Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good episodes
There are some very good episodes on this dvd and I really enjoyed them, although none of them are brilliant. In my opinion this dvd is better than the on before it.

Daleks In Manhatten/Evolution Of The Daleks= This is a usual Dalek episode with a twist because there is a Dalek Human. This double episode is very good and entertaining but the problem is ( as...
Published on 2 Aug 2007 by I AM ME

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best eps
The revived Doctor who has been somewhat of a mixed bag since it began 2 yrs ago,sometimes brilliant episodes would be followed by horrid ones. This collection from season 3 is ok but no more than that. The dalek 2 parter is pretty lame,theres barely enough material here for 1 episode let alone 2,theres virtually no action and a load of actors doing fake american accents...
Published on 21 July 2007 by Mr. Russell C. Witheyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good episodes, 2 Aug 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
There are some very good episodes on this dvd and I really enjoyed them, although none of them are brilliant. In my opinion this dvd is better than the on before it.

Daleks In Manhatten/Evolution Of The Daleks= This is a usual Dalek episode with a twist because there is a Dalek Human. This double episode is very good and entertaining but the problem is ( as other reviewers have pointed out ) that the Daleks are in so many episodes that they become very over-used. This episode is set in America and the Daleks have a plan that has to do with the building of The Empire State Building ( 7/10 ).

The Lazarus Experiment= This episode is about the Doctor taking Martha back home, but a man is doing an experiment to make himself younger and the experiment fails and he occasionaly turns into a mutated monster. I didn't really enjoy this episode much but I still think it is ok ( 5/10 ).

42= This episode is about people in a spaceship hurtling towards the sun and some of the people aboard the ship are turning evil and burning people to death. This episode is exciting and intriguing and it is great to watch. I don't know why people think it is like The Impossible Planet/The Satan Pit, because the plot is nothing like that except that they are in a spaceship ( 7/10 ).

There are some episodes definitely worth watching on this dvd but it is not the best in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PUT A SEC IN IT, 30 May 2007
By 
Kelvin J. Dickinson (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Series Three of DOCTOR WHO is where The Act Finally Gets Together. There are no elements that lack in comparison to others. It's a perfectly balanced production that delivers on every technical and emotional level.

The varied nature of the stories still means there's going to be some episodes better than others, but the beauty of it all is that the standard is so impeccably high. It's fair to say we have never had it so good.

DALEKS IN MANHATTAN and EVOLUTION OF THE DALEKS, a two-parter set in Depression-era New York, is probably the least effective story of the season. However, I will immediately qualify this by saying that the visuals are generally stunning and the scope is impressive, but the flaw remains in the realisation of DALEK/HUMAN SEC. It slightly diminishes the whole by not being 100% convincing and that's a terrible shame. Credit must go to Director JAMES STRONG, however, who is mostly on the money (note: I initially disliked the marching human/hybrid army dissolves, then saw in it a lovely homage to the Flash Gordons'/Buck Rogers' Republic serials of the time, a very nice touch) - but for my money, and for sheer visual and visceral impact, he'll need to sit on another Zarbi anthill before he tops THE SATAN PIT.

What an absolute delight THE LAZARUS EXPERIMENT is. Elements of Frankenstein, Dr Jeckyll and Mr Hyde, The Fly, Quatermass and The Pit - all rolled into one big, skeletal mess of a monster. MARK GATISS makes the most of his part as the age-reversal experiment gone wrong and draws out an effectively mean 'n moody performance from his best mate DAVID TENNANT. FREEMA AYGEMAN likewise continues to impress with her measured performance, wholly without the clinginess that made late-era BILLIE PIPER so irritating. The climax in the Cathedral is another great set-piece and leads nicely to the ending, where the "Mister Saxon" element is ramped up considerably to generate palpable fear in the mind of Martha's mother and the man her daughter's Tardishacked-up with. Great stuff.

'42' was never going to exceed expectations, mainly due to Danny Boyle's 'Sunshine', but for a primetime British television show, the story of a mining ship being dragged into a star was beautifully realised. With forty-two minutes left before destruction, there's a terrifying real-time twist to unfolding events which highlight the true nature of 'cause and effect'. That said, I tend to blow a little hot(!) and cold about Director GRAEME HARPER's work on this show (blame the slightly indifferent Cybermen for that), but the pace he generates and his striking colour palette cannot be faulted here. Allied to The Mill's superb CGI, there were moments as the escape pod fell into the sun that simply took my breath away. Hopefully yours too. "I'll save you!" "I'll Save You!!" "I'LL SAVE YOU!!!" I'll say no more.

I'm sure I've missed things out, but where do you stop? Music, performances, set design...everyone involved firing on all cylinders, all passionate about their work. How jealous am I? How lucky are we.

Wizzard were right. You know...the seasonal hit they had? Doctor Who is the fulfilment of that wish and we are spoiled rotten. Every Saturday night. Every Year. For thirteen wonderful weeks. And THEN Christmas Day comes and...

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'I...am...a human Dalek!' - New York Daleks in the 1930s, a Marvel monster movie and 42 minutes to BURN WITH ME!!!!, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is the second volume of series 3 of `Doctor Who', starring David Tennant as the Doctor and Freema Agyeman as Martha Jones. It contains one juicy two-part Dalek story set in Manhattan, New York during the 1930s as well as two more bonus adventures with a mad scientist and a crashing spaceship into a sun. It's an exciting collection of four episodes and is worthy for its entertainment. I'm sure you'll enjoy what's on here to compliment your `Doctor Who' experience.

`DALEKS IN MANHATTAN'/'EVOLUTION OF THE DALEKS'

When I heard the Daleks were returning to series 3 of `Doctor Who' back in 2007, I was very pleased. I was also very pleased that it would be an adventure set in the 1930s in New York, since that's an era of Earth history I can appreciate and feel comfortable with. Unfortunately I was unable to watch these two episodes on their initial transmission on telly. But my dear nana who was alive back then agreed to watch the episodes for me and tell me what she made of them. She said she enjoyed the episodes with the Daleks, though avoided to tell me anything that went on since I knew that would spoil the surprise.

I eventually got to watch these episodes on DVD and found myself enjoying what was going on in the story. The Daleks are at their most cunning in this story and the New York setting was spectacular. The writing is well-handled by Helen Raynor who was Doctor Who's script editor from the start of the revived series. Some of this story was filmed in New York itself to get the location slates for the story on some of the landmarks, making it look authentic and amazing.

The story being set in New York during 1930 was an easy period of me to get into. For one thing, I knew was 1930 New York was all about. I'd studied the period for my GCSE History exams, so I knew what the Depression was all about; knew the Hooverville slumps and what people had to endure in suffering and starvation with no money and losing their jobs. The style and authenticity of 1930s New York was very effective and provided the right atmosphere for the story. So I was really pleased to relate to that and connect it from studying during my school years.

The Doctor and Martha come to 1930s New York on a trip to visit and enjoy. Martha had always wanted to go to New York (the real one, not the New, New York in 'Gridlock' previously). To arrive back in the 1930s is a real treat for Martha and she's very eager to explore and see what it's like. But the Doctor comes across a mystery in the papers where `Hooverville Mystery Deepens'. The Doctor talks through what the Great Depression is like to Martha and what Hooverville's all about before getting there, which I found enjoyable and really informative. They arrive at Hooverville and meet the man in charge Solomon. They ask about the mystery and he tells them about people going off the streets and disappearing like it's unexpected and happens suddenly. No one knows where the missing people have gone, and it's getting everybody worried.

The Doctor and Martha soon find themselves with Solomon and a young boy named Frank on a trip down to the New York sewers where they're to do a job for a certain Mr Diagoras, a wealthy businessman in charge of the Empire State Building. But the group find they're being conned and the work they're supposed to find isn't down there. What they do find is the remains of a Dalek brain left to rot and stink and also a group of Pig Men lurking in the shadows. They are soon on the run as the Pig Slaves chase after them.

The cast of this story is pretty good and certainly some of them are real Americans playing American characters.

There's Eric Loren who plays Mr Diagoras in charge of the Empire State Building. He's a businessman who can be pretty ruthless to the workers who have to go out there on the top of the building propping it up with Dalekanium slates, and yes he happens to be working for the Daleks. I liked that moment when Diagoras reveals to the foreman as the lift comes up and reveals a Dalek inside with two Pig slaves. It was a classic moment. Diagoras seems to be a man who has Dalek like attitudes and it's something the Daleks approve of when they have him working for them. He soon gets chosen to be part of their `final experiment'. This is something Diagoras isn't happy about but has no choice as Dalek Sec gets his grip on him, hauling him inside his casing with mutant creature attaching itself to him which is pretty horrific to watch.

Hugh Quarshire plays Solomon, the man in charge of Hooverville. He has the qualities of a good leader and I like how his relationship between him and the Doctor is played out. Both men seem to respect each other as the Doctor understands what Solomon tries to do to protect his people in Hooverville. I like that scene between Solomon and the Doctor where he asks him where he comes from and the Doctor casually says `I'm just passing through.' `I'm no fool, Doctor', Solomon replies. It's a pretty good character moment. I also found it very effective when Solomon held the Doctor back from rescuing Frank down from the sewers since he wouldn't let anyone get killed by the Pig Men. He then reveals how scared he was to the Doctor, but then goes out to gather the people of Hooverville together and instructs them to defend themselves against these `creatures from hell' which is a very effective moment.

There's also Andrew Garfield who plays Frank, a young man living in Hooverville. Andrew is a British/American actor and would later be well-known for movies such as `The Social Network' and would play Peter Parker in the new `Amazing Spider-Man' film series. I had no idea who he was when I first saw him, but I'm pleased to know Andrew appeared in `Doctor Who' beforehand and would go on to be a great success. He said it was an honour to be a part of `Doctor Who'. The character he plays in this story is a nice person with a good heart. I like his scenes with Martha and how they share and become good friends during the story. Frank gets captured by the Pig Men in the sewers but is still alive when Martha finds him after being kidnapped herself. They both share an adventure together to save the world up on top of the Empire State Building.

This story features a 1930s style theatre with a singing performance by Tallulah - 2 ls and a h (played by Miranda Raison) who sings `My Angel Put the Devil in Me'. She dresses up as an Angel with her Devil Sisters in the background. Tallulah is a young American girl singing through the Depression, but has lost her boyfriend Laszlo (Ryan Carnes) who was also mysteriously taken. She's an interesting character, even though her American accent can be slightly annoying at times. She wants to know what happened to Laszlo as the Doctor and Martha seem to know something. I found it funny when she pointed a gun at some point and liked the scene she has with Martha before going on the show. She gets to go down to the sewers with the Doctor and both of them spot a Dalek much to his horror and anger, which David Tennant pulls off amazingly well. Tallulah manages to find her Laszlo in the sewers, but she finds what's happened to him and is shocked and upset about what terrible things the Daleks have done to him.

There are also workers on the Empire State Building including the foreman (played by Ian Porter) and two workers (Joe Montana and Stewart Alexander, the latter appeared with Peter Davison's Doctor in a Big Finish story called 'Renaissance of the Daleks'.

The Daleks of course are the highlight of this story. Nicholas Briggs returns to provide the voices of these menacing meanies. These are the four Daleks - the Cult of Skaro - who appeared last time in `'Army of Ghosts'/'Doomsday' before this. Their leader is Dalek Sec and the rest of them are Dalek Thay, Dalek Jast and Dalek Kann. They managed to escape to 1930s New York through the Emergency Temporal Shift. They're low on resources and they utilise the help of Mr Diagoras to conduct their experiments and capture people from Hooverville to turn them into Pig Slaves. Why the Daleks turn them into pigs, I've no idea. Possibly to humiliate mankind more likely. They do look disturbing and eerie when you're watching them.

I liked that sequence where the Daleks are doing intelligence scans on a group of prisoners including Martha and Frank and they use their sucker sticks to do this. One of them objects when regarded as being low intelligence. `You're calling me stupid' before he gets taken away to be a Pig slave, which is somehow funny and frightening at the same time. The Daleks intend to evolve and survive since they are only four of them. The four Daleks have made sacrifices to get them this far to reach the final experiment. Now Dalek Sec intends to use Diagoras to perform the final experiment on himself for the Dalek cause.

This leads to one of the most unusual and unexpected cliffhangers of any Doctor Who story. When Dalek Sec absorbs Diagoras into its casing, the casing shudders whilst the experiment takes place. Sec is evolving and is soon to become something different. When Martha, Frank, the Doctor and Laszlo are brought in with the other prisoners, they see the experiment take place. Martha demands to know what's going on, and they're shown by the Daleks the new evolution. They watch as Sec's casing opens and he comes out completely transformed into a hybrid. He has become half-human, half-Dalek. Fused with Diagoras' body, Sec appears as a man with the face of a Dalek containing one eye, a huge brain and tentacles on the side of his face. He speaks for the first time with a human voice sounding all Dalek. `I...am...a human Dalek! I...am your future!'

I found the head of Dalek Sec to be very impressive, with the prosthetics and animatronics attached to the actor who wore it - Eric Loren (who played Diagoras). It looks pretty scary and horrific to watch. I'm sure it gave kids shudders when they first saw it. It gave me shudders. I wish though the voice sounded more Dalek rather than human. But Sec's character was pretty interesting by this point. Sec gets to experience the human emotions which changes him and has him becoming more human rather than Dalek.

It's an complex story for Sec now as we wonder why he is becoming less Daleky and why he wants the Doctor's help and is reframing his Daleks from killing. He gets to believe the Daleks need to change their ways and stop endless killing since it gets them nowhere and he believes they are no longer the supreme beings as we gradually move on during the course of the story. This doesn't prove popular with the remaining Daleks in the Cult of Skaro. Sec's own Dalek subjects begin to question him and wonder what to do about their leader. I liked that inspired moment in the story where two Daleks are in the sewers and confer quietly about their Leader, looking around to see whether they're being watched. It shows how cunning the Daleks can be when they begin to work against Sec and make him irrelevant since they believe he's no longer fit to be a Dalek.

The Doctor and his friends manage to escape from the Dalek base in the basement of the Empire State Building. They return to Hooverville, but it isn't before long that they are attacked by foot soldier Pig Slaves before being gunned down by two Daleks in mid-air. Solomon tries to reason with these Daleks and gives a passionate speech about coexisting with each other and begging the Daleks to show compassion. But it's so horrifically tragic that the Dalek looking down on him simply `exterminates' Solomon on the spot, killing him instantly. Everybody in Hooverville is horror-stricken and shocked at seeing Solomon gunned down cold-bloodedly. It angers the Doctor and he shouts up at the Dalek to kill him in order to spare these people. It's a really intense and frightening moment between Doctor and Daleks. `THEN DO IT!!! JUST DO IT!!! DO IT!!!!'

The Dalek's about to kill the Doctor, before Sec orders him to stop. The Dalek can't believe it. He doesn't understand why Sec's ordered him to stop. The urge to kill is too strong. But Sec orders the Doctor to be brought back to Dalek base alive. The Dalek obeys, still not understanding. The Doctor is shocked and doesn't understand it either, as he agrees to go with the Daleks to understand why they've changed their minds. He leaves Martha with the psychic paper to get into the Empire State Building, whilst he goes off with the Daleks.

I have to say David Tennant is fantastic in this story. This is one of his finest performances as the Doctor. He really gives off fiery emotion when he's confronting Daleks and is appalled by their cold-blooded killings. I enjoy his scenes every time and liked it when he's meeting up with Sec to discuss the new Dalek-humans and changing the way the Daleks are to be. I liked it when there was that semi-reference to Davros from 'Genesis of the Daleks' by David's Doctor. The Doctor shares scenes with Laszlo as he's uncertain about reversing the process the Daleks have done to him. I really enjoyed his scenes with Martha as the two of them get on well with each other by this point. I found it funny when they both give a hug and the lift door shuts and the Doctor's annoyed, `See! Never waste time in a hug!' I also liked it when the Doctor's up on the audience seats in the theatre and he prompts the Daleks on stage to let the Dalek-humans open fire on him. `Well?! What are you waiting for?! Give them the command!' David's Doctor is easily aghast by the Dalek's endless killing and it gets him into a boiling state of frame when he confronts the last Dalek towards the end.

I also enjoyed Martha Jones played by Freema Agyeman in this story. Martha is still in her early stages as a companion in her travels with the Doctor. But she comes across as a really strong and compassionate person which I liked. I found that scene in the first episode where she shouts at a Dalek, `You can't just experiment on people! It's insane! It's inhuman!' despite the Dalek gloating they themselves aren't human. Martha gets to be the leader in an adventure with Frank, Tallulah and Laszlo when they're in the Empire State Building. She discovers that Dalekanium is in place of the top of the Empire State Building, and she becomes resourceful in applying an electrical conductor in killing the Pig Slaves coming up in the lift before the Pigs slaughter them. Martha regrets killing the Pig Slaves since they were once human, but Laszlo tells her that the Daleks killed them long ago. She's shocked by the Daleks' cold-blooded killings and comes across as really compassionate and fiery throughout this story.

The Daleks implant Dalek thoughts into human minds when an army of humans is ready to rise and march for war. These were humans captured for the final experiment and their minds were wiped and were close to death. But when the gene feed works and the humans wake up, they march and think like Daleks and take Dalek guns with them. This harks back to classic stories like 'The Evil of the Daleks' when the Daleks worked on the human factor. But when the Daleks order the humans to open fire on the Doctor in the theatre, the humans don't obey. They question. `But why?' The Daleks get agitated and tell the humans to stop asking questions and kill. But the humans refuse since they are not Daleks. `No! And you never will be!' declares the Doctor when he reveals what he's done. The Dalek-humans open fire with their guns on their former Dalek masters and blow them up on stage, which was pretty amazing. But the Dalek-humans are soon killed as Dalek Kann who's controller in the Dalek hub commits genocide, much to the Doctor's horror. Seeing all this death shudders the Doctor, as he's now determined to confront the last Dalek back at home.

There's the final scene where the Doctor faces Dalek Kann. I found it tense when Kann is determined `You will be exterminated!' before the Doctor bitterly cuts him off. `What was your name again?!' `Dalek Kann!!!' The Doctor reveals to Kann how he happens to be the last as a result of what's happened today. The Doctor asks Kann to let him help him as he's the man who can show him some compassion. Kann is silent throughout during the Doctor's speech. Pretty rattled and shocked by the Doctor's words. Kann refuses to accept the Doctor's offer, and he utters `Emergency Temporal Shift' and disappears. The Doctor is frustrated at having to lose again with one Dalek escaping. But when he sees Laszlo in pain and is on the verge of death with Tallulah crying over him, the Doctor is passionately determined not to let anyone else die. With a laboratory at his disposal, the Doctor intends to save Laszlo's life. `Stand back Tallulah! The Doctor's in!'

In the end, the Doctor saves Laszlo's life. He cannot restore his human appearance, but Laszlo is allowed to live in Hooverville despite the looks. Frank becomes the new man in charge of Hooverville, and Tallulah's got his man back. The Doctor and Martha set off to leave, hoping that everything will be alright for Laszlo and Tallulah. There's still that Dalek out there that Martha's worried about. But the Doctor is sure he'll see him again. One day.

This is a great story featuring the Daleks that's well written and inspired, directed by James Strong. I wouldn't call it one of my all-time favourite Doctor Who Dalek stories, but it's good enough. The Doctor and Martha are great to watch, and it's a fine story with Daleks in 1930s New York to make it more appealing. I'm sure you'll find this a treat and worth the entertainment and enjoyment.

`THE LAZARUS EXPERIMENT'

The TARDIS arrives back in Martha Jones' flat, as the Doctor takes her home to London in the modern day. It's been twelve hours since Martha left home in relative time. The Doctor promised he would get her home and he's done just that. Martha's rather disappointed since she doesn't want to leave the Doctor after all they've been through. Then the Doctor and Martha watch a news item where they see Martha's sister Tish standing with Professor Richard Lazarus her new boss. Professor Lazarus announces he's going to change what it means to be human. The Doctor says goodbye to Martha and leaves in the TARDIS. Martha's saddened for the Doctor to go, until he immediately comes back much to her delight. He pops his head in utter disbelief. `No, I'm sorry! Did he say he's going to change what it means to be human?!'

This is one `Doctor Who' story I'll never forget. It's a pretty good action adventure featuring a mad scientist who does an experiment that goes wrong and becomes a monster. This film has similar plot threads and themes to the really good Marvel comics superhero stories with the likes of Spider-Man, the Fantastic Four and the Incredible Hulk. I like Marvel superhero stories such as Spider-Man, and to watch a story such as this in `Doctor Who' was a real treat. The story by Stephen Greenhorn is clever structured and well-paced and still manages to be a `Doctor Who' story despite its Marvel threads.

The mad scientist in question is Professor Lazarus, played by Mark Gatiss, who to `Doctor Who' fans is well known as an actor/writer for many `Doctor Who' stories including ones for the recent series. It's nice to see Mark Gatiss in the flesh and playing a character in `Doctor Who' compared to being off-screen writing stories. Here he plays a believable person in the form of Professor Lazarus who's an old man at first wanting to be young. Mark is actually wearing old-man make-up at the start before he's about to `perform a machine' inside his machine at the Lazarus Laboratories building where the demonstration takes place. He goes inside and despite a faulty demo comes out as his younger self with blond hair. He stretches out his arms and declares `I am 76 years old! And I am reborn!!!', receiving an audience's applause. The Doctor has seen this demonstration take place with Martha and is not too happy with what's just happened. It isn't long before Lazarus starts to undergo a transformation where he becomes a horrible monster, almost like a scorpion, and goes on a murderous rampage.

David Tennant is absolutely tremendous in this story as the Doctor. He gets to wear his tuxedo from 'Rise of the Cybermen'/'The Age of Steel' and is really at his best when challenging Lazarus' views on avoiding death and making himself younger. He judges Lazarus when he finds his body's becoming unstable and dismisses the notion that he calls it progress. The Doctor gets to know Martha more as he shares scenes with her during the story when they go to the demonstration, and they comment on their dress attire. I loved it when the Doctor and Martha get inside Lazarus' experiment and they're trying to find a way out a tricky situation in a tight spot. `You mean you don't have a plan?', `Yes the plan was to get in here,', `And then what?', `And then...then I come up with another plan.', `In your own time then.'. I found that moment really funny. The Doctor gets to say `Reverse the polarity' in this story which I've always wanted David Tennant's Doctor to say from Jon Pertwee.

I loved watching Freema Aygeman in this, who looks so lovely as Martha Jones when she attends the party at the Lazarus demonstration in evening dress and all. Martha gets to have an adventure with the Doctor in London where she lives. She reconnects with her family who for her hasn't seen for a long time. It's quite a difficult experience for her to explain to her mum, sister and brother where she's been lately. We get to know more about her in this story and why she sticks by the Doctor much to her mother's horror and shock. Martha is a really brave person when she uses the sonic screwdriver to get everyone out of the Lazarus building and goes back to rescue the Doctor. She's even braver when she and Tish get chased by Lazarus up to the top of Southwark Cathedral before he turns into the monster and lure him into the trap for the Doctor to play the organ at sonic level towards the end.

Martha's family in this story include Tish Jones, played by Gugu Mbatha-Raw who gets a job at Lazarus Laboratories. There's also Leo Jones, played Reggie Yates, who accompanies his mum to the Lazarus demonstration for Tish's sake. Adjoa Andoh returns playing Martha's mum, Francine Jones, in this story. Here she's brought to the forefront as an interesting character when she comes into contact from the Doctor. She gets suspicious of Martha's new friend and doesn't like what's going on between them. She suspects something's not right, and is determined to protect Martha from this Doctor man. She even gets information from a mysterious man at the party who tells her discouraging information about the Doctor, saying that he's not safe. This makes Francine aggressive in a motherly fashion towards the Doctor who slaps him and tells him to keep away from her daughter. Martha is shocked by her mum's behaviour and is insistent about the Doctor being a good man, but Francine doesn't believe it.

By the end of this story, the Doctor invites Martha for one more trip in the TARDIS. I really liked that scene where Martha refuses to go as she doesn't want to be a passenger anymore and wants to join proper as a full-time companion. After a moment of misunderstanding, the Doctor agrees to let Martha come aboard, much to her joy and happiness as she hugs him. The two leave in the TARDIS, before a phone messages goes on Martha's answering machine. It's from her mum who begs her to call her and to keep away from the Doctor since she's not safe according to information from Mr Saxon. Mr Saxon?! Who's that then? Who could he be?

This is a great episode of `Doctor Who' and an enjoyable one with a thrilling ride. It delves deeper into Martha's character and family background and is a great action adventure where the Doctor fights a mad scientist turning into a monster. What more can you want?!

`42'

Right! Time is of the essence! The Doctor and Martha have locked onto a distress call in the TARDIS and have arrived on the spaceship S.S. Pentallian. It's really hot in there! Absolutely boiling! The Doctor and Martha find there's chaos and trouble afoot as the spaceship's going out of control. They and the crew of the ship have 42 minutes left. 42 minutes left to what? 42 minutes left until the ship crashed into the sun! This is one `Doctor Who' story that's really a big disaster movie with everything happening all at once. It's a story that will thrill you and terrify you. Hold on to your seats! This is going to be one heck of a ride.

I really enjoyed this fast-paced and really full-on heat-intense story written by Chris Chibnall and directed by Graeme Harper. Chris at the time was a regular writer on 'Torchwood', and to have him write his first `Doctor Who' story was such a treat. Graeme, who I've met at a `Doctor Who' convention in 2010 and has directed many Who stories including the all-time classic `The Caves of Androzani' and many David Tennat stories, brings a fiery and exciting story to screen. It's pretty intense with people dying off one by one throughout this story and has the Doctor and Martha in a really intense period of time. The clock counts down throughout this story from 42 minutes to zero which is an exciting plot device to use as the anticipation increases to whether the characters and the ship are going to come out alive of this or not.

The crew of the S.S. Pentallian is led by Kath McDonnell, played by Michelle Collins, who is captain of this ship. Michelle is well-known for her fame in `Eastenders', and she plays a really interesting lady who is captain of a spaceship under a lot of pressure. She's trying to get this ship of hers away from the sun with all her crew on board and it's not an easy ride. Michelle plays Kath McDonnell with such emotional vulnerability and determination, especially when she finds her hubby Korwin going through a mental stage. She loves her husband but has to focus in getting her crew to following her orders and listens to the Doctor when he tells her what's going on and how to get her ship back on course. She doesn't know how or why the ship's crash-landing. It transpires that this all her fault. Why and how it's her fault will soon become evident by the end of this story.

The rest of the crew include engineer Orin Scannell (played by Anthony Flanagan), Riley Vashtee (played by William Ash), medic Abi Lerner (Vinette Robinson), Dev Ashton (Gary Powell) and Erina Lessak (Rebecca Oldfield). There's also Korwin (played by Matthew Chambers) who is Kath McDonnell's husband and gets infected by something burning his eyes. He can't open his eyes when he's been taken to sick bay. He's the one who sabotage the ship, much to Kath's horror and disbelief. Korwin experience agonising pain before the Doctor gives him a sedative. Korwin slowly becomes converted and is standing and walking like he's possessed as he declares `BURN WITH ME!' And when he says `Burn with me!', he really means it. He incinerates crew members one by one by opening his eyes ablaze with flame and burns them, turning them into ash. He puts on a red helmet and breathes through much like Darth Vadar, continuing to burn everyone else alive on board the ship.

Martha and the Doctor get to help out in saving the crew of the ship from crashing into the sun. I love Martha's adventure with Riley (played by William Ash) as they go through various stages to reach the ship's bridge by entering passwords for each of the thirty doors that are deadlocked. These passwords are in the form of a pop quiz asking questions, which soon becomes a nightmare when the questions increase with difficulty. I found the moments funny when the Doctor's on intercom with them and helps them out. Martha asks the Doctor who got the most downloads - the Beatles or Elvis Presley. The Doctor smacks his head when he's unsure of the answer `Elvis! No, the Beatles! Argh, no Elvis! Argh!' and then gives up `I don't know, I'm busy!' and Martha shrewdly replies she'll ask someone else. And she does as she calls up her mum Francine (played by Adjoa Andoh who returns) and she disapproves of Martha's cheating in a pop quiz with her phone which I found very funny.

I found that moment really intense and emotional when Martha and Riley get trapped in an airlock and they're trying to tap out Ashton who becomes converted like Korwin and is trying to throw them out in an escape pod towards the sun. There's that silent moment when the Doctor mouths to Martha through the airlock `I'll save you!' before the escape pod gets slowly shot out into space and into the sun. That silence really was gut-wrenching and horrible to feel as I watched that moment. Martha's upset as she's about to die with Riley, and I liked it when she and Riley share scenes about who they love and about their family. I liked Martha's relationship with Riley, as the two seemed to be getting close to each other throughout this adventure. Martha gives her mother Francine a call on her mobile to ask how she is before she dies. But the conversation doesn't bode well with Martha's mum constantly asking suspicious questions about the Doctor before Martha hangs up.

The Doctor's determined to save Martha, and I like it when he goes out in a spacesuit and he gets to the locking mechanisms outside the ship to pull the escape pod back inside. It's a really dangerous thing to do as engineer Scannel tells him. But the Doctor's not going to let Martha die and he does it such agonising strength and determination. The escape pod manages to be pulled back, and Martha and Riley are saved. I really like those moments when David Tennant's Doctor truly heroic and that's him all over when it comes to action sequence and being compassionate about someone. But the Doctor discovers something when he looks at the sun and becomes shocked and horrified, before he too gets infected. Back inside the ship, Martha and Riley come to find him and he screams with eyes blazing with fire, `Stay away from me!'. This leads to an intense and fiery performance from David when he undergoes a traumatic and painful experience that could lead him to his death.

The Doctor manages to survive with Martha helping him, and the two of them resume their travels in the TARDIS. The Doctor seems gives Martha a TARDIS key that makes her a proper companion. Martha is delighted and overjoyed, before she gives her mum a call to reassure her everything's alright. She hopes to see her mum over tea sometime before she hangs up. Throughout the episode, Martha's phone calls to her mum have been monitored by a mysterious woman and a couple of men in dark suits. These people are working for Mr Saxon who are seemingly helping Francine with her daughter about the Doctor. There's that Mr Saxon person again. Who is he? What he's all about? He must be very important. Apparently he's a candidate for the next General Election in the UK of that year. Where will it all lead I wonder? I was keen to find out.

A brilliant episode in 42 minutes and a really intense action-thriller-horror adventure with the Doctor and Martha. I enjoyed it very much and it's good to have a classic Who director like Graeme Harper to be on board to tell new stories for a new generation of Who watchers. And this episode contains some brilliant performances from both David Tennant and Freema Agyeman.

All in all, a good collection of `Doctor Who' episodes from the third series of the show since its comeback. The stories by this point are stronger in pace and structure, and are well-balanced in terms of action, adventure and excitement. It's a good collection featuring the Doctor and Martha as the new Doctor-companion team who by this point are getting on well in their character relationships.

The next story for the Doctor and Martha is 'The Infinite Quest'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best eps, 21 July 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The revived Doctor who has been somewhat of a mixed bag since it began 2 yrs ago,sometimes brilliant episodes would be followed by horrid ones. This collection from season 3 is ok but no more than that. The dalek 2 parter is pretty lame,theres barely enough material here for 1 episode let alone 2,theres virtually no action and a load of actors doing fake american accents running around!!..writr helen raynor will be contributing another 2 part story for season 4,lets hope it better than this!

The Lazurus experiment is although stoeywise pretty flimsy it's quite an enjoyable episode and prob the best ep on this disc

42 is a story by chris chibnell..the main writer on torchwood. This is another mediocre story..all too reminiscent of last yrs impossible planet 2 parter..why do another take on a similar theme this soon?? doesnt make sense..some nice fx in this at the end but again it's not that great.

Fortunatley the next volume is excellent with the family of blood 2 parter and the amazing blink...this is how it should be done..avoid this volume and get the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Who, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
More of the great original British TV series spanning 50 years. Superb and enjoyable Family entertainment for Dr Who fans. Highly recommended..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who DVD, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Bought this as a treat for my Son and he says its brill,he has watched it several times and he will watch it loads more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great watch, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The daleks are back but this time with a good twist the main dalek is part human and wants to work with the doctor to create a new alliance ....nice daleks....no way....or could it happen the doctors worst enemy turns good!!!! you'll have to watch and see.

another great load episodes for the dr and martha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brillant dalek story, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
one of the iconic new(ish) doctor who's , shows the intelligence and the pure ruthlessness of the daleks poor dalek sec
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars llove it, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
got this dr who because i love Freema Agyeman. she lovely i be her patient any time as she play a doctor herself in the tv series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DOCTOR WHO SERIES 3 VOL 2, 27 Feb 2010
By 
Angela J. Welch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This DVD was as new still in its wrapping and I received it within a week of ordering it I was very pleased with the DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005]
Doctor Who - Series 3 Volume 2 [DVD] [2005] by David Tennant (DVD - 2007)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews