Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ozzy Osbourne - Alive And Kicking!
If, like me, you had given up on Ozzy as a creative force after hearing pretty much anything he's done since the classic 'No More Tears' then hold onto your hat when you hear this album as he has come roaring out of the mansion with his best work in many a year.

Although the album is slightly blighted by two rather cheesy ballads,(try listening to them without...
Published on 20 May 2007 by R. Braid

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing
I am sorry to say that this is just not what I would call a 'great' ozzy album.
It is disappointing and rarely gets played.
Everyone has a bad day , and I think ozzy may have been having a bad day with this rather lacking everything album.
Even me, a die hard Ozzy fan has to admit when things are just not quite up to the mark.
Published 5 months ago by bonnie andy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ozzy Osbourne - Alive And Kicking!, 20 May 2007
By 
R. Braid (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Rain (Audio CD)
If, like me, you had given up on Ozzy as a creative force after hearing pretty much anything he's done since the classic 'No More Tears' then hold onto your hat when you hear this album as he has come roaring out of the mansion with his best work in many a year.

Although the album is slightly blighted by two rather cheesy ballads,(try listening to them without thinking of Sharon Osbourne, it's impossible!) the rockers really deliver, as Zakk Wylde churns out the riffs and that (admittedly slightly annoying) trademark squeal of his all over the place. This is Ozzy at his most edgy and aggressive, [...]. There's no denying the fact that the years of excess have taken their toll on Ozzy's voice, and a number of effects are added on some songs to give his vocals added bite, but this is a minor quibble as great lyrics (Perry Mason? Fuhget aboudit!) and pummeling choruses carry each song through to a thoroughly satisfactory conclusion.

This album really is better than anyone had a right to expect and if you are an Ozzy fan you will not be disappointed. As Ozzy himself would say,'ROCK AND ROLL!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Ozz album in years, 26 May 2007
This review is from: Black Rain (Audio CD)
Quite simply...................his best work in years. Loud, proud, and atmospheric. Listen to Civilize the Universe on headphones as loud as your ears will take, and see if it takes you back 20 years to Ozzy in the 80s. There are no weak songs, and Ozzy has once again outgunned his musical peers even at the age of 58! Lets hope he keeps on going into his 60's.

Well done Ozzy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Darker Edgier Return From Brummies Finest Rocker, 26 Aug 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Rain (Audio CD)
Ozzy Osbourne: Black Rain.

Track Listings

1. Not Going Away
2. I Don't Wanna Stop
3. Black Rain
4. Lay Your World on Me
5. The Almighty Dollar
6. 11 Silver
7. Civilize the Universe
8. Here For You
9. Countdown's Begun
10. Trap Door

Timelord Thoughts.
Apart from a couple of cheesy ballads the lacklustre 'Lay Your Love On Me' & 'Hear For You', Black Rain is Ozzy at his most raw & has written some of his most darkest material in years that is similar in tone to the early Ozzy, Black Sabbath albums.

Ozzy accompanied by Zakk Wylde who riffs the hell out of this album & delivers a raw aggressive rock edge which accompanies Ozzys raw aggressive vocals that has a brooding metal edge to them heard on tracks 'I Don't Want To Stop' & 'Civilize The Universe' which for me is the albums two standout tracks.

'The Mighty Dollar' & 'Silver' are a decent efforts while the albums title track 'Black Rain' is excellent which showcases Ozzys thoughts on war just isn't quite there to be a Ozzy classic but it's far better than your standard average track.

Overall, Black Rain suffers slightly for being a slightly inconsistent album & lacks the polish of Down To Earth, the albuns two ballards simply don't work & sound out of place on this darker toned album, while a few of the other tracks could've done with some fine tweaking here & there, but at least Black Rain shiws Ozzy isn't resting on his laurels & gives us a album that is more in tone with the darker elements of early Sabbath & is without doubt one of Ozzys better album releases of recent year's.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ozzy just doesn't wanna stop...and damn right!, 31 May 2007
By 
Jacob Sanders (North Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Rain (Audio CD)
I only ever buy CD's for the car, listening to music one the too and from work really helps me chill, I was suprised to find this album totally enjoyable. Fantastic driving music. Unlike Ozzy's 2001 CD release, this album is a mix of modern, yet classic Sabbath-esque tracks. 'I Don't Wanna Stop' is the first release from the CD and it's a real catchy track with a brilliant guitar solo 3/4 the way through. The title track is brilliant, reminds me of really early Sabbath stuff and 'Lay Your World on Me' is kind of a mix between Changes and Momma I'm Coming Home, it's easily one of the best, hauntingly eerie tracks on the album.

With a mix of modern and classic sounds, the overall album proves that Ozzy Osbourne has alot of kick left in him. ALL of the songs were co-written by the man himself, the only song I feel let's this album down is 'The Almighty Dollar' it seems to be about nothing particular and it's harsh on the ears.

Everything else is top notch! Welcome back Ozzy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain (Audio CD)
I am sorry to say that this is just not what I would call a 'great' ozzy album.
It is disappointing and rarely gets played.
Everyone has a bad day , and I think ozzy may have been having a bad day with this rather lacking everything album.
Even me, a die hard Ozzy fan has to admit when things are just not quite up to the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain (Audio CD)
Despite people hating this album saying it's not as good as such and such and blah blah blah this isn't that bad an album sure it's not the best Ozzy album by a long shot but not completely unlistenable. If you collect metal albums I wouldn't rush to buy it but I wouldn't completely dismiss either. Overall not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ozzy is a god, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Rain (Audio CD)
fantastic album made all the better by zakk wylde being on it overall brilliant his best in years god bless ozzy osbourne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CREATIVE ALBUM FROM OZZY, 13 Sep 2012
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Black Rain (Audio CD)
Many people think that Ozzy lost his way to a certain extent in recent times. However, this album is proof that he is very much back on track.

The album is driven by Ozzy's trade mark vocal style and some amazing guitar playing. Great songs and punchy lyrics make this a strong and appealing album all round.

The only place I feel Ozzy goes off track is with his ballads - it just doesn't seem to sit comfortably - but in all other respects, a very strong and enjoyable album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Signs Of Life, 22 Jun 2008
This review is from: Black Rain (+Bonus) (Audio CD)
This is not one of those Ozzy albums which will amaze the listener, but it does provide more than a little evidence that Ozzy can still rock. Ozzy also shows that he isn't afraid to update his sound a bit, as there is some experimentation here with industrial metal, though for my tastes I would have preferred that he did more of that instead of falling back to his older sound on some of the pieces.

The opening piece is "Not Going Away" which appears to be a biographical
statement about Ozzy not retiring. It is a solid piece and is one of the pieces on which he experiments with his sound, but ultimately it fails to grab the listener, and it did not grow on me with repeated listenings. Next up is "I Don't Wanna Stop", which is a similar lyrical message, but a stronger piece, with some great instrumentation. However, when one compares this to some of Ozzy's greatest pieces it just doesn't match up. Next up is the title track, "Black Rain", a piece which Ozzy questions the purpose of the war. For me this is the strongest of the tracks, though it too would not be considered in the top tier of all Ozzy's songs.

The ballads are the weakness of this album, as unfortunately it has been a long time since Ozzy has done any ballad which didn't sound like one he has done before. The first one is "Lay Your World On Me". It sounds like any number of previous efforts, and lyrically is probably weaker than most. Up next is "The Almighty Dollar", once again a slightly different sound, but this one just doesn't work for me. It isn't bad, and it does have some interesting sections, but it just doesn't hold up as a complete piece. "11 Silver" is a high energy effort, but as with its predecessor it ends up around an average piece because it doesn't all fit together, though there is a furious guitar solo which perhaps moves it slightly above average. "Civilize The Universe" is a bit better to my ears, and it is one of the highlights of the album.

"Here for You" is the second ballad, and as with the first one, it is one of the weaker tracks. Ozzy should consider doing an album or two without ballads, unless he can really come up with something different. "Countdown's Begun" is a more traditional sounding heavier Ozzy song, though it seems to signal that the inventiveness of the sound on the earlier tracks as run out. As an Ozzy piece, I found it rather unexceptional, though preferable to the ballads. The last piece on the regular CD is "Trap Door", which is another of the better pieces on the album, though the lyrics are too repetitive for me, it at least offers a pretty good jam.

The Japanese release contains two bonus tracks, the first of which is "I Can't Save You" This sounds more like an older Ozzy piece, but it has a decent sound so of the more traditional Ozzy sounding pieces on this album, it would have been my favorite, were it not for the second bonus track "Nightmare", which once again doesn't fit as much with the industrial metal sound of a lot of this album, but is the best of the traditional Ozzy pieces included.

In terms of composition, this album is essentially a three person effort. Ozzy, Zakk Wylde, and Kevin Churko composed all the pieces, with the exception of "The Almighty Dollar" and "Trap Door" for which Zakk is not credited as composer. The musicians are Ozzy Osbourne (vocals), Zakk Wylde (guitars and keyboards), Mike Bordin (drums and percussion), and Blasko (bass). Though it is a bit inconsistent, I am rounding this one up to four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 11 Oct 2007
This review is from: Black Rain (Audio CD)
Allright let me say this. I am sure Ozzy did sing this 10 years ago or may be he is a robot with just his vocal chords mechanically placed there by sharon.
Ozzy has been so varied throughout the years and while this album does not compare to his past ones , but still this is good listening. Wylde's still allright, a good collection of various metal, mood and some soft ones. bit of like little brother of ozzmosis. but given that he can barely speak ,a good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Rain
Black Rain by Ozzy Osbourne (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews