Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The famous soundtrack
Soundtrack albums have always been something of a problem - either they stick closely to the movie (as they originally did), presenting a lot of music that makes no sense outside the context of the movie, or (as generally happens now) they gather together a collection of music that has little connection with the movie, except that bits of each song can be heard in the...
Published on 16 April 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Purists Only
This is one of those albums with which everyone became obsessed. Such albums include Michael Jackon's Thriller. Sorry, but that album has some really weak tracks (a Paul McCartney duet!?) and you end up thinking that while many of the tracks are stunning; but not the entire album.

The same is to be said here: They trail off very badly towards the end, almost as...
Published on 31 Mar 2010 by M. Needham


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 6 Dec 2010
By 
G. Kirby (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturday Night Fever - The Original Movie Sound Track (Audio CD)
What more needs to be said? The film itself may not have been that great but the music stands the test of time. I defy anyone to not get up and strut their stuff when any of the Bee Gees music starts to play. Of course there are other great tracks not least of which 'Night on Disco Mountain' plus many others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a must have, 4 July 2010
By 
M. C. Slade "BathRugby" (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saturday Night Fever - The Original Movie Sound Track (Audio CD)
It's definitely a must-have for everybody who was between the ages of 12 and 42 in the mid seventies. I was at the lower end of that spectrum but the songs of this great album pervaded the airwaves everywhere one went in '77 and '78. I remember listening to Yvonne Elliman's If I Can't Have You on the coach radio on a school trip to Brecon, just as I remember hearing Tavares' version of More Than A Woman on a trip to Weymouth Speedway in the school holidays!

My only wish is that these songs were presented in the order that they appear in the film. As an aficionado of the film I think it adds a bit more authenticity to the soundtrack when one can place the songs chronologically in ones mind whilst listening to it, rather than flitting backwards and forwards between scenes.

"I love to watch you dance. I LOVE to watch you dance!" So many lines such as this one evoke great memories for me, of a film that (lest we forget) Siskel and Ebert thought was as good as I did. Now that's some testimony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone must have a copy...., 11 April 2010
By 
Dennis King "sport sinned" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saturday Night Fever - The Original Movie Sound Track (Audio CD)
Great album. Sounds fantastic. Quite a bit of dross on the album, but the good tracks make up for that. I will guarantee that this album will get people dancing and singing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Purists Only, 31 Mar 2010
By 
This is one of those albums with which everyone became obsessed. Such albums include Michael Jackon's Thriller. Sorry, but that album has some really weak tracks (a Paul McCartney duet!?) and you end up thinking that while many of the tracks are stunning; but not the entire album.

The same is to be said here: They trail off very badly towards the end, almost as if the producers thought, 'well, we'd better put something in'. The Bee Gee tracks are now deserving standards but the electronic Disco Mountain and others are tired and tiring.

A bit like the film, this is misunderstood. The film was not a chick-flick about singing 'chick-tracks' into hairbrushes and boogying the night away hen-party style but a raw, aggressive critique of post-teen, young male adults struggling in New York. The film is hard work but extremely good; this album becomes hard work and occassionally very good.

In the end, the album feels overly extended with some really poor fillers at the end (even by 1970 standards) which really does no justice to the film or the really stunning start. If you were there in the 70s disoes, you'll have some fond memories of that era, but there are many more 70s albums that have worn better.

Some of this is cultural history (and worth having for that) but some poor tracks worth leaving behind - and out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saturday Night Fever, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Get your white suit and boogie shoes on for a disco delight. Dance around the living room re-living the 1970's in all its glory. The unmistakable sound of the Bee Gees with some of their most memorable songs. All of the tracks on the cd are easy to listen to and you will want to play them time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest albums ever produced, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the finest albums ever produced. Always used this at the office parties to get people up on the floor dancing. Music that will never die much like the good stuff of years ago. Of course the Bee Gees were superb artists producing some of the most melodic pieces of music of all time, but only dear Barry still with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential disco album, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the songs on this album for years, just never owned the album. I think there's only one or two songs that I skip. Otherwise, it evokes a lot of dancing and singing (when no one is looking) and hilarious memories of a young John Travolta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the disco era, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturday Night Fever - The Original Movie Sound Track (Audio CD)
fabulous soundtrack, great memories came flooding back.

Have this on in the car full blast! Recommend a trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disco tastic, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have never seen the film but was inspired by the bargain price and was not disappointed! Mostly Beegees songs but other disco hits as well, inspired to see the film now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews