Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nostalgic trip down memory lane...
Oh my... what a trip down memory lane this film was!

I hadn't seen this since one Sunday afternoon on TV back in the 1960s! A brilliant second feature with a good plot and some big names, including; Alec Clunes,(whom I suspect would not be very impressed with his son's career!) Kenneth Cope, William Hartnell and John Gregson.

This is about a...
Published on 23 Nov 2007 by FAMOUS NAME

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacked a vital ingredient!
This film is badly let down by the child actor, who having been locked in a room in a strange house should have displayed some kind of fear and anxiety about the situation that he found himself in, as well as what was going to happen to him. This robbed the film of any suspense, especially when all you saw was a boy prancing around the room with a doll, as if it was some...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Kenneth J. Hodges


Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nostalgic trip down memory lane..., 23 Nov 2007
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow At Ten [DVD] (DVD)
Oh my... what a trip down memory lane this film was!

I hadn't seen this since one Sunday afternoon on TV back in the 1960s! A brilliant second feature with a good plot and some big names, including; Alec Clunes,(whom I suspect would not be very impressed with his son's career!) Kenneth Cope, William Hartnell and John Gregson.

This is about a small boy from a wealthy family who gets kidnapped for ransom. He's given a toy golliwog by his captor containing a time bomb that's due to go off in several hours. A very clever scenario, and one that deems to end in disaster. Some of the happenings in this are quite predictable - but others are not, and these twists are what make this film so great!

Despite its small cast and low budget, this is well worth a watch, and includes some really cool dancing from two beautiful young women in an 'after hours' night club scene!

I personally have waited years for this to come out on DVD - previously unreleased!

They don't make them like this anymore - more's the pity...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tight little thriller, 29 Aug 2008
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow At Ten [DVD] (DVD)
This is another Lance Comfort direction and John Gregson pre Gideons Way is well cast as the detective playing the game his way. These balck and white supporting features offer great value and nostalgia. Just look at the clothes, the music and the cars.
It was also good to see Kenneth Cope as the DS and the sinister Robert Shaw. William Hartnell only has a small role as does Renee Houston but it all fits together nicely and the tension builds as we reach the critical 10am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 60's crime movie, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tomorrow At Ten [DVD] (DVD)
After kidnapping a small boy and driving him to an empty house, Marlowe, (Robert Shaw) then visits the boy's wealthy father, (played by Alec Clunes, father of Martin) and calmly demands fifty thousand pounds in exchange for the safe return of his son, who has been left with a toy Golly with a time-bomb planted inside, which is set to explode at 10:am the next day.

Eventually Inspector Parnell, (John Gregson) and Sgt Grey, (Kenneth Cope) arrive at the fathers home, the scene is now set for a race against the clock stand-off in which the Inspector tries to persuade the cool and calculating Marlowe to divulge the location of the boy.

John Gregson is excellent in his role as the Inspector, the reliable and likeable Kenneth Cope produces another one of many good performances as Sgt Grey, while Robert Shaw also excels as the cold and ruthless Marlowe.
The included notes state that this B-movie second feature was generally more popular with cinemagoers at the time than the main feature.
For lovers of British B-movies of the 50's/60's, this crime thriller is well worth a look.

The black and white picture quality is very good, no extras or subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tomorrow At Ten, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow At Ten [DVD] (DVD)
It has the olde worlde rhythm of old movies where the story itself and the players are more important than splashing blood all around. It`s well built up, the tension grows throughout the film until the rather unexpected end. The characters are all well played, with the somewhat over-eager father who ruins the plans of both the kidnapper and the inspector; the well thought-out plan of taking the kid and bravely claim the money face to face and the police officers with ther conflicting ideas of how to find the boy before it gets too late.
We should have more films like this, but it seems that modern crime scriptwriters ran out of ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lacked a vital ingredient!, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Kenneth J. Hodges "kenvisions" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomorrow At Ten [DVD] (DVD)
This film is badly let down by the child actor, who having been locked in a room in a strange house should have displayed some kind of fear and anxiety about the situation that he found himself in, as well as what was going to happen to him. This robbed the film of any suspense, especially when all you saw was a boy prancing around the room with a doll, as if it was some kind of game. Even when he finally got around to pounding on the door, it was all done mechanically and unconvincingly with no degree of panic! Pity really, because the film otherwise had a good cast, even although it has to be said that the idea of a kidnapper giving himself over to police to strike a deal, was somewhat implausible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Been Better, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow At Ten [DVD] (DVD)
It gets straight to the action but the fact that the kidnapper is in Police custody from early on does make the story far less watchable.
Disappointed that there was not more detective work and some sort of action...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stroll memory lane, 12 Nov 2011
By 
B. Miao "bjm" (liverpool, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow At Ten [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film because I recall seeing it on tv many many moons ago when I was a child. A great story and great cast. Very atmospheric due to it being in black and white. well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 23 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow At Ten [DVD] (DVD)
A really gripping thriller, superb actors with john Gregson prior to playing george Gideon of scotland yard in gideons way, robert shaw playing the cool collected antagonist. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars watchable British B movie., 22 May 2007
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tomorrow At Ten [DVD] (DVD)
first of all, two things that disappoint me with this film. both points concern actor robert shaw as the kidnapper character.

when the credits appear, shaw's name appears second at the beginning and third at the end. to me, that is an injustice as the plot revolves his character all the way through and that shaw's name should easily be placed first. the other disappointment is worse...

john gregson is on hand to provide his scotland yard persona(just two years before his similar character in gideon's way), and plays it well. kenneth cope as his colleague is good. but i can't think why william hartnell bothered to appear; his screentime of under three minutes is hardly worth it.

the climax to the film is very good and quite intense. glad to see this finally released on d.v.d, so i can enjoy another robert shaw appearance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomorrow At Ten [DVD]
Tomorrow At Ten [DVD] by Robert Shaw (DVD - 2007)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews