Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abus Tough Lock - 15 security rating
The usual great Abus solidity. And it is the highest security rating - 15 - as I had hoped and expected but not (strangely) mentioned in the writeup. Especially effective with one through the frame and one through the front wheel. A good price and a very speedy delivery. Weight is the only drawback but that's the price you pay to keep the loathsome scumbags away (yes - I...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Hamnix Felix Toe

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Secure, but lock mechanism eventually seized
Very secure lock, bracket to attach to a bike worked quite well. However, after 18 months the lock mechanism started to seize. Lubrication with WD40 hasn't helped. Often very difficult or impossible to unlock the bike, or put the shackle back in the lock and remove the key. The bolts that extend to keep the shackle in place seem to be the problem as they get stuck...
Published on 20 Mar. 2012 by Matt Gloss


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abus Tough Lock - 15 security rating, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Abus Granit-54 X-Plus (Sports)
The usual great Abus solidity. And it is the highest security rating - 15 - as I had hoped and expected but not (strangely) mentioned in the writeup. Especially effective with one through the frame and one through the front wheel. A good price and a very speedy delivery. Weight is the only drawback but that's the price you pay to keep the loathsome scumbags away (yes - I have had a bike stolen and it REALLY taxed my pacifism)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough as old boots, 25 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Granit-54 X-Plus (Sports)
If you're looking for a strong lock for your bike then this is the one to get. Abus have put a lot of work into preventing bike thieves using any tricks to break through it quickly. It can be broken, but takes a whole minute with an angle grinder.

The plastic bracket isn't fantastic but works well enough. It can cater for a few sizes of round frame, but possibly not very large tubes. Another bracket can be bought, the TEXKF, that will allow fixture to pretty much anything.

Top tip, when locking up your bike with one of these, make sure you put it through both the back wheel and the frame. If you're worried about someone stealing the front wheel then use a small wire lock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Hercules!, 19 May 2012
This review is from: Abus Granit-54 X-Plus (Sports)
Even Hercules couldn't break this lock, and that is saying something. This is evidenced by the fact that I have used one of these locks daily over the last ten years and my bike has not been stolen ... yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious lock! Seriously recommended!, 21 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Abus Granit-54 X-Plus (Sports)
This is a serious lock and I consider this one of my all time most worthwhile purchases.

They say you should spend about 10% of the value of your bike on a lock. I disagree. You need to consider your personal needs, if you only use your bike at the weekends or for nipping to the shops that's fine but if you cycle in the city, commute to work or (heaven forbid) lock your bike out overnight then you need this lock.
As a deterrent, and a seriously hardcore piece of kit, this could well last you through several bikes, making it a very worthwhile investment.

Of course no lock is impervious and if your bike is locked down a dark alleyway out of sight they'll have time to do their evil.

After losing a bike locked with a cable lock I bought one of these and used it all over central London for years. The worst theft attempt bent the bike frame and back wheel but didn't damage the lock in the slightest.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely solid well made lock, 6 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Abus Granit-54 X-Plus (Sports)
I have recently paid £700 on a new road bike and I am quite keen to keep hold of it! I bought this lock after a friend recommended Abus and I have to say that I am not disappointed. It has the maximum level security rating 15 overall. Thieves have many different methods of sabotaging bike security such as bolt cutting, sawing, drilling, lock picking, ice spray etc. This lock will prevent all of these as well as having anti-corrosion properties. I also have my bike insured and this lock meets the criteria for 99.9% of insurance companies. I use this lock together with the Kryptonite Kryptoflex 7 ft Cable Lock (10 mm x 213 cm) and this also deters thieves and keeps my quick release wheels secure.
The lock comes with 2 keys - one with a light and the other spare. The keys have their own uniques code card. The lock is very simple to use - simply attach the U bracket to the main body and turn the key to secure. It doesn't "snap shut" but it is not difficult to lock and this feature gives it that extra security.
The lock is heavy yes but if you want excellent security then you need to compromise. I prefer to carry my locks in my rucksack whilst riding to work but this is just my preference. It comes with a bracket to attach to the frame but I have not fitted mine.
To conclude I recommend this lock highly. For the price you will not find any better locks out there. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent solid lock, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Granit-54 X-Plus (Sports)
I bought this lock as an alternative to the Kryptonite New York. Both are very solid locks however the Abus Granit has a good bracket for securing the lock to the bike. The Krptonite has an absolutely rubbish bracket that leaves the lock dangling from the bike like a saggy testicle. The Abus also has an LED in the key which is a nice touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Secure, but lock mechanism eventually seized, 20 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Abus Granit-54 X-Plus (Sports)
Very secure lock, bracket to attach to a bike worked quite well. However, after 18 months the lock mechanism started to seize. Lubrication with WD40 hasn't helped. Often very difficult or impossible to unlock the bike, or put the shackle back in the lock and remove the key. The bolts that extend to keep the shackle in place seem to be the problem as they get stuck preventing the key from turning. A sharp tap with a hammer, or knocking the lock on a bike rack often releases them (when the key is inserted). Seem to be a few reports on the net of similar incidents.

Both Amazon and Abus have been unwilling to fix or replace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very secure, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Granit-54 X-Plus (Sports)
surprisingly light to carry in back and the slightly elliptical loop makes it a lot easier to get as much of my bike locked as possible. worth the money and the plastic coating ensures the carbon frame isn't scratched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very secure but not always easy, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abus Granit-54 X-Plus (Sports)
This is without doubt one of the toughest locks out there, and it has the price tag to match. My insurance company would only insure my e-bike with this lock. However, I only gave 4 stars because it is sometimes difficult to attach the locking mechanism to the D-bars. If the key is not exactly horizontal then the lock will not close. This becomes a problem if you have your key on a keyring with lots of other keys, the weight causes the key to turn in the lock slightly. Apart from this, I have no other complaints, it is a solid lock and comes with a good sturdy set of keys (one with a blue light on). I still don't know why they made it so that you can't retract the key whilst the lock is in the open position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Withstood theft attempt unscathed. Will be superseded by Granit-540., 24 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Abus Granit-54 X-Plus (Sports)
Has been tested by thieves in front of my house one day: they managed to cut the plastic wrapping of the U-section and then apparently spent some time trying to saw or cut through the metal. I write 'apparently' because you need good eyes and good light to spot the numerous but minuscule little scratches on the metal. In other words, the lock totally shrugged off that attempt.

Another thing to notice is that the lock still works well although I have left it outside exposed to the weather for more than a year now. The one drawback of the current design is the plastic casing of the locking bar: when my lock falls to the ground the black part of the casing separates from the silver part. Sometimes even the metal bits that form the keyhole cover fall out. This does not affect the security aspect of the lock but is very annoying. My advice is to tape some duct tape around that part of the lock. Exactly this flawed plastic casing, by the way, has been re-designed in the successor version, the Granit-540. The Granit-540 is already available in Germany in some places and should come to the UK soon I would assume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abus Granit-54 X-Plus - Black, 30cm
£66.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews