Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars10
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2014
Positives:
Works well, easy to understand and work with - I set 28 spokes to around the same tension in about 15 mins although not able to get a clear target value from the spoke manufacturer to aim for.
Easy to resell.

Negatives
16" wheels - will only work on radial patterns, cannot use on the interlaced rear wheel of my Brompton as insufficient clear length to fit the meter. The tension posts are 106mm apart and really need 116mm of clear spoke to comfortably get a reading
Expensive for the amount of use I will get from it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
The park tool tension meter is adequate for the amateur, it is not consistently accurate and therefore it is important to take several readings per spoke. That said I have used it quite a lot now and each time i get better at using it and consequently my wheels are pretty bang on now. I would like to try it side by side with a professional meter but haven't as yet committed to the extra cost (around £200 as an average) but I may well do one day soon.
If you are the patient type and you really need to be with bicycle mechanics then this tool will do what is required and you should be satisfied.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
does what it says on the tin, bought these on my first foray into wheel truing along with a park truing stand, found it easy to do with these
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
I have recently used this meter to true a wheel on my bike. This wheel had got slightly buckled and I removed this buckle simply by adjusting the spokes. I was amazed at how different the tension was on a number of spokes. I used the meter to bring the tension on all spokes to similar settings and kept the wheel true.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
This is a comparative tool and you have to refer to tables to get the absolute measurement. However when checking a wheel you should use the associated app to get a proper appreciation of the readouts. Use in conjunction with a wheel dish guage because although you might have a trued wheel the hub position may be out and when you sit on the bike the anomaly will show up. As an example I got a new front wheel that was trued but the spoke tensions of left and right spokes did not approximate each other and when the wheel was set against the hub, the dish of the wheel was out - a gap of 1/4 inch on the rim on the left side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
Pricey, but not when compared with other tools that do the same. Comes with a handy conversion card and spoke width measurement device.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
this is a great tool for anybody who loves riding and working on bikes , only part tools could design a tool which is very easy to use ,plus also you gets charts and a spoke ring to measure diffrent spokes. you may have to wait a long tine to receive it ,but it is worth it
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Excellent tool that enables precise truing of wheels & piece of mind that correct tension has been achieved rather than just guessing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
slightly expensive, possibly as needs to be calibrated
for my use, it is just for comparing tensions, to ensure spokes are all working evenly
so a cheaper. non calibrated version would serve me as just as well
(not that I have ever seen one on the market)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
Simple and easy to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)