Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated
At first glance, it may be tempting to dismiss this as a small ensemble-drama-by-numbers. The director Michael Winner is immensely unfashionable amongst movie goers, and that alone is enough to put many people off; others who are aware of the director's reputation may certainly find an ostensible lack of subtly in keeping with his reptuation. But don't be fooled; this...
Published on 2 Oct 2009 by Karvala

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad comedy
After watching this film I realized there was not much opportunity to laugh unless you like the predictable slapstick-like women fighting over a boy/man scenes. Apart from these scenes the story was almost sad. I love the major plays by Alan Ayckbourn and find it hard to get any on dvd. This is not my favourite but the filmed version did not put me off. Good acting.
Published on 1 Mar 2009 by C. M. Francois


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 2 Oct 2009
By 
Karvala - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
At first glance, it may be tempting to dismiss this as a small ensemble-drama-by-numbers. The director Michael Winner is immensely unfashionable amongst movie goers, and that alone is enough to put many people off; others who are aware of the director's reputation may certainly find an ostensible lack of subtly in keeping with his reptuation. But don't be fooled; this is a masterpiece in miniature, and contains nuance a plenty for the observant viewer. The cast is splendid; Jeremy Irons displaying a charming British naivety to perfection, Anthony Hopkins hamming up his Welsh roots, Prunella Scales displaying an unusual vulnerability, Jenny Seagrove revelling in a seductive turn, Richard Briers with a masterfully understated pathos, and that's not even mentioning half of them. The movie may not appeal to everyone; it's overt cosiness, from the setting (small community theatre in small pretty seaside town) to the lighting (an omnipresent soft warm glow) will irritate some people, but if you can embrace that, then you will adore this. It certainly stands up to the test of repeated viewing, and it will remain in the back of your mind long after you've finished watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gem, 22 May 2011
By 
Mrs "Love all sorts of books, Eng Lit degree,... (Potterton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is a shining example of the kind of play which British writers excelled at in the 1970's and 80's. This is a filmed version of a stage play and one can see the scenes and the set pieces, but for all that it is a delightful gem featuring some of the best of British theatre.
The cast for a start is simply first class - Hopkins, Briars, Scales and Irons among a select group. they interact brilliantly, pulling off a tour de force which is at times very funny and at others deeply sad.
If you like these very British essays on the way we really live in this country with our silly class divisions and neuroses, then you will appreciate this charming and delightful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chorus of approval., 18 Oct 2010
By 
Roslyn F. Slade "Rossie Roz" (sydney australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] Top class cast but Antony Hopkins shines. Featured players add their own special talents to this rather frothy movie. Those expecting to see Jeremy Irons in a somewhet dramatic role will be very surprised as his comedic talents are very obvious and he makes a good fist of the role. Among the supporting roles Jenny Seagrove is very much out of character in this comedy for those used to her performance in the Judge John Deed TV series. The rest of the cast perform their roles with enthusiam as part of the ensemble group. I could not help comparing this movie with the Christopher Reeve one "Noises Off', which in my opinion was far superior. Nevertheless for anyone wanting to see Hopking, Irons & seagrove in comedic roles together with actors used to comedy such as Scales, Kensit and Briers this is certainly a movie to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad comedy, 1 Mar 2009
By 
C. M. Francois "just books" (Amsterdam, Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
After watching this film I realized there was not much opportunity to laugh unless you like the predictable slapstick-like women fighting over a boy/man scenes. Apart from these scenes the story was almost sad. I love the major plays by Alan Ayckbourn and find it hard to get any on dvd. This is not my favourite but the filmed version did not put me off. Good acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Chorus of Disapproval, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Excellent film set in Scarborough with loads of famous Actors what a refreshing change to watch a British Local Film a nice break from the continous American stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars loved it all, 30 May 2009
By 
M. watts (australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
although many give poor reviews for this I just loved it, funny,sad moving with some great performances by British actors, Jeromy Irons practicing his part as crook finger Jack, Anthony Hopkins the producer of the local playhouse, Prunella Scales his wife a sad very appealing character and a musical score to match.
Wonderful ending what more could anyone need
We have watched this over and over again and always love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Chorus of Disapproval, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films - an hilarious adaptation of an Aykbourn play with a stunningly talented cast - Anthony Hopkins playing the Welsh director of the theatre company is so brilliant it defies description and there are wonderful cameos from the supporting cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This was specifically requested as a Christmas gift but I have not seen it myself so I cannot comment further,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NEver a good idea, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. David Titley (Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
To cast a quiet man as a hero. Tad dreary; full of creaky theatricality -it works in the theatre because it is not 'realistic'; to turn it into a documentary style film was a mistake, showing a lack of imagination and trust in A.A.'s genius. some lovely performances but i wanted some more sexiness! It gives agood guide to the play , but go to the theatre for a good night out with PALOS !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Chorus of definate disapproval!, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
How can an Alan Ackbourne production with a cast as good as this, be so utterly boring and amateurish? We kept waiitng for it to start and it never did. It was really very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007]
A Chorus Of Disapproval [1988) [DVD] [2007] by Michael Winner (DVD - 2007)
£11.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews