Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A melodrama with magic, 5 Jun 2007
This review is from: Diary of a Lost Girl [1929] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This release of the second collaboration between actress Louise Brooks and master film maker GW Pabst allows modern viewers to understand why this film is still written about and discussed eighty years after production.

Pabst takes a simple story of a girl cast out from her family, due to an unwanted pregnancy, and turns it into a study of the hypocrisy of 'respectable' society. Moved from her home to a reformatory and then escaping into a life on the streets, Pabst shows a character looking for love and support who time and again is betrayed. Once again he is able to coax a remarkable performance out of Brooks and make good use of an eye catching supporting cast. Sometimes this veers towards the grotesque but this fits in well with the themes of the story. The occassional stiffness of the silent school of acting can be seen of course but, in fact, it now re-inforces a feeling of social rigidity and convention for the modern viewer. Against this is contrasted the light and natural character of Brooks. Hers is a very modern performance and it is her sensuality and beauty that adds the magic to this story, lifting the film onto a whole different level.

The quality of the print is very good and allows the viewer to become immersed in the film without being distracted by flaws or failings in presentation. An interesting booklet is also included as part of the package.

A good release of the first Pabst-Brooks film, 'Pandoras Box' is already available from Second Sight on Region 2 DVD. This release of '... Lost Girl' allows us to enjoy the other great work of cinema they created, in something like the condition that was originally intended.

It is released by Eureka as part of the 'Masters of Cinema Collection' and shows the care and attention to detail that makes so many of their releases essential for anyone truly interested in cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Windy Riley and the Region differences, 7 Nov 2012
By 
D. Turner (Cardiff, Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The beauty of this film and its eternal star have been well covered elsewhere, so here is just a short note on the differences between the European Region 2 Eureka! 'Masters Of Cinema' release and the US Region 1 Kino Video DVD.
Firstly, the original US DVD has the amazing bonus 1930 short (18 min.) feature "Windy Riley Goes Hollywood" which is currently the ONLY speaking Brooks film on DVD (we're not counting the cheap 'n' shoddy US DVD-Rs here). A spectacular little gem, that although somewhat degraded in both picture and sound, shows the beautiful Louise in talking and dancing brilliance. And she sounds like an angel. If only there'd have been more. This comedy gem was directed by Roscoe 'Fatty' Arbuckle after his criminal and unfair Hollywood blacklisting and was one of his final works too. Probobaly the best print of this short available.
The main feature is not as good as the Eureka Region 2 DVD (which is not going to be surpassed) but certainly looks great. Worth the money for "Windy Riley..." alone.
Of course, the Eureka Region 2 DVD is stunning. A fantastic looking print, great bonuses and an informative book ('booklet' doesn't do it justice). If you're a fan of Louise then I'd highly recommend both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative booklet, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Lost Girl [1929] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I just want to mention that this particular DVD edition includes a 40-page booklet with various pieces of information on Pabst and Louise Brooks, including writings from Louise herself, which makes quite a good read.

And, as someone else mentioned already, if you like this, you should also watch "Pandora's Box", also directed by Pabst and featuring Louise Brooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 15 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Lost Girl [1929] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I apologise to readers of this review - I wanted to create something that would make people go and watch this wonderful film, but I'm lost for words: I give up. This is everything a review shouldn't be but ....

If you haven't seen it - DO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Lost Girl [1929] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
film art at its best; an interesting part of the european silent movie culture; a culture of concentrated pictures and communication - so it gives us clues for the interpretation of our wolrd, which consists highly on visual signs and communication again.

A world lost - but a world we are connected to since today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 26 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Lost Girl [1929] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
This is a very good film, but I would recommend Pandora's Box even more! Still, you'll enjoy the bohemian nature of this film and I just love Louise Brooks naturalness. great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Louise Brooks, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diary of a Lost Girl [1929] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
5 stars because Louise Brooks cannot help but convey truth in her responses to the script. She is more than a mere actress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite complex, well presented, you will be absorbed, 24 Aug 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Diary of a Lost Girl [1929] [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Black and white silent movie with English subtitles. Sound track relevant to the story. Original title "Tagebuch einer Verlorenen"

Thymiane (Louise Brooks) not aware of the relationship her father had with another of his housekeepers Elisabeth (Sybille Schmitz); she is confused as to why the housekeeper had to leave and ultimately why the housekeeper committed suicide. The pharmacist Meinert (Fritz Rasp) downstairs is more than willing to show her what happens when one gets too friendly and does so when Thymiane faints.

This results in an offspring. The father pays the pharmacist's debt in exchange for making an honest woman of Thymiane. However she reneges and holds out for love; naturally this is unacceptable so she and her diary are sent off to a correctional institute for lost girls. Her offspring is handed over to a midwife.

Will her father come to his senses or is he falling pray to his latest housekeeper Meta (Franziska Kinz?)
Will she break out of the oppressive institute or just learn evil ways?
Will her old friend Count Nicolas Osdorff (André Roanne) come to her rescue?
Or will he have problems of his own when he is out cast?

We find our selves sitting on the edge of our seats, kibitzing even if we saw the movie before.

We are reminded that with a little more love no one on this earth has to be lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite complex, well presented, you will be absorbed, 7 Mar 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Black and white silent movie with English subtitles. Sound track relevant to the story. Original title "Tagebuch einer Verlorenen"

Thymiane (Louise Brooks) not aware of the relationship her father had with another of his housekeepers Elisabeth (Sybille Schmitz) and is confused as to why the housekeeper had to leave and intimately why the housekeeper committed suicide. The pharmacist Meinert (Fritz Rasp) downstairs is more than willing to show her what happens when one gets too friendly and doe so when Thymiane faints.

This results in an offspring. The father pays the pharmacist's debt in exchange for making an honest woman of Thymiane. However she reneges and holds out for love; naturally this is unacceptable so she and her diary are sent off to a correctional institute for lost girls. Her offspring is handed over to a midwife.

Will her father come to his senses or is he falling pray to his latest housekeeper Meta (Franziska Kinz?)

Will she break out of the oppressive institute or just learn evil ways?

Will her old friend Count Nicolas Osdorff (André Roanne) come to her rescue?

Or will he have problems of his own when he is out cast?

We find our selves sitting on the edge of our seats, kibitzing even if we saw the movie before.

We are reminded that with a little more love no one on this earth has to be lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diary of a Lost Girl [1929] [DVD] [2007]
Diary of a Lost Girl [1929] [DVD] [2007] by G.W. Pabst (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: 42.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews