Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of RN
This DVD set gives a great overview of all the major events affecting the RN since its conception. It is easy to understand and done in such a way that it is interesting and keeps your attention. I bought it as I am in the process of joining the RN as an officer so wanted some background knowledge. I got all this and more from it and at a very reasonable price. Worth a...
Published on 16 Aug 2009 by Andrea Haggart

versus
28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My oh my,
As someone with very little knowledge concerning the History of the Royal Navy, you would think you would be hard pushed to find a DVD titled 'History of the Royal Navy', watch it, and still know little more.

The briefness is quite outstanding, it's cheaply made, and I can't really figure out the intended audience.

Conclusion:

Far to brief...
Published on 5 Feb 2010 by Mr. B. Balcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of RN, 16 Aug 2009
By 
Andrea Haggart (Liverpool / Peterhead) - See all my reviews
This review is from: History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD set gives a great overview of all the major events affecting the RN since its conception. It is easy to understand and done in such a way that it is interesting and keeps your attention. I bought it as I am in the process of joining the RN as an officer so wanted some background knowledge. I got all this and more from it and at a very reasonable price. Worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars My oh my,, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. B. Balcombe (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
As someone with very little knowledge concerning the History of the Royal Navy, you would think you would be hard pushed to find a DVD titled 'History of the Royal Navy', watch it, and still know little more.

The briefness is quite outstanding, it's cheaply made, and I can't really figure out the intended audience.

Conclusion:

Far to brief to be of any use to anyone.
Obviously made on a supremely low budget.

Alternative:

Empire of the Seas: How the Navy Forged the Modern World by the BBC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History of the Royal Navy, 1 May 2009
By 
T. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
A good, comprehensive history of the Royal Navy. It could have gone into more detail on certain aspects and the American narration is very annoying.History Of The Royal Navy [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars American voice over, you must be joking, 26 Dec 2010
By 
R. G. Gray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Why why why put an annoying American narrator on a ROYAL Navy DVD completely ruined by this obvious error in judgement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 11 April 2013
By 
Mrs. P. A. Jones "annabout" (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this as a present for my husband. He was very pleased with the set and will watch them a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good present, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a present to a family member who likes it very much as the subject interests him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Royal Navy History, 13 Jan 2014
By 
D. Bennett "Traumadoc" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Highly Recommended for former RN / RM personnel and also Historians. Very enjoyable few hours watching these DVDs seeing
some of the great ships, sadly now scrapped thanks to the MOD!. We can still hold all our good memories in these DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not what it says on the tin, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This product (or at least the copy sent to me) did not contain what the advertising said it contained, about the recent history of the Royal Navy - only covered earlier times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but lacking a lot of detail., 18 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen a significant portion of this documentary on the History Channel I went in knowing full well what to expect. The box set does what it says on the tin. It gives an account of the History of the Royal Navy. Being far from an expert on this I couldn't however comment on the substance of this show. Although having now had exposure to another documentary on the Royal Navy - "Empire of the Seas" by Dan Snow - I can say that HOTRN does cut a lot of (quite important) information. On the whole though, it's still very much worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my dad as he is ex Navy and enjoys everything past and present on the Roal Navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD]
History of the Royal Navy (3-Disc Box Set) [DVD] by History of the Royal Navy (DVD - 2007)
£4.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews