Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent protected lock
Bought this for my parents' house. A little more expensive but definitely well worth it. The normal lock we used to use for the shed keep rusting away from exposure to the atmosphere and becoming ever increasingly difficult to open so this is the ideal replacement. 6 months on this does not even show a bit of rust so it is well protected and will last for many years to...
Published on 19 Sep 2011 by Andy Lau

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Key metal is too soft, and the lock doesn't close normally after a while
Two main problems:
1) The metal of the key is too soft and bends easily, sometimes the key doesn't fit in the lock and you need to bend it hither and thither to make it work.
2) After about a year of regular use the lock has stopped locking properly. Now to lock I need to hammer it on something hard, otherwise it doesn't close. Surprisingly enough it still opens...
Published 21 months ago by Alex


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent protected lock, 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: Abus 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
Bought this for my parents' house. A little more expensive but definitely well worth it. The normal lock we used to use for the shed keep rusting away from exposure to the atmosphere and becoming ever increasingly difficult to open so this is the ideal replacement. 6 months on this does not even show a bit of rust so it is well protected and will last for many years to come. Would definitely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the extra cost over a normal padlock, 20 Jun 2012
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
This non-corrosive padlock has been in permanent outdoor use for several very wet months now, and it seems no different now to the day it arrived. Its predecessor (a cheaper one from a different manufacturer) DID corrode and became extremely difficult to lock and unlock, but this one seems immune to the elements. It doesn't require significant force or strength to open or close, so it's child-friendly too. Comes with two keys. Solid, durable, well-made and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
Looks quite robust. Places where water can enter into the padlock are well plugged in, so I'd say it is quite well water tight and I wouldn't expect it to rust any time soon.
Its not the biggest padlock around but for what it is, I believe its quite safe.
highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After 12 months it’s still as good as the day I bought it, 17 Oct 2014
By 
Chris M (York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
I bought this padlock 12 months ago to secure a gate in our garden after my previous supposedly rust-proof padlock ended up showing signs of rust within 6 months and then after just over a year began to seize and needed replacing.

A year later I'm happy to say that this padlock is well and truly standing the test of time; there are absolutely no signs of rust or wear and the lock is still as easy to open and close as it was the day I bought it.

Very happy with this lock, it feels very well made, has a real solid feel to it and genuinely is weather proof!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the premium **Update**, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Dabbler (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
I was looking for something to secure a Garage door, the previous lock had failed after a couple of years of typical British weather. It just wouldn't lock any more.

This is a quality item, heavy and protected by plastic in all the right places, so far it's only been installed for a few weeks so I'll just have to wait a few years to really be able to gauge the long term reliability.

It looks promising so far.

**Still working well after a very wet Winter 1 year on**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Padlock, 18 Oct 2014
By 
Antoine Camilleri - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Abus 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
Great value well made padlock. I have a couple of these mounted outdoors, rain or shine, for over a year now and they still are doing the business well. One of them is used to secure an outboard marine engine. I did prep the one intended for marine using anti corrosion spray prior to exposing to the elements.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Key metal is too soft, and the lock doesn't close normally after a while, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
Two main problems:
1) The metal of the key is too soft and bends easily, sometimes the key doesn't fit in the lock and you need to bend it hither and thither to make it work.
2) After about a year of regular use the lock has stopped locking properly. Now to lock I need to hammer it on something hard, otherwise it doesn't close. Surprisingly enough it still opens easily though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rust free, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
These are excellent. I bought some awful ones from B and Q which rusted after a few months. I returned them and bought these. They work well and remain in good condition after a good few months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rustfree - Even after a good few, rainy months!, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
Very strong, robust. Have used these for a few months now, and not one sign of rust appearing! And better still. the key slots right in, even after the padlock being exposed to heavy rain for a number of months! Highly recommended! Already bought a few to kept as spare for other uses. Don't get put off by the price. What you pay for is what you get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top quality, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus 70IB/45 Aquasafe Padlock, Non-Corrosive (DIY & Tools)
From the pictures, it may look a lot like the cheap imitations available for half the price. However, the quality materials and finish make it well worth the extra.

For a start, it is brass, not steel so water shouldn't be a problem. In fact, I suspect the blue rubber jacket is more for show than anything else. Anyway, it just keeps working, even after days in the pouring rain. If you've tried the others and they've failed, this really is worth a go. It's in a different league.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews