Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars35
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
32
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2012
Who would have thought such joy and pleasure could be derived from a gift of The Rockford Files but that is exactly what has happened. Yes the series has dated fashions and hair dos but the story lines are good and James Garner is great as Rockford. We now have Series 1 to 4 and I will complete the whole set for the next birthday or Christmas. My husband is the fan and it was the perfect gift for Christmas this year followed immediately by a birthday. So glad these are now on DVD. If you are over 50 and you used to be a fan, buy these series. We guarantee a nostalgic return to the 70s!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
Rockford Files are still up to date and excellent viewing. If you are a fan of the Rockford Files, this is a definite must for you! Hours of excellent viewing.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
i have bought 4 seasons of the rockford files and plan to buy every season that is available i cant buy season 6 because it is region 1 which is a shame.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2010
I can remember well time away from a 'Duty', such as School, Work, etc, and watching "The Rockford Files" on Television. James Garner certainly enacts the Private Investigator excellently, and watching the 'Season Four' series he is even better. An immense pleasure to see such quality programmes now when they remain up-to-date and certainly with James Gardner's Prime Standards.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2007
If you're already a fan of the Rockford Files you don't need to be told how great it is. My reservation is one I have with previous compilations also. I think snippets of the original episodes are missing. e.g. Some dialogue is out of place (on "Queen of Peru" a character says "There's no need to shout" when no-one's close to shouting), and we don't always see how Rockford came up with his information. It's as if the DVD was put together from old syndicated tapes that had already been shortened so a few extra commercials per hour could be squeezed in. That aside, this is well worth owning.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2007
James Garner plays, to me The Ultimate private detective with great story telling acting, set aucton sequences, James did all the stuntdriveing as he was a race driver before he went in to acting and he chose the gold pontiac as he said it handel so well, each episode is so well writen you can`t help being taken in with the story this show is very smart and intelligently put together, I can`t recommend this enough, collect them all, they just don`t make this Quality anymore and you`ll find you have to watch them over again, I`d rate this way over a MILLION stars its just priceless televison GO BUY THEM ALL
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Rockford files was one hell of a good series and Season 4 keeps up the good standard. .

The strength is in the consistently good acting and screenplays. Garner is always on form and episodes featuring the Angel Martin character always seem to have the edge - Stuart Margolin is a cracking good actor.

Highly recommended for all the right reasons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Classic TV series and in season 4 James Garner and the rest of the cast are in superb form. Followers of the series will enjoy the reappearance of old friends. The reason for the appeal of the Rockford Files I believe is the amount of humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I have great memories of watching this in the past. It is obviously a little dated but James Garner made it believable and it is not overly violent and in no way offensive. Enjoyed the nostalgia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Brilliant, Excellent and Fantastic - Bring this back on the BBC, it is a film noir for television and James Garner as Jim Rockford excels in the part, the music gives it the final finishing touch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.