Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A show this BIG deserves the full treatment!
The year was 1968 and producer Irwin Allen had already taken TV viewers on a "Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea," gotten them "Lost in Space," and thrown them through "The Time Tunnel." He decided that it was time now to go a journey to a "Land of the Giants."

Fans and critics alike feel that Allen was influenced by the respective films "Dr. Cyclops" (1940) and...
Published on 21 Jun 2008 by Reginald D. Garrard

versus
3 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Long past it's view-by date
I saw the series as a kid, and had fond memories. I watched the first two episodes of this unimaginative pastiche and gave up. You will too.
Published on 26 Jun 2012 by N. Tuson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A show this BIG deserves the full treatment!, 21 Jun 2008
By 
Reginald D. Garrard "the G-man" (Camilla, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Land of Giants: Full Series [DVD] [1968] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The year was 1968 and producer Irwin Allen had already taken TV viewers on a "Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea," gotten them "Lost in Space," and thrown them through "The Time Tunnel." He decided that it was time now to go a journey to a "Land of the Giants."

Fans and critics alike feel that Allen was influenced by the respective films "Dr. Cyclops" (1940) and "The Incredible Shrinking Man" (1957) and that is a fair assessment. The show deals with the crew and passengers of a suborbital flight in the year 1983 that is somehow transported to a realm where they are "six inch oddities" in a land of gargantuan proportions. The setting allowed the creative staff to place the seven principal cast members in all sorts of situations/dangers, making for possibly Allen's most visually striking and "serious" endeavor. Though geared toward a young audience, the show occasionally showcased more adult themes than either of the producer's other three television efforts. Such change may have been the result of the influence of NBC's "Star Trek" which was in the last season of its three-year run when "Land of the Giants" debuted.

It also appears that some aspects of the show were more innovative than it was then perceived. One is in the casting. Don Marshall, who played co-pilot "Dan Erickson," was one of the few black Americans on network television with a pivotal role. The character was sometimes allowed to be the decision maker and shared close quarters with white female co-stars Deanna Lund ("Valerie") and Heather Young ("Betty"), something that was revolutionary in the late sixties-early seventies. Allen may not have considered that in his hiring of Marshall but it does elevate the actor to "trailblazer status."

Also, Young's real-life pregnancy was obvious in the second season, leading to speculation that her character and one of the male characters may have been doing more than just "struggling to survive." She was conveniently filmed standing behind other characters or with some prop hiding her "development" or she was conveniently absent from the story line altogether.

The "little people," as they were referred to by the inhabitants of this unusual realm, encountered friendly giants, sadistic giants, life-threatening balloon rides, hallucination-inducing mushrooms, mad scientists, diamond/jewelry thieves, as well as the usual assortment of "silver-suited" aliens common to Allen productions. The land in which the Earthlings found themselves was a police state, of sorts, and they found themselves relentlessly pursued by Inspector Kobick, well played by Kevin Hagen, a frequent performer in Allen productions.

Not only did the seven principals have to make their situation believable, they had to endure the physical challenge of running, climbing, and handling giant props and impressive set designs...and did the creative staff give them a lot with which to work. Some oversized objects included hydrants, cameras, a dog's leash, a menacing mop, test tubes, a hungry chicken, drains, a horse's rein, anything that the storyline imagined.

It is obvious that each of them, including the fifty-something Kurt Kaszner ("Commander Fitzhugh"), was in pretty good shape.

The show's production values included inspired casting in most episodes. There were actors that were in Allen's staple and they could be seen in all of the producer's series. These included John Carradine, Lee Meriweather, John Crawford, Warren Stevens, Nehemiah Persoff, Malachi Throne, Michael Ansara, Paul Fix, Jonathan Harris, and his future wife Sheila Matthews. In addition to those familiar faces, Oscar winners Broderick Crawford and Jack Albertson appear in one installment, respectively.

Boxers-turned-occasional actors Sugar Ray Robinson and Jerry Quarry find themselves featured as giants on the show, too.

Also, years before they hit it big in their signature roles, "Land of the Giants" showcased the efforts of future stars Susan Howard ("Dallas"), Vic Tayback ("Alice"), and Sam Elliott ("Lifeguard," "The Hulk," and the upcoming "The Golden Compass").

Even a certain Oscar-winning director by the name of Ron Howard pops up as a "special guest star" in one episode!

The nine-disc (four two-sided and a single) showcases the fifty-one installments with much better sound and picture than their original airings, a plus for an almost forty-year-old show. On the ninth disc are found insightful reflections from stars Gary Conway ("Steve"), Don Matheson ("Mark"), Lund, Marshall, and Stefan Arngrim ("Barry").

The Gold Key comic is a great addition, especially for those of us fortunate to have read one during its publication.

Besides the nifty carrying case, a true bonus is the addition of the UNAIRED original pilot, minus John William's outstanding score. Though the pilot featured the composer's music written for "Lost in Space," the revamped pilot, "The Crash," takes on a much more exciting dynamic with the music that he composed for the actual premiere episode.

Though it may not go down as one of the great shows of all time, "Land of the Giants" is still a remarkable bit of television production and this GIGANTIC compilation set does it justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome box set, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i absolutely love these classic box sets from Irwin Allen,
I highly recommend buying this as it will give you many hours of great enjoyment and this is so much better than watching reality tv rubbish or celebrity this and that, go on treat yourself to some classic tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watching this at the minute, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for myself and an 8 year old boy who loves it, it out a while now, I watched it growing up but really it's excel ant stuff, you will all enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of edition !, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't have words to describe what I feel about this amazing edition. One of the best in the market. Revelation Films is a fantastic editor. The picture is so beautiful and sharp ! If you're a fan of Irwin Allen productions, this set will bring you hours and hours of fantasy and joy ! Don't miss it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A return to my childhood, 26 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. Dm Jones (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved it as a kid and still do. Great packaging and presentation. Would be a great gift for christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars land of the giants, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i have enjoyed this box set it was a very good series that was produced and the actors played there parts well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy days!, 22 Jun 2012
I bought this collection as it had a huge impact on me as a child in the seventies. I wasn't disappointed watching it again all these years later. Yes, of course, it has dated, but it still retains its charm and whimsy and continues to amaze and entertain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great memories, 13 Aug 2014
The second season of the land of the giants is a must see to all fans for me it was Irwin Allens best series as I found lost in space relied to much on comedy and the time tunnel was dull in episodes with history lessons where giant's had a more of a fight for survival about the show with the characters risking their lives to save captive friends as to the second season my favourite episodes included the clones, pay the piper (which guest starred Dr smith from lost in space) and the deadly pawn where the little people became chess pieces on a giants chessboard -,it was a shame that the episodes in the late sixties cost so much to make as this was one of the main reasons it never got renewed for the third season which was going to be made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars little people, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was ordered by mistake but what a pleasure it was to view it. I never saw it when I was small but have thoroughly enjoyed the small stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I. Watched this when I was a kid, it was great then and it hasn't changed (a part me getting older).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Land of Giants: Full Series [DVD] [1968] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 117.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews