Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hathis game gets the medal of honour
i always had this is my sights, and had my expectations, and they didnt let me down either, it was beter than i imagined. the cut scenes are nothing special but they dont need to be, its the gameplay youll see most of, it realy feels like the frontlines in world war 2
great combat manouvers like taking cover behind sand bags, leaning agaisnt a wall, and shooting...
Published on 15 Feb 2008 by Daniel Davies

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good but Frustrating....
I think i'll run down through the major points of the game to make it easier, as there is a fair bit to explain...

Graphics: As would be expected with the DS, the graphics aren't great compared to any other platforms. However, compared to other ds games they aren't bad. It is quite pixelated, but pretty much as you would expect from this console...
Published on 12 July 2008 by Mr. Tolstoy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hathis game gets the medal of honour, 15 Feb 2008
By 
Daniel Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brothers in Arms (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
i always had this is my sights, and had my expectations, and they didnt let me down either, it was beter than i imagined. the cut scenes are nothing special but they dont need to be, its the gameplay youll see most of, it realy feels like the frontlines in world war 2
great combat manouvers like taking cover behind sand bags, leaning agaisnt a wall, and shooting around it, great aiming with use of stylus. nice objectives. and great use of diffrent weapons and vehicles.
the graphics wernt to mind blowing, but they hardly bothred you. the touch screen it given as much use as possible, and is easy to use.
and wen youve complted it, you just want to have another go to finish the given achievments in teh main menu, like completeing the game or teh difrent sections on a harder dificulty.
also, soemthing i didnt expect at all, and what made me very happy was. UNLOCKABLES
wen i completed teh game i was very happy to find, a new difficulty setting and that when i played again from teh first level, i was equipped with 2 more weapons, i hadnt even seen the first time around.
its worth every penny, its a must have for any fan of war games and 3rd person shooters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 18 Oct 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brothers in Arms (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
A marvel on the DS. The soundtrack and graphics are amazing and the controls are spot on. My only complaints would be that the game was too easy and it doesn't develop the characters or add any depth to the missions. But the presentation and shear amount of action available surely makes this one of the best games on the DS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game for DS, 4 July 2007
By 
Mr. S. D. Selbie "Steve Selbie" (Huddersfield U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brothers in Arms (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
when I first looked at this game, I thought that it would be a good war game but it wouldn't use the stylus enough . But I was pleasently surprised because this game uses the stylus loads, it is used to throw grenades, reload your gun, get a better aim and to interact with with machine guns and tanks. The only downfall is that the graphics aren't great and you go through it a bit quick. Overall this game is great for the DS and a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good but Frustrating...., 12 July 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brothers in Arms (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I think i'll run down through the major points of the game to make it easier, as there is a fair bit to explain...

Graphics: As would be expected with the DS, the graphics aren't great compared to any other platforms. However, compared to other ds games they aren't bad. It is quite pixelated, but pretty much as you would expect from this console.

Gameplay: Quite good really. You use the stylus to aim, which is very easy, and you can change the control settings to be more suitable for lefties if you want. The game is in thir person view, which is quite qell done. Enemies are quite well rendered and put down a lot of fire, not that you die very quickly but ah well. It uses the same health system as the Call of Duty series, that is you take damage but it goes away after a bit.

Sound: Very tinny, not great to be honest, but then it is working with very small speakers.

Levels: Varied. Very good tutorial at the start, if a little boring. Levels vary from the mind-numbingly repetitive to the qite engaging and rather amusing to the ridiculous. There are too many points on many of the levels wereyou cannot advance, and consistantly die in the same place, then respawn and do it again. Random, unavoidable explosions are a serious pain, along with unseen enemies or just really hard sections, and they very much reduce the levels to a slog through random, computer-generated deaths.

Weapons/Unlocks/Difficulties: At first you complete the campaign on normal difficulty, and can complete missions in any order you like. After you have done the level you unlock vetrean difficulty, and once you have done an entire campiagn on one difficulty you unlock new weapons and tanks.
The weapons themselves are fairly well done, putting down good fire, hampered by bad sound but I have already mentioned that. They are, in most cases, fairly realistic.

So, all in all, a relatively good game, not great and hampered by some annoying little things, but still a very good game for the DS market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tme killer, 2 April 2008
By 
Munkstar (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brothers in Arms (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Great effort for the format on the DS. The use of both screens 'ish' and gameplay that has a touch of frustration (you get killed unless you get it right!) helps greatly. A bit 'samey' in the actions and gameplay you can carry out, but enough difference per sequence to make it a 4-Star game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one fantastic game, 1 Nov 2008
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brothers in Arms (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a really good game for ds the graphics are good (for the ds) and the controls are excellent. As soon as I saw it I knew it would be great. It has 12 levels all set in real world war 2 circumstances. It is a fantastic game and any boy ds owner should get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As good as it seems?, 12 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. S. A. Hereward "Satish" (UK Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Brothers in Arms (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Graphically - don't expect too much, it's the way you play it that's original. You use your stylus much like a mouse or the analoguge stick on the PSP.
The reason why I give it three stars is because it's really hard to hold the DS and use the stylus at the same time. The best way to play is by leaning on a table. Sadly the DS lite doesn't give the user the thumb strap like the original DS. This is the problem that makes game-play too hard. If the game came with one I would definitley give it five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brothers in Arms (Nintendo DS)
Brothers in Arms (Nintendo DS) by Ubisoft (Nintendo DS)
Used & New from: £0.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews