Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tightly wound and ready to snap
Should anybody ever ask you the meaning of the idiom "tightly wound", you only need recommend THE UPSIDE OF ANGER as a visual explanation.
Joan Allen stars as Terry Wolfmeyer, the middle-aged mother of four daughters precipitously abandoned by her husband, who's apparently run off to Scandinavia with his Swedish personal secretary. Terry internalizes her...
Published on 27 Dec 2005 by Joseph Haschka

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some extraordinary performances make this worth seeing
The Upside of Anger is a film about a woman's descent into alcoholism after her husband abandons her (and their 4 teenage daughters) without a word or a backward glance.

Joan Allen puts in an extraordinary performance as the angry, bitter wife, matched (and I never thought I would say this) by Kevin Costner's performance as the drunken neighbour, a faded...
Published on 5 Nov 2007 by Jaybird


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some extraordinary performances make this worth seeing, 5 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: The Upside Of Anger [DVD] (DVD)
The Upside of Anger is a film about a woman's descent into alcoholism after her husband abandons her (and their 4 teenage daughters) without a word or a backward glance.

Joan Allen puts in an extraordinary performance as the angry, bitter wife, matched (and I never thought I would say this) by Kevin Costner's performance as the drunken neighbour, a faded baseball star turned DJ.

Kevin plays a great drunk and is also convincing as a man intrigued by the femininity of the household he has suddenly become a part of. That all woman household is definitely a bewitching thing to watch and observe, with beautifully choreographed scenes in the kitchen, as the girls pick up the pieces of suburban life for their mother.

What is less convincing is the turnaround, particularly of Kevin Costner's character. He is altogether too unselfish and empathetic; his redemption too easy and straightforward.

Which is a great shame, because a film that looked like it would be a really insightful, emotionally complex piece turns into something altogether too pat and bland to be entirely satisfying. I'd still recommend it, if you want to watch a romance with a bit of bite to match the humour, and are in the mood for something a bit soapy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tightly wound and ready to snap, 27 Dec 2005
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Should anybody ever ask you the meaning of the idiom "tightly wound", you only need recommend THE UPSIDE OF ANGER as a visual explanation.
Joan Allen stars as Terry Wolfmeyer, the middle-aged mother of four daughters precipitously abandoned by her husband, who's apparently run off to Scandinavia with his Swedish personal secretary. Terry internalizes her tremendous rage, and only just manages to control it with constant alcohol consumption. Her composure is further taxed by daughters Andy (Erika Christensen), "Popeye" (Evan Rachel Wood), Emily (Keri Russell), and Hadley (Alicia Witt) - all of whom are making life choices regarding love, sex, and education with which Mom vehemently disagrees. Circling the periphery of the Wolfmeyer household looking for a romantic opportunity with Terry is Denny Davies (Kevin Costner), an easy going but lonely ex-baseball star who subsists on beer and the money earned from autographing baseballs and hosting a radio talk show.
Once again, Allen demonstrates that her acting ability is a national treasure. Is it too soon in the 2005 film season to mention Academy Award? And Costner, who's had his Big Screen ups and downs, hits it just right with Davies, a role perhaps suggesting a composite of the characters he played in BULL DURHAM and TIN CUP. The young actresses playing the daughters are all beautiful and delightful, though it stretched my credulity to believe that they were siblings. And I think that there was one sister too many. (As in the planting of garden trees, three is the "right" number.)
It's enormously refreshing both to see a love story involving a man and woman, albeit boozy walking wounded, on the down slope of middle-age, and to see at work a talented actress (Allen), who, at least for this production, managed to crack the infamous age ceiling traditionally imposed on female leads. You go, girl!
Anger, though caustic to the soul, can also keep one going during bad times. Here, when Terry's mental crutch is suddenly yanked away late in the film by a surprising discovery in the woods in back of her house, she must emotionally evolve, and do it fast or sanity is lost.
For those viewers on the far side of forty, THE UPSIDE OF ANGER should prove to be an enormously engaging movie experience about relationships and inner salvation. While it won't, perhaps, prove to be the best film of 2005, it'll certainly be in the Top 20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MIDLIFE HORMONE ROMP WITH THE WARM LILT OF URBAN CLUELESSNES, 6 Sep 2005
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I loved this film. But I recognize it's not for everyone.
The theme reeks of an Ordinary People -- a pot-bellied Kevin Costner shacks up with his friend's abandoned wife (Joan Allen) to guzzle sixpacks like their plane is going down. Thus brews a school-girlish game of attraction, complete with giggles and hiding in the backyard, punctuated in parts by digressions of Allen's four daughters and some choice characters with varying levels of relevance to the theme.
Recapping this moments-film would work as much as it would for the ilk of American Beauty or Ice Storm. Cheeky homages to urban cluelessness, studies of ordinary people in ordinary towns facing ordinary problems.
But there's an extraordinary flair, a rhythm, to the way their stories are told. You keep watching because you relate to the characters and mull over their predicament long after the credits have rolled. The bookish narration may be one downside, you think, but traces of good humor and some taut acting all round are surely the upsides of anger and they make up handsomely.
One for the discerning types. You may want to skip it if the relaxed rhythm of movies like Sideways or American Beauty ticks you off, but I recommend it to people with a taste for nuanced cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars gentle comedy, but good moments, 21 Sep 2009
By 
F. Simons (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Upside Of Anger [DVD] (DVD)
quite enjoyed this,glass of wine, nothing on tv...might watch again in 6 months, Kevin Costner is always cute and Joan Allen was impressive. Yeah, more lead parts for older women please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When your fundamental belief system is challenged - anger might be necessary, but no long-term solution, 17 Aug 2007
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Upside Of Anger [DVD] (DVD)
This is a movie about a time in your life when your fundamental believes are challenged.

Setting is a typical affluent, suburban setting: well do family, nice house, nice area, nice kids in short everything nice. Suddenly husband disappears seemingly with his Swedish secretary and fall falls apart, at least it seems to be. Mother takes up drinking and her equally drinking neighbour, daughter drops out of school, take elderly lover, the other gets pregnant and the other one dances her into ill-health. There are horrible scenes; one feels the hurt, the confusion, the frustration, the anger, wanting to lash out. But there is more: there is the memory of good times, the knowledge what is right and good, the love for each other but all is cover by anger. Nevertheless the anger helps to get over the initial shock, the feeling of betrayal. But anger has to stop because one gets lost in self-pity and that leads nowhere. And it does and step by step all characters get back on track, even stronger than before. When the final shock occurs, but here they have already made it and cope with it.

The movie is nicely done, well played, of course in many ways very American, but there is a great message. It is an inspiration. I liked very much Joan Allen. With Kevin Costner I always had and properly will have my problems. But he does not too badly here.

Anger changes situation and people, it might be necessary for a time but it should never be the long-term solution. So enjoy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Staggeringly good comedy drama with spectacular performances and a jarring twist plus horror movie style jump, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upside Of Anger [DVD] (DVD)
I got a whole heck of a lot more than I bargained for with this one. Initially bought for Joan Allen who is wonderful. And Erika Christensen who is always brilliant. And Alicia Witt is excellent as ever. One part in particular made me scream(!) and this isn't a scary movie. Ooh and there's at least two hot guys in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A quietly moving movie., 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upside Of Anger [DVD] (DVD)
A great quality turn from Joan Allen, a very good actress. Kevin Costner is always friendly and watchable. It provides a good and different picture of relationships, families, and how loss affects everyone. Then how eventually one learns, grows and heals. A good character study piece. The supporting stories (around the daughters) are good viewing too.
When I first saw this film I then re-watched it the same day, I enjoyed it that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good viewing, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upside Of Anger [DVD] (DVD)
bought this for my daughter,she loves dvds
very funny and easy to watch
love online shopping so convinient and so much better value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE UPSIDE OF THE SAME OLD STORY, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upside Of Anger [DVD] (DVD)
30 YEARS AGO THIS FILM WOULD STAR SHIRLEY MACLAINE AND JACK NICHOLSON,40 YEARS AGO WALTER MATTAU AND SO ON.I AM IN THE FAN OF KEVIN COSTNER VARIETY AND THAT WAS WHY I BOUGHT THIS FILM,SO JOAN ALLEN GETS ALL THE PRAISE BUT ANGRY ONLY TAKES YOU SO FAR AND IT GETS A BIT VANCOUVER WIVES AND ME,ME,ME!(ALL YOU AIR HEADED SELF OBSESSED NASTY RICH WASTE OF LIFE STOP STARING AT YOUR OWN REFLECTION AND HELP THE POOR YOU USELESS BORING FXXXXXX!)- GIRL YOU GOT NOTHING TO MOAN ABOUT!ITS HER FOUR DAUGHTERS WHO STEAL THE SHOW FOR ME AND DENNYS RADIO PRODUCER WAS AN ACE AS THE SHALLOW SLEAZE BAG AND IF ONLY AMERICAN MOVIES MOVE AWAY FROM THE BUSTED FLUSH OF MIDDLE CLASS PHONEY VALUES OF LETS ALL GO TO COLLEGE AND DESPITE THE WORLD FALLING AROUND US THAT BIG HOUSE,CAR AND LAUGHING ABOUT HOW ANGRY WE GOT OVER NOTHING IS OVER FOLKS...IN THE SAME WAY BRITAIN SENDS OUT FLUFFY HEADED POSH PEOPLE AND SERVANTS NO MORE FOR CHRIST SAKE! THE DREAM IS OVER IF YOU LIVE IN CHINA WETTING YOURSELF THAT THIS IS THE TRUTH WAKE-UP!WE HAVE GREAT ACTORS CAN WE HAVE SOME NEW STORYS AND IDEARS PLEASE. FROM AMAZON UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life is messy, but entertaining!!, 6 May 2013
By 
Steve.J (Glos. UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upside Of Anger [DVD] (DVD)
This is the story of two 'messed-up' neighbours, an ex-baseball star (Kevin Costner) and a deserted wife (Joan Allen) and her children. Forget the tag lines on the DVD case, this is not `furiously funny' (don't you just hate marketing blurb?!). The humour is there, but mingled with the trials and tribulations of two seriously damaged people, who can't make up their minds if they are good for each other.
Joan Allen steals the show as the acidic and bordering alcoholic wife, deserted by her husband, whilst Costner is the sportsman turned radio presenter, who can't deal with a life after stardom and is reduced to hosting a radio show, a man who obviously likes a beer or twelve!!
If you want a film that looks at human interactions, rather than an all-action movie, then get this, as it has a neat twist in the tail.
Not a classic and not particularly fast paced, but a decent bit of entertainment for a couple of hours (unless you don't like Costner and his love of baseball linked movies)!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Upside Of Anger [DVD]
The Upside Of Anger [DVD] by Danny Webb (DVD - 2007)
3.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews