Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WWE Royal Rumble 2007
This was a superb Royal Rumble, the card is well set out and it lived up to the 2nd best PPV of 2007 so far. There were only a couple of let downs (the rating is 5 stars, but I think of it as 4 1/2 stars) - but on the whole, it is a brilliant PPV with the Royal Rumble Match of course, being the show-stealer.

1. TAG TEAM MATCH: The Hardy Boyz vs MNM...
Published on 23 Jun 2007 by Danny Boy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Event, Well Worth The Watch
With this event, I am reviewing my second Royal Rumble DVD purchase, so here we go.

There is a nice intro to the event. This was the 20th edition of the Royal Rumble, so you get a little look back at the last 20 years of the Rumble.

The first match features M.N.M take on the Hardy Boyz. I had no idea both Matt and Jeff were still together around this...
Published 24 months ago by Fox in the Box


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WWE Royal Rumble 2007, 23 Jun 2007
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2007 [Steel Book Dvd] (DVD)
This was a superb Royal Rumble, the card is well set out and it lived up to the 2nd best PPV of 2007 so far. There were only a couple of let downs (the rating is 5 stars, but I think of it as 4 1/2 stars) - but on the whole, it is a brilliant PPV with the Royal Rumble Match of course, being the show-stealer.

1. TAG TEAM MATCH: The Hardy Boyz vs MNM

This was another cracking battle between two of the greatest teams in the WWE. The rivalry is really one to dream of. Nice moves, sweet spots and a breathtaking finish - what more could you want? One of the best moments saw Jeff's patented Whisper in the Wind. It was a great battle, but not on the level of their December to Dismember match. Another thing is that all the superstars (except Joey Mercury) are entered in the Rumble match as well. (9/10)

2. ECW WORLD TITLE: Test vs Bobby Lashley (c)

Disappointing, not worthy of a PPV match. Slow throughout the whole match, and was saved from being the worst match of the year by a couple of good power moves by Lashley. The fans despised this match and the way it turned out; Test just walked away and lost via Countout. What a loser! Lashley gives Test a running powerslam after the match...why does Lashley bother? He kind of sucks now. Lame match, please skip it. (3/10)

3. WORLD HEAVYWEIGHT TITLE: Batista (c) vs Mr. Kennedy

This match had little heat, but was very entertaining. Much better than the previous encounter. Kennedy is one of my favourite wrestlers today, and Batista still looks better than ever. Fans really wanted Kennedy to win this match, but sadly he couldn't beat the Animal. This match, for some reason, was expected to be bad, but it's not your usual Smackdown title defense. Better than your might think, but I really enjoyed this match. (8/10)

4. WWE TITLE LAST MAN STANDING MATCH: Umaga vs. John Cena (c)

What a match! Brutal and definitley a turning point in both of these superstars' careers. Started a bit slow, but once it got going, the crowd were really into it. Tables, steel steps, TV monitors, even the ring rope got pulled out of its sockets to be used in the bout! Umaga's best match to date, and truly one of the best matches of 2007. This could have been the show stealer, but some may disagree. In my opinion, 2nd best match of the night. (9.5/10)

5. 30-MAN ROYAL RUMBLE MATCH

The most star-studded Royal Rumble in history is indeed one for the ages. Loads of main-eventers were in the ring at the same time, which was really interesting. Rivalries ended, new ones began and of course, a WrestleMania main event (truly deserved) waiting for the winner. At one point, Sabu got chokeslammed by Kane through a table that he, himself set up! Nice spots, well timed eliminations, and as good as they get. Possibly the best Royal Rumble in history. (10/10)

So, buy the DVD while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Rumble. Simply great, 18 May 2007
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2007 [Steel Book Dvd] (DVD)
Well, it's that time of year again. The annual WWE Royal Rumble is here and needless to say, you're in for a real treat in front of the telly. Regardless of how good or how bad Royal Rumble pay-per-view events of the past have been, the match itself is always special and always delivers. And it just so happens that every match (except one) on this DVD adds more exciting entertainment to the main event itself.

The Hardys vs. MNM

A great contest between two of the greatest tag-teams to ever set foot in a WWE ring, and yes, that includes MNM. The whole Hardy-MNM singles/tag-team rivalry really produced some awesome stuff and this is a great example of that quality. No better way to kick off the show. (8/10)

ECW Championship Match

Bobby Lashley (Champion) vs. Test

Oh...dear. Whenever I look back from the start of ECW's relaunch at One Night Stand 2006 to where it is now, I think `Rise and Fall of ECW: the next generation'. How it all went wrong, I really don't know. Lashley has the makings of a fine ECW Champion, in my opinion, but he can't showcase the peak of his abilities under circumstances like these. Should've been extreme rules and/or should've had RVD in it. It doesn't surprise me that Test was soon fired after this given how he performs here. The match AND the outcome is VERY un-ECW. Vince...bring back Paul Heyman. (5/10)

World Heavyweight Championship Match

Batista (Champion) vs. Mr Kennedy

Mr Kennedy is gonna be someone one day, you can tell. Great gimmick, great mike skills and great wrestling ability. Batista turns in a very good effort, resulting in a quality bout that flatters the prestige of Smackdown's world title. This was given the right amount of time and got better and better as it progressed. Perhaps I'm being too generous here, but I rather enjoyed this one (8/10)

WWE Championship Last Man Standing Match

John Cena (Champion) vs. Umaga (w/Armando Alejandro Estrada)

The huge culmination of a successful rivalry. This is the match where Umaga's name was put on the wrestling map. Umaga is at his best here and Cena delivers yet again. Just when you think you'd seen it all in wrestling, both these guys show you some completely original spots that go beyond amazing. A phenomenal story with such a clever finish that makes both champion and challenger look like absolute winners. Match of the night and a worthy match-of-the-year candidate. (9/10)

Royal Rumble Match

Described by the commentators as `the most star-studded Royal Rumble in history'. I don't think so. That honour goes to the 1992 Royal Rumble match. This Royal Rumble has such a great cast nonetheless, featuring so many legends, rising stars, former world champions and veterans of all kinds. Not the best rumble I've had the pleasure of watching but these matches are always so much fun to watch, so it really doesn`t matter. The final moments are classic as one of the greatest feuds ever is finally reactivated, making for an awesome outcome. (9/10)

As great as the pay-per-view is, don't expect many extras. There's only three, which are a very good tag team title match between Shawn Michaels/John Cena and Rated RKO, a RAW segment featuring Vince McMahon and Donald Trump and a backstage interview with the Royal Rumble winner. All of which are tied to the Road to WrestleMania. While there's nothing wrong with any of the extras, there should have been a few more to accompany the event to add that more of a nice little touch to the DVD.

I feel as though I have to mention the presentation of the DVD here. Get the limited edition steelbook case while you still can. It really is so beautiful and will make you even more proud to own what is one of the best Rumbles in recent memory.

In closing, the 2007 edition of the Royal Rumble is an essential purchase. If you can overlook the dire ECW title match, this is practically faultless entertainment for all wrestling fans. You'll get your money's worth out of almost every match on here. And the whole `Road to WrestleMania' feel and the sight of thirty men beating each other senseless should always bring a smile to any fan's face. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it while its cheap., 18 July 2007
By 
B. Robb "Niall Robb" (Belfast, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2007 [Steel Book Dvd] (DVD)
This years Royal Rumble was very good. The Last man standing match was also very well pulled off, but the other matches were above average. Please read on for match-by-match comments.

1) The Hardyz vs MNM
This was a very good WWE tag team match. Not as good a December to Dismember it furthered the rivalry and kept it interesting. This series has been very rewarding and should have ended at wrestlemania. Sadly it lost momentum at No Way Out. This match is worth 4 stars.

2) ECW title Match. Bobby Lashley VS Test
This was a strange way to end their rivalry. The beginning minits were good but it lostmomentum and the ending sucked. This match is worth 2 stars. So Please skip it.

3) World Heavyweight Championship match. Batista vs Mr Kennedy
This match was my favourite as i am a huge Kennedy fan. I enjoyed this match as kennedy was a very good heel and tried very hard. Batista though diddnt and gave a half-hearted performance. Therefore This match is worth 3.5 stars.

4) WWE Championship match. John Cena vs Umaga.
This match had a great buildup and was perfectly excecuted. I believe this is one of the best Last Man Standing matches ever. The pase is never the same as there are no near falls and the tension is not as easy to build. That is why i was so impressed with this match. Theykept me on the edge of my seat. This is one to go in Cenas best matches DVD. This match is worth 5 stars.

5) The Royal Rumble.
This match was one of the best Rumbles i have seen. The action was non-stop and weapons were fruitful.Sometimes the Rumble got slightly boring but that was ok as in 90 seconds the action was renued. The ending sequence was great and the fact that Undertaker won was just icing on the cake. Thats why this match is worth 4.5 stars.

This years rumble was very good and i am glad that i bought it. My overall rating is in Percent. 4 + 2 + 3.5 + 5 + 4.5 = 19/25 times 4 Equals 76% = a 4 star PPV.

please tell me if this was helpful.

Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Event, Well Worth The Watch, 17 July 2012
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2007 [Steel Book Dvd] (DVD)
With this event, I am reviewing my second Royal Rumble DVD purchase, so here we go.

There is a nice intro to the event. This was the 20th edition of the Royal Rumble, so you get a little look back at the last 20 years of the Rumble.

The first match features M.N.M take on the Hardy Boyz. I had no idea both Matt and Jeff were still together around this time, so it was a real shocker for me to see them in action here. Sadly, this is a very slow, forgettable and irritating match ie. Melina and her bloody screaming, was that 'really' necessary??? Also, just to point out, this is the Hardy Boyz we're taking about!! Instead, they are dominated by two nobodies in Johnny Nitro and Joey Mercury. I had really hoped to see a classic Hardys match of old and was only treated to a snippet of this at the end! Nice in that the Hardy Boyz win in style!

ECW's Test and Bobby Lashley square off next in probably the worst match I've ever seen!! The match doesn't even 'end', as Test walks out on Lashley! If this is how ECW matches went down, then it's no wonder this gimmick didn't last long... 'nuff said, really!

Umaga takes on John Cena in a Last Man Standing match next. The promo to this match would force one to put their money on Umaga. Anyhow, this is a great match and both men really give it their all, especially Cena! I think it is fair to say the right man wins.

Finally, we have the 2007 Royal Rumble match. 30 Superstars, One Ring, One Prize: a Main Event spot at Wrestlemania. This match is always a good laugh and very entertaining to watch. A big congrats to Finlay in this match - he lasted well over 35 minutes in the match, having come in at Number 2. ECW stars appear for the first time ever. You have Sabu (crazy!), Rob Van Dam and Tommy Dreamer, to name but three!
The last 2 men in this match: The Undertaker and Shawn Michaels, which is a precious and very special moment. They are 2 of the longest-lasting Superstars in the Company, so the crowd were really pumped here! Moreover, they wanted to see Michaels win because the event took place in his hometown: San Antonio, Texas. Sadly, it is the Taker who picks up his first Rumble win. Michaels' reaction after the match is hard to watch - he is very upset - the Hometown Man should have won in San Antonio!

Overall, this event is good, not great, but well worth the watch. I'm sure there are better Royal Rumble events than this. In fact, I hope so because I plan to grab some more.

By the way, the packaging of this DVD is really nice; the steelbook cases are really cool, so do try and get your hands on some of these.

Thanks for reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Undertaker Is Going To WrestleMania 23", 26 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2007 [Steel Book Dvd] (DVD)
WWE Royal Rumble 2007 in my mind is one of the very Royal Rumble events that I've seen. I totally enjoyed this pay-per-view and would recommend to those who have not seen this Royal Rumble pay-per-view event.

1. Jeff & Matt Hardy vs Johnny Nitro & Joey Mercury 4/5

2. Bobby Lashley vs Test (ECW Championship) 3/5

3. Mr Kennedy vs Batista (World Heavyweight Championship) 3/5

4. John Cena vs Umaga (Last Man Standing for the WWE Championship) Match of the Night 5/5

5. 2007 Royal Rumble Match 4/5

Extras

1. John Cena & HBK vs Rated RKO (World Tag Team Titles) 4/5
2. Donald Trump embarrassing Mr McMahon on RAW 3/5
3. Todd Grisham interviews The Undertaker 1/5 (Undertaker does not say anything)

Overall the Royal Rumble 2007 pay-per-view event is defiantly worth the watch and is now one of my favourite Royal Rumble pay-per-view events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Royal Rumble 07 best ppv of year in my opinion, 2 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. C. Read "Nathan" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2007 [Steel Book Dvd] (DVD)
Match 1 Hardys Vs MNM a bit boring for me 5/10
Match 2 Lashley vs Test right man won and it was a good match 7/10
Match 3 Kennedy vs Batista JBL going sick in this match that Batista cheated
but face it Kennedy wouldent have got the pin anyways 8/10
Umaga vs John Cena best match of the year in my view absolutley brill blood
action best cena fight for a long time 10/10
Royal Rumble Match very good i enjoyed it Undertaker got lucky with 30th
entrant though he wasn't 30th entrant that Khali would have won 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT GREAT, 23 Mar 2009
By 
D. Mcilroy "wwe dvd dpm" (belfast n.i) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2007 [Steel Book Dvd] (DVD)
I OWN MOST WWE PPVS ON DVD + HAVE SEEN THE OTHERS AND I DONT THINK THIS WAS A GREAT PPV AT ALL I ALSO THOUGHT THE ROYAL RUMBLE MATCH ITSELF WASNT GREAT THE TALENT IN IT IS NOT GOOD ITS ALMOST AS BAD AS RR 05 THERES DEF BETTER ROYAL RUMBLES TO OWN (MID 90S TO EARLY 00,'s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You cant hide from the deadman., 9 Jun 2007
By 
F. M. Flannery "F.M.McKenna" (Britian) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2007 [Steel Book Dvd] (DVD)
MATCH 1!

The Hardy Boyz vs. MNM 8.5 /10

A decent fast paced opener, bearing in mind all men (except Mercury) go on to the Rumble later.

MATCH 2!

ECW CHAMPIONSHIP MATCH: Bobby Lashley vs Test 5/10

It's a shame they didn't have the old extreme rules for this match as it was quite boring without it and was just like a wwe match also had a terrible ending.

MATCH 3!

WORLD HEAVYWEIGHT CHAMPIONSHIP MATCH: Batista vs MR. Kennedy 7.5/10

Personally MR. Kennedy is the worst wrestler in wwe history and should'nt be in the same ring as a champ let alone a championship match but it was an ok match non-the-less.

MATCH 4!

WWE CHAMIONSHIP MATCH John Cena vs Umaga 9/10

This was the best non-rumble match and had some great moments including Umaga inadvertantly putting himself through a table an f.u and Cena choking Umaga with the ring ropes. Second best match of the night.

MATCH 5!

ROYAL RUMBLE 10 Smackdown Raw and Ecw superstars 9.5/10

The most extreme rumble i've seen especially Sabu getting chokeslammed through a table as well as the last two men having a great fight brill rumble.

This review was written by Paul Flannery not Frances Flannery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wwe Royal Rumble 2007, 25 April 2007
By 
Martin "Butler" (Rugeley, Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: WWE - Royal Rumble 2007 [Steel Book Dvd] (DVD)
Hardyz vs MNM.

This rivalry has become even more severe over the past few weeks. A really nice opener. The hardyz look bang inline for some tag titles id say. Blind tags allows hardy to execute swanton bomb after this viscious tussle, for the victory.

Good opener 7/10 Winners ( Hardyz )

(ECW World Title)

Test vs Lashley. poor match, boring. Scrap ECW now.

1/10 Countout.

(World Heivyweight Champ)Batista vs Mr.Kennedy.

A decent match not bad at all, mr keenedy provides surprisingly decent oposition. BETTER THEN EXPECTED.

7/10 Winner ( Batista)

(WWE Title) John Cena vs Umaga.

A brutal raw main event, very good match cena gets battered throughout before coming backto beat umaga, used the ropes and turnbuckle cleverly.

Great main event. 8/10

Winner ( Cena)

Royal rumble Match.

Very good match. One of the best matches in years. Hbk is awesome throughout and the last battle between taker and HBK is truly awesome and must go down in rumble history as one of the best last man battles.

Great 2 watch

9/10 Winner ( Taker )

This is a decent ppv all round. The lowlight has to be ECW get them of wwe ppv's. Other then that the other 4 matches, 2 were goo , 2 were very good. If you like this guy even in small bits HBK is truly aweomse tonight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE - Royal Rumble 2007 [Steel Book Dvd]
21.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews