Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent protected lock
Bought this for my parents' house. A little more expensive but definitely well worth it. The normal lock we used to use for the shed keep rusting away from exposure to the atmosphere and becoming ever increasingly difficult to open so this is the ideal replacement. 6 months on this does not even show a bit of rust so it is well protected and will last for many years to...
Published on 19 Sept. 2011 by Andy Lau

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed.
The padlock itself appears to be very well made and durable. Something you would expect from a manufacturer like Abus. The problem lies with the shackle protective sheath. As you can see from the photos this became detached therefore it is only a matter of time before water gets in and the metal rusts and seizes. This damage occurred after just 2 days use I might add! I...
Published 6 months ago by Dan


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One year and still easy to open, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABUS 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
I have this locking my shed door and it sits in the open and gets battered by the rain.

I ordered this over a year ago after my old padlock rusted up. I used to have to beat the lock a few times with a block of wood before it would open, and when my shed window cracked I ordered this lock.

The lock seals well with its rubbery seals doing a good job of keeping the water at bay.

It is smooth to operate after a year and I would gladly buy another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rust free, 27 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABUS 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
These are excellent. I bought some awful ones from B and Q which rusted after a few months. I returned them and bought these. They work well and remain in good condition after a good few months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Dec. 2013
By 
A. D. Wilson "Alan Wilson" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABUS 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
Looks strong & weather-proof: the hasp opening is small (20mm wide x 25mm high), but there is a long shaft one if needed. Definitely looks weather-proof, but with a stainless steel hasp going into a brass body, I'm not totally convinced about use in a marine environment, where it will be splashed with salt water. That's what I need it for, so we'll see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rustfree - Even after a good few, rainy months!, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABUS 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
Very strong, robust. Have used these for a few months now, and not one sign of rust appearing! And better still. the key slots right in, even after the padlock being exposed to heavy rain for a number of months! Highly recommended! Already bought a few to kept as spare for other uses. Don't get put off by the price. What you pay for is what you get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top quality, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABUS 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
From the pictures, it may look a lot like the cheap imitations available for half the price. However, the quality materials and finish make it well worth the extra.

For a start, it is brass, not steel so water shouldn't be a problem. In fact, I suspect the blue rubber jacket is more for show than anything else. Anyway, it just keeps working, even after days in the pouring rain. If you've tried the others and they've failed, this really is worth a go. It's in a different league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So far,so good., 25 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABUS 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
Have used for several weeks now and shows no sign of corrosion although it is summer now and the weather is very dry.Time and winter will tell! Only slight problem with the lock appears to be the pressure it takes to lock it.I have no problem but someone with weak wrists might struggle....but then it could be just mine that needs a firm grip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Rust Free Padlock, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABUS 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
After purchasing a number of padlocks that were great for the first couple of months and then went rusty so they were hard to open / unlock, I have since changed them all to the Aquasafe non corrosive padlock. They are, in a word, a dream to open and close and are completely rust free. I highly recommend this product for gates and shed doors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good lock, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABUS 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
Had this lock for a while now after the previous so called waterproof lock decided to seize up. This lock has been out in really bad rain and cold weather on the lock of my shed and shows no signs of seizing or breaking in any way, so would definitely recommend this for a shed or anything outdoors, its not going to break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth operating with added security of locking on both sides, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABUS 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
Purchased this lock to replace combo one that jammed frequently. After a few months it is as new with lovely smooth operation and no hint of corrosion despite being soaked most of the time. It came in blue (not like the picture) with 2 keys. Packaging was terrible to get into which was annoying but overall I'm happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robust and easy to unlock, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABUS 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
I have had a few "outdoor" padlocks of this nature in the past few years but this one has already impressed me. It has a very easy to turn lock in the bottom, and the key slides in without much force. Overall, it is an easy to unlock padlock, not "tight" and "clunky" like some outdoor padlocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews