Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid and easy to fit
Solid and easy to fit. It does what is expected. All screws are included in the package. The instructions are easy to follow.
Published 7 months ago by Jan Lorentsen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not overly impressed
My bike is a Raleigh Alana. It has a 17" frame and 700c wheels, but I get the distinct impression the rack doesn't fit it properly because it is tilted at quite at angle towards the saddle, plus the brackets required a bit of bending and it just doesn't look right. It would help if the company supplied screws and nuts that actually do the job, as when attaching it to...
Published 16 months ago by Carrie Hobson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not overly impressed, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Carrie Hobson (Crawley, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tortec Tour Rear Rack (Misc.)
My bike is a Raleigh Alana. It has a 17" frame and 700c wheels, but I get the distinct impression the rack doesn't fit it properly because it is tilted at quite at angle towards the saddle, plus the brackets required a bit of bending and it just doesn't look right. It would help if the company supplied screws and nuts that actually do the job, as when attaching it to the rear wheel frame I realised that some of the screws provided were too small, and the only other type provided were too long. Plus, the nuts provided are the type that don't tighten all the way down the screw. In the end I had to substitute them for screws and nuts I hoped would work. Also, no instructions are provided. Normally this isn't a problem because there are general instructions on YouTube. However this rack really doesn't seem suited to my bike, yet it is a pretty standard model. On a more minor note, when it arrived in the post it was sticking out through the packaging, so it arrived with some of the paint missing. But like I said, a pretty minor concern, compared to me worrying about it falling off on a road somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid and easy to fit, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tortec Tour Rear Rack (Misc.)
Solid and easy to fit. It does what is expected. All screws are included in the package. The instructions are easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid and easy to fit, 18 Nov 2012
By 
jim_50 (Redhill, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tortec Tour Rear Rack (Misc.)
Good strong rack with inbuilt panel to act as rear mudguard. Plenty of adjustment for most bikesall fittings provided including stainless fittings - but on my Specialised Crosstrail the seat post brazeons are a little low down causing the rack to tilt forward. So to get a horizontal fit I bought a combined seatpost clamp/rack fitting for a tenner which sorted this adjustment easily. Now all is good
I am using this with Altura Rack top bag instead of rucksack for commuting - great alternative for winter riding as I now get the benefit of rear venting on my rain jacket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tortec Tour Rear Pannier Rack (black) bought on Amazon, 10 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tortec Tour Rear Rack (Misc.)
have been using this for a month now, daily cycling with panniers. needed a longer bolt so that it would fit my mountain bike,but other than that it is a strong, sturdy item and doing its job grand. Very pleased so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job., 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tortec Tour Rear Rack (Misc.)
Easy to fit (I had to do a little "bending" on a couple of brackets). Seems robust enough. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tortec Tour Rear Rack (Misc.)
Have used this a lot and it has been great. Strong, light, and easy to fit. Would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Broken strut weld, 22 April 2013
This review is from: Tortec Tour Rear Rack (Misc.)
I bought one of these a few years ago. Put a rack top box on it and used for commuting. After a year or so a weld at the lower part of the rack snapped (where the three struts meet near the bike dropouts).

The rack box weighs less than a kilo and the contents never more than 5 kilos, so the total weights involved were well within the stated limits for this rack. I put this down to the weight of the rack top box when loaded creating a "pendulum" effect when I am stood on the pedals and stressing this weld too much, as the weight is relatively high up on the bike. This was repaired by strong tape and has held up well enough. I think if I were only using panniers, this would not have happened and I would carry on with the rack.

Otherwise it is a decent enough rack, however if I had have bought a Blackburn rack it would have been covered by a lifetime warranty. No prizes for guessing what rack I bought next. That said I am probably also going to get normal panniers and use the top box only in winter (as it is fully waterproof) to minimise the chance of a similar breakage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars but it is sturdy and came with fixings, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tortec Tour Rear Rack (Misc.)
Needed to modify slightly to attach to my saddle pole (rather than the frame at the top) due to the size of my frame, but it is sturdy and came with fixings. Seems strong and well built
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars frame attachment brackets not included., 1 Sep 2014
By 
J. Halstad (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tortec Tour Rear Rack (Misc.)
Good rack, but does not include the P brackets, which you may need to attach the carrier to the bike frame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars so far ok... i am not sure ..., 8 Aug 2014
This review is from: Tortec Tour Rear Rack (Misc.)
so far ok...i am not sure if it will survive my 4 days trip with 20kg equipment though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tortec Tour Rack -
£21.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews