Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Progressive death metal from the U.S.A., 4 Jun 2008
By 
Transcendence (Adelaide,South Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hinderers (Audio CD)
The name Dth (pronounced Doth) is derived from the Hebrew language meaning `knowledge' and they are the first death metal band signed to the Roadrunner label in ten years, unbelievably. Dth are unfamiliar entity to me despite seeing their `The Hinderers' disc at my local music outlet for some time now. After a recommendation from an acquaintance of mine, I subsequently purchased a copy of their sophomore release titled `The Hinderers'. What a little gem this has turned out to be as this awe-inspiring American sextet is a band that has impressed me with their musical ingenuity. Classifying and pigeonholing music can be an awkward undertaking, as it is very often open to different interpretation, but I would catalogue Dth's music as progressive death metal. The music is very heavy indeed, but there are definite elements of progressiveness from the intricate structure of each song to the drumming, guitar solos through to the keyboards segments. The vocals of Sean Farber are equally as impressive as his gruff delivery suits this band perfectly by incorporating so much vocal torment and passion into the music. It is almost as if he is having the time of his life, which I am sure he is!

The riffing and general solo guitar work from Emil Werstler and Eyal Levi is very dynamic as they keep things very interesting and invigorating. Drummer, Kevin Talley (ex Chimaira and Dying Fetus) is a total powerhouse behind the kit and his bass drum work is lightning fast in places with bassist Jeremy Creamer keeping the sound all together. Collectively, they are a formidable rhythm section and the audibility of the bass is right up with the rest of the instruments as Creamer does get his moment of glory occasionally. Keyboards play a factor in Dth's music, but more in a subtle and supportive role to the rest of the instruments - clearly no filler here. Keyboardist, Michael Kameron, incorporates a nice touch to the music and periodically uses a synthesizer, adding some very interesting soundscapes that are best-appreciated using headphones to capture some of his finer moments.

The production is razor sharp and the use of some of the top names in the business like producers, Andy Sneap, Colin Richardson as well as journeyman guitarist James Murphy who produced the entire album in conjunction with Sneap. Every single track from this album is memorable, but the standout tracks are, `Death on the Dance floor' - is a cross amalgam of dance music and death metal. Strange mixture of contradictory styles, but I believe it works really well as it shows the different song writing prowess of the band. The song starts with a chirpy keyboard dance segment, before it slides into a death metal beat. The tempo changes from time to time, again with interesting synth patterns interwoven into the music giving off a further dance beat. There is a slight Rammstein thread running through in various places here. `Subterfuge' - great sludgy guitar in the beginning and progresses at an even tempo throughout with a nice keyboard break midsection.

`From the Blind' - best track on the album, starts with a recurring riff before the great angst ridden vocals of Farber kick in. At chorus break, there is great duelling between drummer Talley and Farber, due to the unusual drumbeat. Talley's drums are very impressive on this track, utilising some nice footwork in between snare strikes. Some innovative guitar soloing midpoint, which include a nice touch. `Ovum' - great riffing at the start with heavy snare work. Song is very guitar orientated with various guitar passages before it meanders towards an Iced Earth rhythm guitar sound toward the end. Great track with plenty of energy. `Sightless' - a typical death metal track with Farber sounding very similar to Carcass vocalist, Jeff Walker. Overall, Dth are a captivating band that have an immense sense of melody and feel to their brand of infectious death metal, bearing in mind, the founding members met whilst studying music at the Berklee College of Music, hence their strapping musical pedigree. I enjoyed this album in its entirety for what it stood for and comes strongly recommended to fans that enjoy a banquet of technical death metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daath- The Hinderers, 3 April 2007
This review is from: The Hinderers (Audio CD)
Just picked up my copy, and I haven't stopped listening to it since. Surprisingly catchy songs for being so heavy, this will definately be a classic. Personal favourite is Dead on the Dancefloor, a strange mix of dance beats and death metal riffs that shouldn't work but realy does! Farber's vocals are awesome throughout, and the drumming on this album is phenomenal. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daath - The Hinderers, 1 April 2007
This review is from: The Hinderers (Audio CD)
I've only listened to this album about five times but I knew instantly that it would be one of my faves, I've heard heavy but my gosh! this really is all that! Sean's vocals really are something else, mix them with the greatness of the instruments and it's absolutely mind blowing!From first listenings I have to say my three faves are Who Will Take The Blame, Festival Mass Soulform and Sightless although this is subject to change as I hear it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hinderers (Audio CD)
!st class service i would recommend this product to any one plus the price was great too what more can i say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The new wave?, 30 Mar 2007
By 
J. ALLEN-FRY "SleepClan" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hinderers (Audio CD)
Daath - I found them on myspace a while ago, when they had one song up, and thought it was alright, nothing special though. I kept checking back wanting to hear new material, as I read that they had an upcoming album. They put Subterfuge up and I was astounded. It's kind of like death metal, but a completely different wave of it. Nothing in the realms of Decapitated or Cannibal Corpse. They have their own genre as such, and i think it's absolutely awesome. I definitely recommend this album for all fans of metal - there's not one song on this album that isn't enjoyable. 5 stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing new RR release, 29 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Hinderers (Audio CD)
Over the past 27 years Roadrunner has had its fair share of let-downs, with obvious records such as Supercharger leaving us wondering why such a prominent label signs bands that do not come forward with music that they should be! However, from listening to the newly-signed Daath's debut release "The Hinderers" I can safely say that RR are on one step further on their way to being the best label around.

The opening track "Subterfuge", right from the get-go, makes you want to stand in the middle of the street and circle head-bang your way to hell (or heaven lol).

Other stand-out tracks on the album are "Sightless", "Above Lucium", "Who Will Take The Blame?", "War-Born", "Ovum", and the strangely addictive "Dead On The Dance Floor", a successful attempt to blend together dance beats, jaw-breaking riffs, some of the most insane drumming ever, and ear-splitting vocals.

This album is an awesome mix of death, black and thrash metal and is a must have buy for any (in)sane metal fan!!!

10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DAATH - The Hinderers., 27 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: The Hinderers (Audio CD)
This album is amazing. Daath combines elements of death metal, black metal, and mixes between the genres with varying guitar styles. The drumming on this record is insane and the guitar riffs instantly get you headbanging.

Sightless, War Born, and Who Will Take The Blame are my current favourites...but all the tracks are superb.

A must buy for any fan of metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daath The Hinderers - 100% - 10/10 - 5 Stars, 23 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. M. Barnett "markbarnett666" (Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hinderers (Audio CD)
This album rocks, through and through. It's heavy with a slight difference of sound and a vicious approach to metal . With there own personal touch and sound. This album is the making of Daath with a mixture of instrument the songs are more distinctive and awesome to head bang too. Daath are 1 of the most extreme metal bands that Roadrunner Records has signed for a while. A must have for any record collection, deserves more than 5 stars, or 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dudes and dudets this freaking rocks!!!!, 22 Mar 2007
By 
Drp Bunford "DAI" (WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hinderers (Audio CD)
got my lovely DAATH track it blew my NUTS off, i was drawn to War Born (Tri-Adverserenade) num 10 holy shiiiishe it got me by suprise i was expecting another 'death metal band' and get bored by the incesent riffs that never changed pitch or anything and sum TIT sceaming down the mic!

so i listen to the rest of the album and i give it the DAI SEAL OF APPROVAL!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, extreme, diverse!, 21 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Hinderers (Audio CD)
Daath is not your every day, run of the mill death metal band. They have a crushing combination of extreme heaviness and bang your head grooves. They have a fantastic blend of heaviness and melody, and the album is mixed extremely well, nothing is buried in the mix or left out.

This is definately some of the best music I have heard in a while. The extreme grooves on this cd make you bang your head like NEVER before, and the guitar solos are new and different sounding...and still fit in the music. These guys will be legends within a year or so. In short, buy this album, it is WELL worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa8ebc24)

This product

Hindeerers
Hindeerers by Daath (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews