Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars your EYES will POP with sheer delight;, 29 Jun 2008
By 
R. Smith "droogzilla" (scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938 V.1 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
'POPEYE' shone brightly in the 1960s black-and-white TV days, and in those low-resolution screen days, the utter genius of these early MAX and DAVE FLEISCHER works impressed deeply, the skill and sheer cleverness self-evident on the flickering TV set.

After COLOUR TV became standardized in the 70s, most B/W FLEISCHER 'POPEYES'were dropped from TV schedules in favour of the later colour 'FAMOUS' studios [more inferior] version of the spinach-eating sailor, and it became increasingly rare to rediscover the superior artistry that went into the original b/w classics....

Since the advent of the VCR, ----and later, DVD home viewing systems, 95% [and perhaps higher] of all 'POPEYE' product available has been of ultra-shoddy, murky quality that does absolutely no justice to the sterling work originally presented, and these cartoons have been largely unavailable to view in a crystal-clear format they truly deserve.

I knew that quality prints of 'POPEYE' did indeed exist, [via cinema screenings at an 80s 'revivalist' cinema] ------also, BBC2 screened several decent-quality examples occasionally, around '87-'89.

----FINALLY, these masterworks are available on US import, [the first 60 are featured here]; and if you appreciate this stuff, I urge you to get a multi-region DVD player so you can savour these fantastic works. The second you see the opening PARAMOUNT logo in almost HD quality, you just KNOW those hissy, inferior tapes and DVDS are but a bad memory you will never have to endure again.

Within the compactly-housed package are beautifully-polished [with clearer sound, to boot] shorts that are simply brimming with deliciously eccentric, vital energy, the black-and-white fantasy world breathtakingly realized in it's gritty 'realism', the cel-painted characters overlaid the character-filled backgrounds, in pin-sharp, 'poster-effect' contrast.

The FLEISCHER 'POPEYES' have far more diversity, effective pacing, and use of surprize than the later more routine versions by other studios......with often brilliant perspective work [like in 'A DREAM WALKING'] and the excellent use of this studios' '3-D' miniature backgrounds, which give a still-startling illusion of depth that, for me at least, supercedes DISNEY STUDIOS' similarly-concieved 'multiplane' camera.

A TECHNICOLOUR bonus,---in the form of '35-'36 'two-reeler' extravaganzas 'POPEYE meets SINBAD the SAILOR' and the following 'ALI BABA and his 40 THIEVES' [which you surely MUST be familiar with] are presented in definitive, high-resolution format.

These early works are from an age in which pride and effort went into the field of cartoon animation; when many studios strived to equal DISNEY, and I personally prefer the skewed, off-the-wall humour contained within these frames [some incidents are mind-boggling when viewed initially, but DVD capability means it is simple to re-run the multi-layered comedy here]---to DISNEY'S more conventionally-themed , and soetimes 'soft' use of gags and timing.

These cartoons stand up extremely well to repeated viewing, so you will get your money's worth, and this overall set is easily in the top 3 of my diverse DVD collection. Packed with 'pop-tastic' behind-the scenes features and many vintage [relatively obscure] items containing other characters as a bonus.

THOROUGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best, 19 Aug 2007
By 
Rick "rick_in_tas" (Tasmania, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938 V.1 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Perhaps this DVD is the best thing I've bought all year. No....no perhaps about it, it IS the best DVD I've bought in the last decade.

This is Popeye presented as cinema-goers in the 1930's would have seen him. Uncut, clear and very, very funny. WHV have done a superb job on restoring the original Fliescher cartoons, and added a whole lot of commentaries and documentaries for those of us who grew up with Popeye and now want to know more about his history and animation. If ever there was a way to present a valuable back catalogue of treasures, this has to be it. If you are a fan from way back, used to seeing butchered videos with poor pictures and hissing soundtracks, this will amaze you. Time to throw out all the old tapes and the DVD's made from recorded TV shows. THIS is how it's done! You will gasp with amazment at the COLOUR that dazzles you in the 2 two-reel shorts!!! Even the Black and white cartoons take on new life.

If you want REAL cartooning, you must buy this. Worth every penny. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure entertainment, 27 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938 V.1 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
great footage, clear and good to watch ,totally adictive I just cant stop watching popeye just so funny and enthralling to see. A must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Yam What I Yam!!, 20 Jun 2012
This review is from: Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938 V.1 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Well, blow me down mateys because Popeye volume 1 is on dvd.

Lets take a voyage through Popeyes first appearance with Betty Boop and move foward because!!
For the first time in multi media home entertainment history, Popeye has a offical release! And what beautiful quality.

Every short is crisp, clear and no DNR!!! None at all!
This set offers some rare gems, so throw away those old public domain VHS and DVD's.

This set harbors 60 chronological shorts, thats including 2 feature colour two-reelers.

Its a amazing treat to see Popeye, Bluto and Olive Oyl develop through the first short to the end of the last. You can really see that the studio bagged a lot of faith in the old sailor and it really paid off.

Watching through the dvds, you notice slight changes in voices, but th personality is always the same, the art and class of the shorts always stay top above the barrel.
Popeyes personality sticks to song within the first 2 discs, his personality is gruff and rough. He fights his companion for the love of Olive Oyl. The fights between Bluto and Popeye are beautifully worked, and no where in animation can you see such a well constructed fight (not until the days of Tom and Jerry) and this is where well thought out fighting in animation begun. Take Bluto and Popeye anywhere and they can make a well thought out fight worthy of watching, which each plays out like a small sitcom in the ever lasting Love Triangle.

Within this set you get introduced to other lovable characters such as burger munching Wimpy and Swee'Pee.
The musical theme of the episodes are catchy and I can see why they put so much dedication into adding music and signing cartoons for the time, A Clean Shaving Man is a brilliant short and sang by Olive Oyl and the song is so catchy I cant help but sing it

Theres some wonderful and RARE from The Inkwell shorts, first time released to dvd. Amazing silent live action and animated sequences way before the time of Roger rabbit.
The set also takes you through some documentrys with Jerry Beck, Leonard Maltin, Paul Dini, Steve Stanchfield and my personal favorite has to be animation director Eric Goldberg for his enthusiasm and delight for these golden age gems.
It takes you to the deep root of Popeyes esscence and shows you the character from the pages to the theatre. It shows he isn't a rough neck whom likes a fight but a kind hearted rough soul behind the pipe whom sticks up for the little guy.

I'd say maybe the only flaw would be the commentaries by John K on the 2 two reelers. I am a fan of John K, but him and his animators give no insight to the features and be little the animation and resetoration, I would have prefered Eric Goldberg because his insight and enthusiasm is paramount, but its still one hell of s set!

These shorts are 70 odd year old and to think they still have comic value today is amazing, they range from rare to seen before on Public domain releases.
If you're a fan of Amimation, a nostalgic dvd purchaser or in the mood for something vintage and fun, purchase this dvd!

Get your wallets out and get this dvd, the shorts and extras are worth the cash to splash!!!

PS. THIS DVD IS REGION FREE. Tried on 4 none multi-region dvd players

CONTENTS!!!

Disc one

1933 -
Popeye the Sailor (A Betty Boop cartoon!!)
I Yam What I Yam
Blow Me Down
I Eats My Spinach
Seasin's Greetinks
Wild Elephinks

1934 -
Sock-a-Bye Baby
Let's You and Him Fight
The Man on the Flying Trapeze
Can You Take It?
Shoein' Hosses
Strong to The Finich
Shiver Me Timbers!
Axe Me Another
A Dream Walking

Special features -
I Yam What I Yam: The Story of Popeye the Sailor
Popeye Popumentaries: "Mining the Strip: Elzie Segar and Thimble Theatre" and "Me Fickle Goyl, Olive Oyl: The World's Least Likely Sex Symbol."
From the vault: Three Bray Productions/International Film Service studio shorts: "Colonel Heeza Liar at the Bat" (1915), "Krazy Kat Goes-A-Wooing (1916), "Domestic Difficulties" (1916)

Disc two

1934 -
The Two Alarm Fire
The Dance Contest
We Aim to Please

1935 -
Beware of Barnacle Bill
Be Kind to Aminals
Pleased to Meet Cha!
The Hyp-Nut-Tist
Choose Yer Weppins
For Better or Worser
Dizzy Divers
You Gotta Be a Football Hero
King of the Mardi Gras
Adventures of Popeye (compilation film, partial live-action)
The Spinach Overture

1936 -
Vim, Vigor and Vitaliky

Special features -
Retrospective documentary: "Forging the Frame: The Roots of Animation 1900-1920"
Popeye Popumentaries: "Wimpy the Moocher: Ode to the Burgermeister", "Sailor's Hornpipes: The Voices of Popeye"
From the vault: Three Bray Productions/Sullivan Studios shorts: "Bobby Bumps Puts a Beanery on the Bum" (1918), "Feline Follies" (1919), "The Tantalizing Fly" (1919)

Disc three

1936 -
A Clean Shaven Man
Brotherly Love
I-Ski Love-Ski You-Ski
Bridge Ahoy!
What-No Spinach?
I Wanna Be a Lifeguard
Let's Get Movin'
Never Kick a Woman
Popeye the Sailor with Little Swee' Pea
Hold The Wire
The Spinach Roadster
Popeye the Sailor Meets Sindbad the Sailor in Technicolor (two reel)
I'm In The Army Now (compilation film)

1937 -
The Paneless Window Washer
Organ Grinder's Swing

Special features -
Popeye Popumentaries: "Blow Me Down! The Music of Popeye", "Popeye in Living Color: A Look at the Color Two-Reelers"
From the vault: Six Out of the Inkwell shorts: "Modeling" (1921), "Invisible Ink" (1921), "Bubbles" (1922), "Jumping Beans" (1922), "Bedtime" (1923), "Trapped (1923)

Disc four

1937 -
My Artistical Temperature
Hospitaliky
The Twisker Pitcher
Morning, Noon and Night Club
Lost and Foundry
I Never Changes My Altitude
I Likes Babies and Infinks
The Football Toucher Downer
Proteck The Weakerist
Popeye the Sailor Meets Ali Baba's Forty Thieves in Technicolor (two reel)
Fowl Play

1938 -
Let's Celebrake
Learn Polikeness
The House Builder Upper
Big Chief Ugh-A-Mugh-Ugh

Special features -
Popeye Popumentaries: "Me Lil' Swee'Pea: Whose Kid is He Anyway?", "Et Tu, Bluto? Cartoondom's Heavist Heavy"
From the vault: Four Out of the Inkwell/Fleischer Studio shorts: "A Trip to Mars" (1924), "Koko Trains 'Em" (1925), "Koko Back Tracks" (1927), "Let's Sing with Popeye" (1934)

Ciao and cheers for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, 26 Oct 2010
This review is from: Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938 V.1 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I don't write reviews as a rule, but this DVD is a revelation! I can't believe how good the quality of sound and vision is on something made so long ago. Whoever cleaned-up and remastered this collection did a brilliant job. That's just the technical plus.
The cartoons themselves have stood the test of time better that I had ever hoped, looking as fresh and funny as they did when I first watched them as a kid more than fifty years ago.
An added plus was that this US-made DVD worked on my new blue-ray player, so I didn't have to buy a multi-region player.
Be warned: after watching it you'll want to add the other two Popeye collections in this series to your shopping list.
RECOMMENDED! BUY IT! GUARANTEED YOU'LL WATCH IT OVER AND OVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well blow me down !, 4 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. Punch (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938 V.1 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938, Vol. 1 (REGION 1) (NTSC)

A quality product ! Superb ! Even the packaging is great !
If you don't own this already you've got to ask yourself why ?
I'm considering buying one of those big tv's so I can enjoy the crystal clarity of these timeless remastered masterpieces even more.
Oh, and Volume 2 is also superb !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic oldie, 19 Jun 2012
This review is from: Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938 V.1 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938 V.1 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]Got this last week and im amazed at how good it is.Its a 4 disc collection and ive only watched the first 2 but they were stunning in the clarity of the picture the clearness of the sound but most of all fun of the stories.I loved Popeye as a kid but these are not the ones i saw,as it says on the box these are not suitable for children but more for the adult market.
I dont agree with that,kids nowadays are far too mollycoddled but there is nothing in this set that would bother any kid ive ever met.The films were originally shown in the cinema on adult programs but you have to remember they are over 70 years old and times have changed,kids will love them and so will adults.They are classic cartoons from the Golden age and are so much better than the ones i saw as a kid,superbly remastered,you will love them but you will need a multi-region player to view them.
I bought them from Amazon US and including postage they cost me 15,a lot less than Amazon UK but for people wary of buying long distance they are well worth the money whoever you get them from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goons, 31 Aug 2008
By 
B. Talbot "Bryan Talbot" (Sunderland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938 V.1 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Brian - I feel exactly the same way. The Goons and Jeep seem to be on the next volume:

[...]

Bryan Talbot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goon Island?, 7 July 2008
By 
B. J. Bolland "Brian Bolland" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938 V.1 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Sadly for me I don't have a multi-region DVD player so I haven't seen this collection but I've given it 5 stars because I'm convinced of its quality by the previous two reviewers. But guys, how about a list of the cartoons' titles. I'm dying, for instance to see Popeye in "Goon Island". The memory of it is imprinted in my mind from 40 or 45 years ago when I watched it on our old Pye television, the cartoon from which Sellers, Milligan, Bentine & Seacome later got their name. Or the cartoon of the Jeep - the magic dog who could walk through walls - a name adopted by the US army for their nippy 4-wheel drive vehicle still popular today. (Although I have heard an alternative derivation of the word.)

Give us a list of titles, guys, and maybe I'll spend my money and add yet another electronic gadgit, a multi-region player, to my stack of 'em in my telly room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Popeye the Sailor: 1933-1938 V.1 [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
32.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews