Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paying for the brand name?
I was so close to buying this machine, my in-laws have one (the one with the bean grinder) and I've always been impressed by it. It makes a decent cup of coffee, has decent features, and personaly I think the insulated caraffe is way better than a hotplate.

Want to save yourself 30? Go to John Lewis and buy their own brand version of the same thing for less...
Published on 10 Oct 2009 by Blakey

versus
37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Solid and elegant but not a good coffee maker
Cuisinart make elegant and wellmade appliances and this is no exception. It has a thoughtful timer facility and you get the impression that a lot of thought has gone into its design, at least from reading the instructions.
But the problem here is that the design is cosmetic only. When it comes to practical coffee making there are many shortcomings.
I did a...
Published on 14 Jan 2008 by James Pollock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Solid and elegant but not a good coffee maker, 14 Jan 2008
By 
James Pollock (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cuisinart Brew Central Filter Coffee Machine DCC2400U (Kitchen & Home)
Cuisinart make elegant and wellmade appliances and this is no exception. It has a thoughtful timer facility and you get the impression that a lot of thought has gone into its design, at least from reading the instructions.
But the problem here is that the design is cosmetic only. When it comes to practical coffee making there are many shortcomings.
I did a direct comparison between this unit and our old Bosch coffee maker, here are the results: Filling the chamber is tricky because the lid does not fold back very far. It is very difficult with the bulky insulated flask provided. It is hard to see how much water you have added to the reservoir as there is no external see-through wall. It takes its time in producing the coffee. The coffee is not particularly hot despite the insulated flask when compared to the old Bosch.
And now the big one - IT MAKES DREADFUL COFFEE. The direct comparison with the Bosch (and I mean exactly the same amount of water, coffee grounds, milk etc) produced a great cup from the Bosch and a tasteless pale brown nasty brew from the Cuisinart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 24 Aug 2008
This review is from: Cuisinart Brew Central Filter Coffee Machine DCC2400U (Kitchen & Home)
This is an expensive item in the UK (about double the US price!) and it should not have been difficult to design in an external window to judge how much water you are pouring in to the machine. Instead, if you keep the machine on a normal height surface, it is necessary to get a set of step ladders and a torch to peer into the bowels of the beast and try to get the right ammount of water for the ammount of coffer you want out. Crazy! If I had known I would not have bought it. Oh, it does actually make reasonable coffee in my view but only keeps it warm enough for 2/3 hours. Comes with a rediculously posh "manual" but does not live up to the hype - Full UK prices for Cuisinart stuff in general appear to me to be on the opportunistic side!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paying for the brand name?, 10 Oct 2009
By 
Blakey (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cuisinart Brew Central Filter Coffee Machine DCC2400U (Kitchen & Home)
I was so close to buying this machine, my in-laws have one (the one with the bean grinder) and I've always been impressed by it. It makes a decent cup of coffee, has decent features, and personaly I think the insulated caraffe is way better than a hotplate.

Want to save yourself 30? Go to John Lewis and buy their own brand version of the same thing for less than 60. It is exactly the same machine, only difference I could find was that it doesn't say cuisinart on the front. I don't know whether it's a 'same factory' thing or what, but it's the same machine no doubt.

The jl version gets four stars because it's way better value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK but poor value for money, 9 Feb 2008
By 
G. Carr (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cuisinart Brew Central Filter Coffee Machine DCC2400U (Kitchen & Home)
This product looks good and gives good attention to the aesthetic aspects of design, but little effort seems to have been applied to practicality. Apart from the difficulty of getting water in and judging the quantity, the worst thing is that the jug dribbles as it pours and you have to unscrew the hermetically sealed lid to get out the last cup of coffee. Even more irritating, the (dishwasher proof) jug traps water in the insulation, which can be heard sloshing around, apparently sealed for the duration, until it leaks onto the tablecloth as you pour. On the plus side, the machine makes good coffee at a reasonable temperature, and the Thermos jug keeps it hot without stewing it. Overall, not bad but not worth the money I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good coffee maker, 20 Jan 2014
By 
C. Worrall (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart Brew Central Filter Coffee Machine DCC2400U (Kitchen & Home)
From living in the States we got really used to drinking coffee at breakfast time.
The automatic timer enables us to have the coffee ready vertually for when we walk into the kitchen and it stay hot for over two hours in the thermos type flask.
Cleaning the flask is an absolute breeze and drying the top of the water heater takes no time at all.
My only additional recomendation would be to order a replacement "gold" filter at the same time. They last for ages, but when they go, they go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Coffee machine, 2 May 2010
By 
Mrs. Shirley A. Williams (Colchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart Brew Central Filter Coffee Machine DCC2400U (Kitchen & Home)
This is a great machine, it make wonderfull coffee, as for some of the other reviews about it not being very good I can only suggest that they change their brand of coffee as I get a great cup of coffee from this machine and it is quick, as for filling the water chamber well thats no problem, if you don't want to look inside to do it buy a cheap plastic jug and mark it with a pen for the number of cups you normally make. Like I say I think this is a great coffee machine and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Morning Coffee, 7 April 2010
By 
E. Whelan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cuisinart Brew Central Filter Coffee Machine DCC2400U (Kitchen & Home)
I love it. My old coffee machine took an hour and a half to brew - This does it it 10 mins!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars longlasting quality, 29 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuisinart Brew Central Filter Coffee Machine DCC2400U (Kitchen & Home)
great product: it's definitely worth to pay a pound or two more to get a good product that lasts. this is the 3rd coffee machine i've bought in a short period of time and the first that isn't a toy. and the price is reasonable for the quality you get, highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cuisinart Coffee Machine, 27 Oct 2009
This review is from: Cuisinart Brew Central Filter Coffee Machine DCC2400U (Kitchen & Home)
I'm going to tell it like it is.

Yes you have to warm the pot before use. (to the top).
But once done the coffee will last for 5 hours, not boiling but warm,
After that it does start to go cold,
But only if the pot is not full to the top.

Yes it can make muddy water.
But once again if you bye a good quality coffee.
Then you get great coffee out.

But putting all that to one side,
I love it.

Be brave and bye one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews