Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent prequal to Stone Cold
Tom Selleck (best known as Thamas Magnum in the cult television series Magnum P I) return as Jesse Stone in the thrilling prequal to Stone Cold. This film which is set before Stone Cold sees Stone relocated to the small coastal town of Paradise where he becomes embroilled in murder and Money Laundering, with an abusive husband with possible connections to the mob. This is...
Published on 27 Jun. 2008 by David

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars was a damn good read but I won't bother with any more of ...
dialogue is short and pithy, characters flawed and believable , but our hero does seem to be a bit of a don juan, able to pull at the slightest wish . was a damn good read but I won't bother with any more of these films as tom sellick is much better as a big city commissioner than as Jesse Stone. He just didnt cut it for me
Published 20 months ago by PETER SPRATT


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent prequal to Stone Cold, 27 Jun. 2008
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Tom Selleck (best known as Thamas Magnum in the cult television series Magnum P I) return as Jesse Stone in the thrilling prequal to Stone Cold. This film which is set before Stone Cold sees Stone relocated to the small coastal town of Paradise where he becomes embroilled in murder and Money Laundering, with an abusive husband with possible connections to the mob. This is not an action packed "Shoot em up" but is compelling well acted, well written drama at its best. Tom Selleck is excellent as Stone - a role which is far removed from Magnum. I watched this before Stone Cold which does help. Now there are four Jesse Stone tv movies to date. I hope they make alot more - there are plenty of books to adapt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant scripts and cinematography, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
Art "Art" (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I've now seen 4 of the Jesse Stone series of 'tv movies', and I can thoroughly recommend it. It is SUPERB, well-made, intelligently written television, that has the look and feel of a great cinema movie.

I think this is ALL due to the fact that as well as being the lead character, Tom Selleck also controls much of the production and scripts, based on very good novels. I suspect he also carefully control who else is cast, and everyone is believable, and play their roles superbly. A special mention for Kathy Baker, who was of course in 'Picket Fences', another superb series

You DO need to buy the DVDs in the correct order, as some stories cross-over with earlier ones, so to do this you need to carefully read the synopsis BUT note one of the (later) DVDs in the series is a pre-quel, so buy that first !

100% recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 9 April 2010
By 
A. E. Hardman "Keir MH" (Crewe UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Firstly the only possible criticisms of this wonderful film:
1. Tom Selleck is too old and too heavy for Jesse Stone.
2. The film makes no attempt to recreate the book's plot, cutting out huge chunks and only hinting at other bits of it.

However even if you know the book by heart you will forgive these failings. Because, apart from the above mismatches, Tom Selleck (an actor I have never had any time for) is absolutely terrific in the lead role: he gets right to the heart of the character within the first few frames and from that moment on you're quite willing to suspend disbelief.

Also, although Robert Parker is a great writer, his strengths are character and dialogue rather than plot: to be honest the film plot is much more convincing than the book and given the time constraints of the medium, they have packed lots in, including the best scenes and dialogue. Jesse's confrontation with Jo Genest is truly memorable, and large passages of dialogue are lifted straight from the book.

I read the books first and loved them: now I am watching the films and enjoying them just as much: how often can you say that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Sexy Thing, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Another very good episode of Jesse Stone. I can understand why many middle-aged women like him and find him sexy as he exudes a form of controlled dependability and is completely without sleaze. The stories lines are good and well-acted set in believable locations.
My only criticism is that I wish he would show more consideration towards his dog. I am not being flippant. I think that a fully developed male; as Selleck purports to be, would understand that we share this planet with animals and kidnap certain animals to become our companions. This is the only fault with Selleck's performance, a lack of compassion towards the miracle of nature. But there again, he plays a drunk on the rebound from a divorce, living alone far from his roots and is so weak that he has to telephone her every night to check that his mental strength is okay.
Mind you, he manages to get his leg over many women throughout the series so some women go for his `take' on being a bloke.
In short - a well-acted film in the Jesse Stone series about a maverick Cop, lovelorn, living in a backwater without a care in the world except those of everyone he meets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Fashion Suspense Mystery, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This was a new series to me, and I was a little apprehensive.Tom Selleck as Magnum PI, which was of course an excellent series, showed more brawn that acting skills.
What a wonderful surprise to find that he is a good actor after all.
The series is actually very basic. Cop with bad drinking problem (Selleck) moves to a new location and becomes chief of police. Boring? Heck no. A town mystery involves him in all sorts of human drama's and presents the reason for him to question his life.
There is a place for tears - his companion of ten years (dog) has to be euthanasiaed, a discovery of treachery and questions, questions, questions. The story grips you and keeps you enthralled to the end.The time spent watching was well worth it, as were the follow ups that I have been able to acquire.
Not a high powered blood and guts series, just good old fashion skulduggery and murder most foul. If you enjoy mystery and suspense, with a touch of human drama, a good series to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOM SELLECK !!, 22 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
NIght Passage is a perfect vehicle for Tom Selleck - WHO, as you may have noticed, has ALTERED HIS SPEAKING VOICE AT LEAST THREE NOTES LOWER !!!! now, his voice matches the rest of him !! gorgeous... !! excellent film with first rate performances by all, and BEST THING TOM HAS DONE IN A WHILE !!!!
Michelle Williams

ps. I received this film with positively LIGHTNING SPEED !!! HURRAY FOR THE SELLER !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Night Passage, 21 Mar. 2012
By 
M. Dugdale (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The first of the best mini series to come from the U.S. Tom Selleck is excellent in his role as Jesse Stone, his personal problems and his demons don't get in the way of his professionalism as a police officer. I have bought all of the DVD's in the series so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Faithful to the spirit but not the fact!, 2 Dec. 2012
By 
M. J. Johnston "marburg" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is a good production. Tom Selleck works as Jesse Stone and the supporting characters are also excellent.

However, it is only truish to the book's plot ( making it rather one dimensional) and Tom Selleck is about 15 years too old and rather heavier than the book's Jesse Stone. In addition, the excellent actress playing Molly Crane is not actually representative of the character in the book (although a good substitute).

Even so well worth watching and the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Selleck IS Jesse Stone, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
D. J. Thomson (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Anyone who has read and enjoyed the Jesse Stone novels will enjoy seeing him brought to life on screen. Tom Selleck is a good fit as Stone, playing a flawed character much darker than we perhaps remember from Magnum or similar.

As for the film, the plot has been stripped down somewhat to fit into the 90 minute TV movie time frame, but it's certainly well worth the watch.

I definitely will be getting the other movies in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jesse Stone stories - little treasures, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Recommend this to anyone who likes thoughtful, well acted and produced entertainment. These movies are very watchable, and I never miss them given the opportunity. That's why I had to buy the DVDs.

Tom Selleck is excellent in the role of Jesse, flawed but not your usual "loose cannon cop" feasible and sympathetic. He is supported by actors who play their parts seamlessly working to produce a well written, presented story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007]
Jesse Stone: Night Passage [DVD] [2007] by Robert Harmon (DVD - 2007)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews