Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film by a master
Great cast.
Great story.
Great director.
Its engaging, funny, fast and violent. The only bad point would be Ray Winstones American accent....
Published 7 months ago by Carlos

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Grim
Good, I suppose if you like this kind of thing. Sorry if that sounds a bit tired but it's taken me two nights (with regular naps) to labour my way through the best part of three hours of guys cussing each other out and occasionally getting shot in the face. It was all a bit wearying.

I'm a fan of Scorsese from the 70s onwards and there's no question that he's...
Published on 3 July 2007 by Robert Machin


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film by a master, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Departed [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great cast.
Great story.
Great director.
Its engaging, funny, fast and violent. The only bad point would be Ray Winstones American accent....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bluparted, 1 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Departed [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Picture quality is fantastic - definitely worth upgrading from DVD. Jack Nicholson's wrinkles have never looked finer.

Special Features are:
- Additional Scenes With Introductions By Martin Scorsese.
- Stranger Than Fiction: The Story Of The Boston Mob.
- Crossing Criminal Cultures: How Little Italy's Crime And Violence Influence Scorsese's Work.
- Theatrical Trailer.

Other Information:
- English Subtitles: Feature Only.
- DTS 5.1 HD Master Audio.
- Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'd be a fool not to buy this., 11 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Departed [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant, brilliant film. Watched it 4 times since purchase less than a month ago and not got bored of it yet. Brilliant acting from a marquee cast, Damon, little Leo, wahlberg, sheen, Baldwin, to name a few along with the mighty Jack Nicholson. Certainly one of the best films I've seen, love the Irish mob crime theme set in Boston. Accompanied by a fantastic soundtrack and diverse plot, the film took me on a tense roller coaster following the opposite sides trying to snuff one another out. Not to be looked past!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another reason why Scorsese is the best, 17 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Departed (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a masterpiece! I personally feel this is Scorsese's best work, however, only just. Scorsese really is a movie magician, he really knows how to capture the story and deliver it perfectly. The direction and visuals throughout are fantastic.

Now, lets not give all the praise solely to Scorsese here, because Leonardo DiCaprio...outstanding. This and Wolf of Wall Street are by far his best performances, however, i feel his performance in the Departed it just a touch superior due to the emotional and lonely side of the character that he plays flawlessly.

It would be rude not to say that everyone in this film acted very well. Jack Nicholson put on yet another great performance which is definitely worth mentioning. This applies for Matt Damon as well...just an overall great cast.

The story in this film is based off the film "Infernal Affairs", and what a story it is. The plot twists and the pace of the story keep it incredibly entertaining. I really feel that this may be one of the best movie plots ever, the story just works so well and flows perfectly.

It really did win four Oscars for a reason...Well Done Scorsese!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top class film, 26 Oct 2008
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
OK so this isn't quite up there with Scorsese's greatest work (Mean Streets, Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, The King of Comedy and Goodfellas) but its film-making in a different class from most of what comes out of Hollywood today. It doesn't quite deserve five stars in my view.

A cracking cast, all give fine performances. This is certainly the best thing I've seen Leonardo Decaprio do, by quite a margin. Jack Nicolson is in top form and there are some good smaller roles for both Martin Sheen and Alec Baldwin. Scorcese directs with the pace and panache that you've come to expect from the director of the five classics above.

It is a remake of the Hong Kong movie "Infernal Affairs", and Scorcese gives full credit to that movie in the credits. Many of the classics Scorcese directed above were influenced by earlier films (see The Public Enemy 1931 as a good example).

This is a hugely entertaining film and strongley recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a mob film for women, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Departed (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
um... always thought that this is the best dicaprio has ever been cast as. he emotes the hell out of this character. the rest of the ensemble is great too. i love the editing and the cinematography. it develops a fluid style that occasionally almost seems to float the film, it sort of loses anchoring in chronology, which is disorienting but also amazing to me.

i also rarely feel the plot crunching to get into gear, i like how howard shore interpreted the main theme as a dance. it sorta fits.

there is A LOT of swearing but personally that's ok with me. i like how the script amps up the fatherlessness of the two leads. and i like how it comments on the inherent machismo of the mob and the police. in a way that makes it a mob film for women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gangster Film, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Departed [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A brilliant cat and mouse story, full of heart stopping moments, acting on all characters was excellent. This is one I can watch over and over because of the great storyline that does not end nice and neatly but more like it would be in a real life scenario.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A 100 Word Review, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Departed (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
The Departed is a modern day gangster epic by widely acclaimed director Martin Scorsese. Whilst this movie was the one that the director won an Oscar for, it is arguable whether it is his masterpiece. It has a fast moving plot, polished violence and a special mention to Jack Nicholson for playing a wonderfully devious Mafioso. However, unlike many of his other films, it is difficult to sympathize with a character, although some people believe this to be a part of the experience, it is nice to have a main actor that the audience roots for. Good movie, possible buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Grim, 3 July 2007
By 
Robert Machin (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Departed (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
Good, I suppose if you like this kind of thing. Sorry if that sounds a bit tired but it's taken me two nights (with regular naps) to labour my way through the best part of three hours of guys cussing each other out and occasionally getting shot in the face. It was all a bit wearying.

I'm a fan of Scorsese from the 70s onwards and there's no question that he's made some great movies - Goodfellas and Casino would be my (not very controversial) picks of a pretty good bunch - but is it just me that finds it all a bit by numbers these days? Nasty men - check. Bad language - check and (insert cuss word) check again. Periodic megaviolence, with plenty of red sauce spread around - absolutely. Spurious Catholic iconography - yup, all in place.

This stuff has been Scorsese's stock in trade for years of course, and whenever one of his side ventures - the woeful Aviator and the dead-on-arrival Gangs of New York for example - flops (and they did flop, regardless of awards) he retreats back to his comfort zone of bad - but hey, deeply troubled - guys with big handguns and limited vocabulary (is there something you need to talk about, Marty?). This didn't matter a bit of course when the films had the amoral but highly enjoyable sparkle and flash of the aforementioned Goodfellas and Casino, but unfortunately The Departed offers none of that. It's just damn bleak and airless, maybe drawing on the superior US cop dramas like The Wire and The Shield (which have arguably left Scorsese's world behind) as much as its Hong Kong source, and reeking of well-past-its-use-by-date testosterone. This is a man's, man's world and boy, does it need a Sharon Stone to liven it up. Or any women of significance in fact. Apart from the shrink the only women in the entire flick are 2D hookers and prawn actresses - at times, this really is locker room stuff (that bit with Jack Nicholson in the cinema with the rubber prosthetic - did I dream that or was it really in the film?). Vera Fermiga is good, but she's a token - and incidentally quite unbelievable - plot device with nothing of significance to do.

It all comes down to Scorsese in the end. The performances are good and sometimes great - diCaprio is an absolute revelation (to me anyway), giving a truly astonishing portrait of loneliness and isolation and the stress which that breeds. This movie's saving grace in fact. Jack Nicholson's performance is better than the 'Just Jack' schtick which others have described, Matt Damon plays his part with blockish, blokeish aplomb, our own Ray Winstone was pretty good I thought. The script does the job. It's just all bit grim and joyless. Not what you'd call a date movie.

I just remembered - this won four Oscars? You're, uh, kidding me, right?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laid back excellence, 12 Jun 2007
By 
C. O'toole "bigcon" (co. down N ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Departed (2006) [DVD] (DVD)
Much as I admire Martin Scorcese's serious earnest soul wrenching films such as "Raging Bull" "Taxi Driver" and the more recent "Gangs of New York" all well intentioned films made with passion and near misses for the much covetted....Oscar!

No doubt it is heresy that our Marty didn't bag one of the blighters but It's ironic that he earned it for this most un-oscar like film. This film rips along as if he was making it up each day(even though it's a remake of a Hong Kong one)It's real strengths lie in its cast and it's bloody amazing even though it should't be!

Marty has cut to the chase,he has a fantastic cast all of whom must be working for a cut fee or else he wouldn't make a penny I mean Matt Damon, Leo DiCaprio, Mark Wahlberg, Martin Sheen, Ray Winston, Jack Nicholson and Alec Baldwin. The man has earned his dues and the stars line up to work with him. He has taken this sublime cast and played loose.

he story is set in South Boston where Frank Costello(Nicholson) is a major crime boss who grooms his boy Colin Sullivan(Damon) to be a mole in the Boston Police Department. Straight cop William Costigan(Di Caprio) works for Sheen and Wahlberg in undercover infiltrating Costello's gang. We now have a game of cat and mouse as dicario must evade detection as Costello is made aware of a mole in his crew by damon. Oh and there's a common love interest for the two cops just to sauce it up a bit.

The film looks as though made on the hoof, whilst the younger actors play with "Heat" type precision mad Jack plays it like the Joker on speed, sometimes I'm not even sure if he's in the right film. As he gestures to Leo DiCaprio's undercover cop Billy Costigan and waves a dismembered hand at him, it's somehow more theatrical than scary. As he attends the opera with his woman and a dark beauty I half expect Bruce Wayne to show up.

Credit must go to DiCaprio who blows away any vestige of his pin up self with a blistering performance of a man on the edge, Damon plumbs new icy depths as All American exterior belying much darker intentions.Baldwin gives his usual excellent cameo appearance as a bloated fast living cop. This is all cooked up in a delicious stew of Irish Catholicism..Marty being the eternal Lapse Catholic with all the guilt that that entails. as usual the music is excellent using "Gimme Shelter" in the opening 60s scenes. This is mixed with "oirish" type "Top o the mornin' to ya" as well as reliable old goat Van the man doing a great version of"Comfortably Numb" with Roger Waters. This is a ripping good film which bagged the man an oscar and about time too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Departed [Blu-ray]
The Departed [Blu-ray] by Martin Scorsese (Blu-ray - 2007)
£10.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews