Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The twisted brain-wrong of a one-off man mental
So goes the lead-in line on one of Brass Eye's reports, and it could equally sum up this brilliant series, which is surreal and vicious in almost equal measure.
It is shocking in places, aiming to prick the humbug Morris sees in modern broadcast journalism. He was a practitioner himself once, and would have made a very good journo in another universe, but you get the...
Published on 10 Feb 2003 by G. King

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Found it very disappointing after all the good reviews here!
Published 2 months ago by Beetzme


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The twisted brain-wrong of a one-off man mental, 10 Feb 2003
By 
G. King "gk100" (York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brass Eye [VHS] [1997] (VHS Tape)
So goes the lead-in line on one of Brass Eye's reports, and it could equally sum up this brilliant series, which is surreal and vicious in almost equal measure.
It is shocking in places, aiming to prick the humbug Morris sees in modern broadcast journalism. He was a practitioner himself once, and would have made a very good journo in another universe, but you get the feeling that he hates most of them now, or certainly the ones who resort to the same tired techniques and lazy cliches.
Nonetheless, this series is very funny. Unlike many other reviewers, I'd cite the programme "Animals" as my favourite - the debunking of Carla Lane's socialist credentials was quite a sight, and the report captioned "Ted Maul - In the Country" about a man who wages a psychological war against a cow is a masterpice.
The character of Ted Maul is as memorable as Alan Patridge, if not as famous, and he causes that same I-can't-watch-but-I-can't-stop feeling which was later to result from watching Ricky Gervais play David Brent.
But, as usual, it's the sheer ludicrousness of some of the things that Morris gets celebrities to say that makes this compelling viewing. He said once "In another life I could have been a conman", and watching the slebs fall victim, reading his daft scripts one after another, you can believe it. How did he get Tommy Vance to do an induction video for young offenders? How did he get Bernard Manning to rail against the new Czech drug Cake?
And just how did he manage to get "Mad" Frankie Fraser to willingly indicate on a pointer system that he would be 'Mad as a lorry' ??? Buy this now, before They change their mind and take it off the shelves, lest TV news collapse inwards on itself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep watching to find out what to think, 15 Jan 2004
By 
Touring Mars (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Brass Eye is more than just one of the funniest comedy series around, but also the defining moment in history when someone finally challenged the way in which many a serious news programme chooses to report the world. Poking fun at everyone from the tabloid press, 24-hour news channels like Sky and CNN, and even involving a variety of unsuspecting celebrity individuals including MP's, Chris Morris' brand of cutting satire is as accurate as it is bitingly funny.
This is definitely not for the faint-hearted or especially the easily offended.. but that said, alot of the most 'offensive' stuff is deliberately so, and way over the top... the best example of this is the hugely controversial (but also Bafta award winning) Paedophilia episode. Outrageous from start to finish, the 'shock value' throughout is purely intentional, and is part of the satire. Some people argue that this sort of thing is 'off-limits' for comedy, because it is somehow making a mockery of what is in reality a terribly serious issue. But I beg to differ. The take-home message from this particular show is as stark and terrifying as your typical Daily Mail rant on the same subject...the message being "Be afraid and be irrational". But by lampooning this sort of sensationalist reporting that would have you believing that the world is awash with paedophiles, Brass Eye actually makes a genuinely useful and good point... don't believe all the rubbish you read or see on TV, and don't let your sense of good judgement be fooled... as Morris' Paxman-like presenter says during one episode, "Keep watching to find out what to think!".. I think this, above all else, summarises nicely what Brass Eye is all about.
The other episodes deal with such controversial subjects as Animal Rights, Drugs, Sex, Crime, (Urban) Decline and Science. Each episode contains its handful of 'offensive' and outrageous moments, but is consistently hilarious throughout. I can't recommend this DVD to everyone, but to true fans of black comedy, I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morris the genius, 3 April 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Chris Morris is the most under-rated British comedian out there. The series Brass Eye pushed the boundaries again, basically continuing from where The Day Today left off. It satirises the medias attitude towards issues such as drugs, animal welfare and most controversially paedophilia, which was a one-off special in 2001.

The special caused uproar at the time and many newspapers got on their high horse about it. Heres a fairly typical quote from part of an article called "The Brass Neck of Brass Eye" which appeared in one Daily paper.

"The supposed satire, presented by Chris Morris, was almost universally condemned and provoked a record 3,000 complaints when it was shown in July and controversially repeated a day later. Among those disgusted by it were Home Secretary David Blunkett, Culture Secretary Tessa Jowell and Home Office minister Beverley Hughes - who branded it 'unspeakably sick'"

Well I can only thank the newspapers and politians for alerting me to somebody producing some worthwhile TV. You immediately know that anything that makes politicians comment is probably going to a little bit more interesting than "Big Brother" or "I'm a celebrity pay me more money". Just like Beyond The Fringe in the 60's, Monty Python in the 70's and few series over the last 2 decades, Brass Eye points the finger back at the media and indeed other television programs and says "are you sure about that". In fact I didn't see the show at the time and bought the DVD several years later, but I had made a mental note that this was one to get!

Numerous celebrities were duped into appearing on these shows, and if you have a particular celebrity you hate you will love seeing him or her being made a complete fool of. However this is an area where I have some sympathy, as at heart most of us are fairly gullable, and in fairness to them they were trying to help (and of course gain media exposure at the same time).

So the contents of this DVD is going to upset some people, and maybe I am in the minority, but I strongly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars is not Nonce Sense, 5 Mar 2003
Wonderful. You never be able to watch televised news in the same way after watching this. The satire is so well observed and many-levelled a description here couldn't do it justice. He manages to avoid the somewhat preaching style that other satirist (Mark Thomas, Rory Bemmner, Michael Moore etc) can fall into, and so his satire is much more sharp. Up there with Peter Cook at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They dug them up, all earthy., 20 Sep 2006
By 
Cornyman (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Chris Morris does it again in this psuedo-sequel to The Day Today.

Hilarious, over the top stuff, with mad graphics and convoluted word play, feature heavily in this parody of consumer affairs programming. This satire mocks the kind of programme that pretends to care about the general public by championing 'issues' but, in reality, all they care about are sensationalist, headline grabbing stunts designed to maximise their audience.

This dvd also features all the episodes uncensored, including the notorious 'special' - "They don't deserve punishment, they deserve GUNISHMENT!"

If you enjoy sly, subversive humour, this one's for you. Not recommended if you prefer safe, conservative comedies that will not challenge or stimulate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a fine wine..., 5 Mar 2004
Watching this DVD again the other day, it struck me as remarkable that here is a comedy series that just refuses to date. If anything, it becomes more relevant as time goes on. The only factor to blunten the sharpness of the humour is that, 7 years on, those ridiculous OTT news graphics that made us giggle so, those daft camera angles and reporter vanity shots that used to make us chortle, just look normal now. We see them every day. How rightly Morris pre-empted the direction of today's "factual" programming, that we are now conditioned into perceiving Brass Eye as vaguely sane.
Brass Eye is beyond critique. Those who question its morality do not understand it. It is the most honest, moral, brave, and yes - funny - series ever to be aired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Paedogedden!!!!, 11 Jan 2007
By 
C. Mcsloy "I baptised a dog" (Nowhere in particular today) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The best satire of the 20th/21st century. At its most brilliant when exposing the mind-numbing complicit stupidity of modern day celebrities. Sub-morons such as Dr. Fox (after seeing this I suspect his PHD may have been bought on the internet, and even then he probably had to get someone else to fill in his credit card details for him)are given lines like "Paedophiles genitically have more in common with crabs than with you and I. That's a fact, there's no evidence to support it, but it is a fact." The stunning aray of celebrities who are willing to say something that is patently false just so that they can earn their fee or further themselves in the public eyes. Morris's humour is admittedly pretty brutal at times but his targets are usually fitting and when the targets do seem a little easy (such as when he manages to get Claire Rainer to admit she would beat of a room full of men if that's what it took) it at least has the saving grace of being hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long time coming, but it was worth it., 30 April 2002
By 
E Parry (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't like giving 5 star reviews, because everyone does it for everything, but this really does deserve it. Brass Eye is without a doubt one of the best things that has eve been on television. Fans have been waiting a long long time to see it released on video, or even repeated on TV, which it eventually was just before the special was aired. But now it's finally here with all the episodes including the extremely 'controversial' new episode, so it's worth it.
Morris brilliantly satirises news programs, similarly to the Day Today. I once fooled someone into thinking the Day Today was actually the news, and they were quite worried, but that's how accurate it is. However, I think Brass Eye is much better than the Day Today, which is a huge compliment believe me. It is quite amazing to watch as celebrities are fooled into saying the most ridiculous things without questioning them. That's the part of Brass Eye that is most famous, but the rest of it is hilarious too.
The special episode is perhaps not quite as funny as the others, but I think the satire in it is the most effective. It was aired just as I...[was] getting fed up with the way tabloid papers dealt with paedophile stories, and sends up the coverage of such stories brilliantly....It was quite funny to see the papers the day after it was shown, as they reacted in exactly the way that Morris had ridiculed.
Anyway, I imagine there will be much focussing on the special episode, but the other episodes are all classics too. Such classic moments include the (fictional) drug Cake ("he thought he had a month to cross the street"), which Morris manages to get mentioned in parliament, "Bury the beds!", smoking cannabis through a dog, "you're wrong, and you're a grotesquely ugly freak!", and many more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think somebody missed the point., 17 Jan 2007
By 
Primeval Mudd (London, England) - See all my reviews
TV current affairs programmes seem to have taken Brass Eye as an example of best practice, which makes this both scarier and funnier now than it was ten years ago.

The extras (such as they are) are a tad ropey but the programme itself is absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best comedy satire series ever, 27 Dec 2007
By 
Nicholas Wright "Nink Dwrite" (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Controversial, 'near the mark', sick...... Sound familliar to many other Channel 4 programmes broadcast over the channel's history? Well Brasseye is no different. Chris Morris' dark wit, coupled with a few unsuspecting celebrities, has created one of the deepest and cleverest satire TV shows in recent history.
In a time with 24hour news channels and shows such as crimewatch that try to scare the veiwer into believing some of the most ridiculous things; brasseye comes as a welcome break. Chris Morris, having outdone himself in the series, has inexplicably managed to point the finger at an overimaginative media and an oversensitive public alike. Takling issues such as Animal Cruelty, Drugs, Science, Decline and Sex, the programme immediately lends itself to very 'sensitive' issues. The 2001 special on paedophiles - in my opinion is the best. Following soon after the murder of sarah payne, an over vigilant public had started accusing anyone of being a paedophile. On one occasion a peadeotrician had 'PAEDO' graffittid on to her car! The public and media both needed putting back in their place.

Channel 4 and Morris you have out done yourself. more programmes of this calibre need to be made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brass Eye [DVD] [1997]
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews