Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable feature film version of some of the TV episodes
This is one of the theatrically released BSG films. It's basically The Living Legend 1&2 and 20 minutes worth of Fire In Space cut into a 1 hour 45 minute feature film. It works surprisingly well, the Fire in Space footage was clearly added to give extra jeopardy at the end with Adama in trouble and the guys having to put out the fire. It moves along at an exciting pace...
Published on 19 Sept. 2007 by James Burnwood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great to see again but really not as good as I remembered.
Its a shame really but it's really not what I remembered it from my childhood! lots of recycled effects again and again, and when the pegasus is on a solo mission it's funny how the footage taken from the original battlestar galactic movie shows a fleet of ships behind it! Shame but it's really not what I remembered.
Published 8 months ago by Rich


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable feature film version of some of the TV episodes, 19 Sept. 2007
By 
James Burnwood "JB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Mission Galactica [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the theatrically released BSG films. It's basically The Living Legend 1&2 and 20 minutes worth of Fire In Space cut into a 1 hour 45 minute feature film. It works surprisingly well, the Fire in Space footage was clearly added to give extra jeopardy at the end with Adama in trouble and the guys having to put out the fire. It moves along at an exciting pace and there's plenty of action, but the only shame is that some of the character moments between Sheba and Starbuck and Apollo winds up on the cutting room floor, along with a couple of subplots. That said it was still enjoyable to see these episodes as a 'movie' as it were.There's also some exclusive effects footage that can only be seen here and was never in the episodes.

If you're a casual viewer looking for a bit of nostalgia without wanting to buy the complete series, or if you're looking to follow up the first 'film' version then this is a perfect buy. I already own the complete series but being a fan I bought this as well, and I wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Took me right back to the early 80s, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Galactica [DVD] (DVD)
I already own the complete series on DVD, but this is a re-edit of a few episodes into a movie, with a couple of added scenes that were absent from the originally aired TV episodes.
If you are a complete Battlestar Galactica nerd (Like myself) then its probably worth having, if you already have the complete series on DVD and are looking for new/different content then its probably not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Messy Compilation That Can Teach Film Work, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Galactica [DVD] (DVD)
This is a novelty item. Made up of three different episodes of the 1978 TV series, it is a bit of a mess if you look at this "movie" as its own complete work. There are pieces of story edited out for no real reason, other pieces cut out to give some kind of continuity between episodes to make it appear that the events are all happening at the same time and way to many SFX shots added to rumble the theaters it played in using their Sensuround audio system. What makes this interesting to watch is that they went back and recut all of the scenes, sticking back in every last bit of footage that had been left out for the original construction of the individual episodes. It makes for a great lesson in film making when you compare the episodes with this "movie"...seeing how much is shot for a story, how much gets left in and how much gets taken out to make the difference between good pacing and bad pacing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best of the fraking lot., 16 Mar. 2013
By 
Philip J. Donohoe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Galactica [DVD] (DVD)
Finally a DVD release for the second and best of the Battlestar movies. Pity that there arent any extras on it but worth picking up all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I saw this when I was young and it has great nostalgic value to me, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Galactica [DVD] (DVD)
The original and still hugely entertaining film. I saw this when I was young and it has great nostalgic value to me. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mission Galactica, 18 Feb. 2011
By 
Gregorio Triggiani (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Galactica [DVD] (DVD)
Who loves this type of movies can not have it in its own collection. Really great and completes the old saga
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Great to watch over and over., 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Galactica [DVD] (DVD)
You can not beat this Classic TV Dvd. They just don't make TV like they used too! I definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great to see again but really not as good as I remembered., 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Galactica [DVD] (DVD)
Its a shame really but it's really not what I remembered it from my childhood! lots of recycled effects again and again, and when the pegasus is on a solo mission it's funny how the footage taken from the original battlestar galactic movie shows a fleet of ships behind it! Shame but it's really not what I remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mission Galactica: The Cylon Attack on DVD :0), 30 Jan. 2008
By 
Bradley A. Beaupain "US Video critic" (Auburn, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Galactica [DVD] (DVD)
This is the better if the telefilms that was released as a movie in the U.K. The other of course, was Conquest of the Earth and it lacked a lot to be desired. The mighty ship Galactica encounters a visual "echo" in space, and did not expect to get the best surprise of all. Another Battlestar (Pegasus) to help with the food and fuel problems plaguing the fleet. But it wont be that easy because the legendary Commander Cain
(Lloyd Bridges)has other plans. This movie was basically a recut version of Living Legend with elements of the first movie ( Baltar's mine field was originally the mines protecting Carillon in the movie and pilot episode) and the bits of the episode Fire In Space edited into the end to make it interesting. It's also interesting because although a few plot points were dropped, other sequences that seemed out of order in the episode version, seemed to be back in place in this movie version. Now if only Universal UK would release DVD versions of the telefilms that were in the VHS Box set, and this time, the actual telefilm versions of the two part episodes complete with the missing scenes cut from the 2 part versions and alternate opening sequence.( Originally the 5 telefilms were to be monthly movies but the tv network wanted a series instead so all the movies became 2 part episodes, Except Greetings From Earth, which aried as a special 2 hour episode, only later to get cut into 2 parts for syndication) While your at it Universal UK, include with that, the telefilm version of Experiment in Terra where it opens with an US Astronaut finding the log book floating in space. That one includes the entire episode of the same title plus portions of Galactica 1980 episode "Return of Starbuck" The way Universal releases these thinsg I am sure the UK will get them before the US so I will keep buying the UK versions until someone at Universal in US gets smart and releases them in the US....Starting with the Six Million Dollar Man and Bionic Woman in addition to these I spoke of here.

Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Films to see, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission Galactica [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd is brilliant tv watching, l recommend this dvd to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mission Galactica [DVD]
Mission Galactica [DVD] by Dirk Benedict (DVD - 2007)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews