Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent debut
Lots of Smashing Pumpkins comparisons for Silversun Pickups which are valid but the mix of fuzzy basslines, honeysweet vocals and just the right amount of guitar makes this album a joy and a bit of a dark horse. There is a fair amount of variety across the 11 tracks and whilst Smashing Pumpkins spring to mind quickly, scratch the surface and other influences and styles...
Published on 1 July 2007 by jaf

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok
This album definitely has potential.

The guitars are decent and there are some decent moments in the album.

It sets a good atmosphere.

However, all of the tunes only rate as a 6/7 out of 10.

They are ok but not amazing. Definitely worth a listen though.
Published on 5 July 2007 by Vanman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent debut, 1 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Carnavas [Int'L Only Release] (Audio CD)
Lots of Smashing Pumpkins comparisons for Silversun Pickups which are valid but the mix of fuzzy basslines, honeysweet vocals and just the right amount of guitar makes this album a joy and a bit of a dark horse. There is a fair amount of variety across the 11 tracks and whilst Smashing Pumpkins spring to mind quickly, scratch the surface and other influences and styles are evident.

For me, there are three absolute standout tracks. The awesome Lazy Eye, built around a driving bassline and layered guitars with a stretched vocal, built to a crescendo then brought back under control. Just an excellent 6 minutes that will reverberate around your mind once you have heard it. Little Lover's So Polite fizzes with fuzz and drips with decadence but underneath it all is a simple pop song. The closer Common Reactor is the third standout track, again a great pop song given a quirky twist.

Silversun Pickups may not be the most original band you will ever hear, but what they do, they do very very well and apparently with great sincerity.

If you are a fan of Smashing Pumpkins, Buffalo Tom, MBV, or anything similar, this record merits further investigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silver suns, 15 July 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carnavas [Int'L Only Release] (Audio CD)
The Silversun Pickups are definitely classic-grunge revivalists -- much of the time, they sound like gauze-wrapped version of a very solid grunge band. With those nice grimy, twisty riffs, "Carnavas" is a nice, rockin' little debut album with some pleasant creative moments.

It opens with the buzzing basslines and choral voices of "Melatonin," buzzing and murmuring through a moderately epic melody. "She ran into the wall/so sweet and unknown/a worn comatose," Brian Aubert croons in a high, mellow voice that sounds pleasantly Billy Corganish.

But things get harder with the sizzling smash-it-down quality of "Well Thought Out Twinkies," blasting thunderbass over a bed of solid drums. From there, they dabble in other grungey styles -- grimy slow-burners, elusively shimmery rockers, and even a catchy, relatively mellow guitar-pop song or two.

It's easy to compare the Silversun Pickups to the Smashing Pumpkins, but they don't really sound too much like them (especially since there's no "wall of bass" sound here). Their music has a solidarity of its own, and there are moments that hint at future expansion -- epic riffs, the interplay of the instruments, and the haunted air of the whole thing.

Musically, it has some good tight rock rhythms -- sprawling, gauzy, dirty riffs and roiling basslines, paired with smashing drums and a sublte interplay of keyboard and riffs. But some songs dispense with the bass for the time being, and use ethereal, fragile-sounding synth waves instead.

Aubert has a nice, smooth voice that is has a pleasantly androgynous sound, and he never gets buried in the solid rock sound here. The lyrics do need work, though -- they tend to be rather simplistic ("and it feels just like the ground/and trapped in another way/just still in the ground"), and could use a more refinement.

The Silversun Pickups are still rough in "Carnavas," but they show some good musical skills and plenty of promise. Solid full-length debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Melodic Grunge Revivalists, 25 Jan 2008
By 
Christopher Hunter "cjhunter2001uk" (Farnham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carnavas [Int'L Only Release] (Audio CD)
Ah yes, this is my `alternative' American indie rock album of the 2007. Silversun Pickups come from Los Angeles and have delivered the best guitar noise album of the year by miles. Like a more melodic and less annoying `Smashing Pumpkins', Carnavas is a great record. It's very powerful, kicks some dust and actually has something to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the best release of the year, 13 Sep 2007
By 
S. Tual "s" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carnavas [Int'L Only Release] (Audio CD)
Remember the days when you had a 'favorite band' and listening to their new release was genuinely exciting? Well the SSPUs brought that feeling back to me. You're still reading this review? You should be buying this CD now (I see it's priced 5,97, a steal!). Heck, buy 2 and give one away!

The energy and creativity coming out of this band is simply phenomenal. I've seen them 4 times live and they just outdo themselves each and every time, if that's even possible. They're simply out of this world, and Carnavas is their strongest release to date.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly good, 25 Sep 2007
By 
B. Twomey (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carnavas [Int'L Only Release] (Audio CD)
As usual I ordered the CD on the strength of one single I'd heard on 6music a few times. A lot of the times I do this I'm rewarded by patchy albums with one or two decent songs. This isn't the case with Carnavas - it's a quality album right from start to finish.

The influences are plain to see - from Smashing Pumpkins to Modest Mouse to the grunge bands of the early nineties - but with the seam of quality songwriting and fantastic musicianship running through the CD you can forgive a little derivation.

Well worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really good album, 12 Sep 2007
By 
Jane (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carnavas [Int'L Only Release] (Audio CD)
I bought this having only heard 1 track 'Little Lover's so Polite' and am now playing it all the time. The other tracks I think are really good are 'Well Thought out Twinkles' 'Future Foe Scenarios' and 'Lazy Eye'. I wasn't all that sure on the first listen but the good tracks kind of get into your brain and get better and better. I'm surprised it hasn't had more publicity as I think this band have loads of potential. Best played really loud!
(don't know why I keep getting this thing about 'voting buttons' on my reviews - I didn't write it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 7 Sep 2007
By 
P. VINCE (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carnavas [Int'L Only Release] (Audio CD)
I realy like this album it is realy fresh and inventive and displays a lot of musical competancy. The drums and bass are realy tight in a way that reminds me of placebos first album and the melodys are realy nice. It inspires an emotional response for me which a lot of music nowadays doesn't (perhaps I'm getting old and jaded)for the price here you can't go wrong. A very immpresive first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 22 Aug 2007
This review is from: Carnavas [Int'L Only Release] (Audio CD)
Sort of reminds me of the Pixies a bit and the hooks and melodies aren't always apparent at first listen - which is good because the more you listen the better it gets.

Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the new shoegaze-grunge revival starts here!, 30 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. S. G. Chatterton "evol-i" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carnavas [Us Import] (Audio CD)
where to start? easily my album of the year, it mixes great stoner fuzz riffs with buzzing electro sweeps and feedback sonic youth would give their dentures for, along with sweet tunes reminiscent of pumpkins, my bloody valentine and QOSTA, most importantly they aren't afraid of writing a decent tune! The interplay between the band is stunning on Future Foe Scenarios (with its addictive guitar riffs) and waste it on and out synthpop all the young pretenders on Little Lovers), simply if you love any of the bands mentioned this is indespensible. Checkout NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This band rocks!, 27 July 2006
By 
Ron Miller (Hermosa Beach ,CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carnavas [Us Import] (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to get a copy of this album a few weeks before the release. It is amazing ! There is not a bad song on it. The EP they released last summer ( Pikul ) was great, but this album is a thousand times better. I will be listening to it all summer. It should be a big success. If you are tired of the bogus 80's music revival and want to hear some old school 90's rock with a new flavor than this album will not disappoint. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carnavas [Int'L Only Release]
Carnavas [Int'L Only Release] by Silversun Pickups (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews