
40 Destination Meatball 12/24/51
41 Born to Peck 2/25/52
42 Stage Hoax 4/21/52
43 Woodpecker in the Rough 6/16/52
44 Scalp Treatment 9/18/52
45 The Great Who-Dood-It 10/20/52

Chilly Willy Chilly Willy 12/21/53
I'm Cold 12/20/54
The Legend of Rockabye Point 4/11/55
Hot and Cold Penguin 10/24/55
Room and Wrath 6/4/56

Cartune Classics Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy of Company "B" 9/1/41
Mother Goose on the Loose 4/13/42
Pigeon Patrol 8/3/42
Crazy Mixed Up Pup 2/14/55
Sh-h-h-h-h-h 6/6/55

Bonus feature: The Woody Woodpecker Show: Spook-a-Nanny: A complete 1964 episode of The Woody Woodpecker Show, featuring Over the Counter Spy (Woody Woodpecker), Playful Pelican (Andy Panda), and Spook-a-Nanny, the only original Woody Woodpecker cartoon created for the series

Any questions, give a shout and if not, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woody's a goody, 16 Nov 2010
This review is from: Woody Woodpecker & Friends Classic Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Region 2 players
Although supposedly for Region 1 players (US), this collection plays on all my Region 2 DVD players (3 different) like other cartoons I've reviewed which have come from the States and should be region 1 (US).

Content
There are far more catoons in this collection than in the similarly boxed collection available in the UK. Compared to about 22 cartoons in the UK version, this US collection has 76 cartoons, plus 4 behind the scenes with Walter Lantz (Woody's creator) and a TV show episode for Halloween. Woody stars in 45 cartoons, Andy Panda in 6; Chilly Willy the penguin in 5; the rest being Cartune Classics; Swing Symphonies and Oswald the Rabbit from the early years.

History
Oswald the Lucky Rabbit (B/W, animated in the 1930's) was 'stolen' from Disney who created him originally. Walter Lantz was commissioned to continue with the character while Disney was left to lick his wounds, eventually coming up with Mickey Mouse as a replacement! Infact, Oswald and Mickey have little difference in appearance apart from their ears. Thereafter, Disney was a stickler for copyright and control which, in the end, enabled his studio to grow and diversify.

Meanwhile, animated by Lantz, Oswald continued, his studio grew and was won from Universal Pictures in a poker bet (!) - but eventually Oswald's popularity dwindled and Lantz and his team came up with another character, Andy Panda. Woody Woodpecker was featured in 'Knock, Knock' an Andy Panda title, and his crazy antics were so popular that he became the dominant star on the Lantz studios.

Quality
Very good - the release dates of the cartoons featured range from the 1930's to the mid '50's. The packaging is colourful and the outer box sleeve has a nice cut out of Woody.

Suitability
While kids of all ages will enjoy the cartoons, for collectors and serious animation buffs, this is a superb package with plenty of worthwhile extras to drool over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for my dvd player, 17 July 2011
By 
Yanina (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Woody Woodpecker & Friends Classic Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I bought these dvds just because some of the reviewers stated it plays on UK dvd-players too. No, they don't! not on my new Panasonic and this dvd player have seen many different dvds before. One dvd has a strange spot, another has a few scratches, the third is fine but none of them is recognised by my dvd-player so I'm going to return this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woody Woodpecker & Friends Classic Collection [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£13.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews