Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set
A ordinary kit for your Cordless Drill/Driver, I should have gone with the 70 piece or the 100 piece kit. But now I got what I paid for, the basics.
Published on 7 Jun 2010 by Svenna Jensen

versus
137 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably good set
I have used one of these sets for some time, so here is a review.

The wood and metal bits are pretty good, and they've proven themselves in jobs like kitchen fitting and carpentry. The metals bits are good on mild steel (brackets) and aluminium (uPVC window frames), although the set doesn't always have the needed size, an example being the pilot hole needed for...
Published on 22 Jan 2008 by Osman


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

137 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably good set, 22 Jan 2008
By 
Osman (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set (DIY & Tools)
I have used one of these sets for some time, so here is a review.

The wood and metal bits are pretty good, and they've proven themselves in jobs like kitchen fitting and carpentry. The metals bits are good on mild steel (brackets) and aluminium (uPVC window frames), although the set doesn't always have the needed size, an example being the pilot hole needed for the cutter used to make the tap hole on stainless steel sinks from that Swedish store. I usually use the smaller metal bits for creating pilot holes in timber for which they work well.

The masonry bits are quite poor, which to be fair is usual in this type of set, so don't expect them to last long. Carbide tipped bits, ideally on a SDS hammer are the best way to go if you anticipate lots of work on masonry.

The others items are quite useful, although not comprehensive. The magnetic bit holder is very good and the driver bits are ok, as is the countersink. The flat bits are very good, but again, the set may not have the size you need, an example being when fitting a door with a nightlatch I needed a larger bit.

In summary, you'll probably be able to take care of most drill jobs around the house with this set, but be aware that there's a good chance it won't have the bit you need.

A word of caution; be very careful when extracting the metal and wood bits from the case. The way they are stored means you have to grip the flute, which will mean a neat slice on the fingertips if you are careless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set, 7 Jun 2010
By 
Svenna Jensen (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set (DIY & Tools)
A ordinary kit for your Cordless Drill/Driver, I should have gone with the 70 piece or the 100 piece kit. But now I got what I paid for, the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good addition to toolbox, 11 Jan 2011
By 
A. S. Wyllie "Andy" (Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set (DIY & Tools)
decent enough drill set that i bought with bosch gun. will compliment any tool box and although will not last years, will do the job well and if like me a non regular diy person, should last years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Richard Hurley (Storrington England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set (DIY & Tools)
This was the first time I have bought a comprehensive set of drills and screwdrivers and found them to meet all my requirements and expectations.

The price was also very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good set for the asking price, 3 May 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set (DIY & Tools)
I bought this set for a general house renovation project a few years back. The set has had reasonable use of this time period.
It isn't a fully complete set of bits and drills, but it does have a good selection that will meet the needs of most.

-The 18 screwdriver bits are quite good in quality and have held up quite well over time, they are not going to do years of service if you are putting together kitchen units every day, but they are fairly good.

-The wood drill bits have lasted well with the usual caution about the smaller ones and not putting too much pressure on them. I would tend to agree with others..the masonry drill bits could be a bit better they are fine for the odd job but are not as good as the other bits. Bending can be an issue with excessive pressure (forget putting them in an SDS rotary drill they just don't have the beef to survive, the titanium coated ones are good and have done well with various metal/wood/plastic drilling.

- You only get 3 socket wrenches... 7,8 and 10 mm not nearly enough but for a small kit I didn't really buy it for sockets (I have a full socket set anyway)

- The knife is a fairly standard affair break the blade in segments when it gets blunt, useful to have it nothing amazing but gets the job done. Other useful items are a countersink (I keep losing these), a magnetic universal holder, a plastic clear diameter gauge.

The case has survived being thrown about a bit and does help keep the set tidy and together.
This isn't top line quality, but it's pretty good and the asking price is quite fair. If you are a heavy user, or doing more beefy work with the drills then look at some of the better quality sets, it's far from poor though.

It's a good starter kit or set if you just want to do light to moderate use. I bought it mostly for a selection of drill bits and screwdriver bits. If you keep your expectations in line with the price I think most people will be quite happy with this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than I needed, but perhaps missed a trick, 26 April 2012
By 
D. Stubbs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set (DIY & Tools)
This is no pro's kit, it's a grab bag of pretty much every drill type a home DIYer is going to need, and that's great. Stuck with Bosch as my drill was a Bosch and I like the quality.

But you know what, the other reason I bought this was because my old drill set was missing all the smaller drills, ou know the ones you use over and over again and for some exlicable reason they just seem to dissapear like socks in the washing machine.

That's the trick I think Bosch (and to be fair every other drill set maker) makes, it woul dbe really, and I mean....really....usefull to have 2 or maybe even 3 of the most common drill sizes, the 4,5,6mm drills beacause you'll lose them, you know you will, and you'll just end up havin gto buy a small pack of drills again just to get the one you lost and it won't be the same length and fit in the cas eas nicely as the old one.

To be fair that's a general gripe about drill sets in general, but someone will learn from it one day and just give it that little bit extra thought.

In the meantime, I'me more than happy with these, used several already and they seem pretty sharp and have served me well. No real complaints, just a little more thought for the poor home DIYer would be nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set (DIY & Tools)
I looked at other pieces of kit on the high street that would do the same, and came to the conclusion that this set of drill bits is really good value.

The other thing is that I no longer have to rummage around in the bottom of a tool box for the correct drill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bosch Centre Point Drills not fit for purpose, 30 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Gordon L. Waltham "Wolf" (Canterbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set (DIY & Tools)
I bought one of these sets (from B&Q) and was most disappointed when trying to use the centre point drills (the 8mm size) to drill a hole for a dowel through a 35mm Beachwood stool leg, after much pressure and effort I just gave up, and in the end used, a cheap set of drills I had bought at a local market (PRO-TEK). Interestingly, the Bosch drills are unmark, but the kit originates from China, whereas the drills from the market were made in Germany. From what the guy in B&Q said, Bosch buy components from wherever they can get them the cheapest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Andy, 31 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set (DIY & Tools)
All the handy drills you will need + a few other bits to make life a little easier in a small handy carrying case. EXCELLENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value Set, 4 Jun 2014
By 
A. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set (DIY & Tools)
I have bought these drill bits a couple of years ago, and they have served me faithfully ever since. I am no professional, and use this set for DIY projects around the house. Yet it has to be noted that single high quality drill bit alone would probably cost as much as this offering !!

The sturdy case is great for keeping the tools neat and tidy.

As per listing, you do get the commonly used drill bits, yet have a look at the description. The pictures clearly show what you get in the box, so I will not go into any detail on the contents. Just have a look and see whether the sizes satisfy your needs.

The fact that the description warns not to use with SDS Rotary Hammer drills speaks for itself. These are not intended for industrial use.
As stated on the tin "Ideal for most DIY drilling and screwdriving needs"

At this price, you do get a lot for the money.

Highly recommended for odd jobs around the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bosch 50 Piece X-Line Accessory Set
15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews