Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works
Works as it should, probably the best tool you can get for a budget price. Replaceable pins etc as these have a tendency to break over time are a bonus as is the feature to loosen the pin after insertion.
Published on 7 July 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chain Splitter
Like all Park Tools, it's OK, and quite nicely made. Park Tools suffer from the dollar-pound exchange rates - like computers (they fetch up in the UK priced at the same number of pounds as they would be dollars in the States).
Published 3 months ago by Richard FFord


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works, 7 July 2009
Works as it should, probably the best tool you can get for a budget price. Replaceable pins etc as these have a tendency to break over time are a bonus as is the feature to loosen the pin after insertion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Park Tool Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool C-T5, 9 Mar 2013
This review is from: Park Tool Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool (Sports)
After buying a chain tool off a well known auction site for around four pounds i decided to try it out last week, well after a few turns the tool became tight to turn against the rivet and lo and behold the pin bent as many people have said about the cheap tools rendering it useless! I looked at other tools on amazon and was quite impressed with the reviews for the park tool CT-5 so gave it a go. I tried it out today and on opening the packet the difference in quality was immediate straight away, there is a good weight to this and that is always a sign that something is a good quality item. I placed it on the chain and after a few turns the tool became hard to move round anymore. I didn't want to bend the pin so i tried the the other end of the link, a few turns and a bit of effort later the chain was apart, and i didn't have to worry about bending the pin as it was still fine. As someone has said it is a little small but it is ment to be taken with you when out on the road, and for the price i don't think you can moan too much. Like someone has said when reviewing one of the cheap ones; buy cheap buy twice and that is true, this tool will last anyone years as you can buy replacement pins which simply screw in. So avoid the likes of the ones with the black and red handles and invest your money in one of these instead, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rickshaw proof!, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool (Sports)
I am the mechanic for a rickshaw company and this tool has worked where others have failed. Very happy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small but very effetive., 20 April 2013
By 
M. D. Saunderson "Dorsai." (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool (Sports)
Not a lot one can say.
It's very small, no doubt about that.
It also works perfectly.

I tested it on a spare chain, and it removed a rivet/link with very little effort.
All that is required is to ensure that the pin that presses out the rivet is properly aligned with the rivet to be removed, and out it comes.
If the handles were any longer it would take up more space.
If the handles were any shorter they would be too short to give the required leverage.
I have yet to use it "in anger" but its diminutive size and minimal weight means that it will accompany my bike, together with a spare split link, at all times.
In the unlikely event of a broken chain I will be up and cycling again in no time.

Not tested its ability to re-join a chain, but split links are cheap, so carrying a spare split link "just in case" is no real hardship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what is needed, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool (Sports)
There are cheaper chain cutters but the Park Tool is small enough to ride with and robust enough for frequent use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool (Sports)
I like someone else i bought a cheaper version on another well known auction site without reading reviews.Like he said if you buy cheap you pay twice which made me laugh as the item broke at the first attempt.So I read the reviews and hey presto found this and believe me when I say don't go for cheapness buy this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pro, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool (Sports)
This thing is awesome, pocket sized, full metal, strong and does the job perfectly.

Even putting pressure cant break it! :O
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Suited for Emergencies, 14 April 2013
By 
Richard Allen (Wellington, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm just a little dissappointed with this product. Park Tool is a good brand and I have a lot of their kit. To be fair, I wanted a workshop tool, and this is probably designed to be taken on the ride for emergencies. I find it just a little small, so it's difficult to get leverage on really stiff links. That said, with effort on my part it hasn't failed me, so I'll continue to buy the brand, but I'll probably look to invest in a heavier duty tool for home maintenance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't leave home without it !, 27 Jun 2012
By 
Andy the Cuckoo (The Real Cuckooland - Risca) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool (Sports)
Chain broke 10 miles from home, didn't have a tool so waited for cyclist to pass who did. Thought I would't get caught again so bought this tool. Its small but good quality and fits easily in saddle pack. Chain broke again next time out, so tool used straight away did the job in a few minutes. If thinking of buying a chain tool to take out get this one. Now time for a new chain !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Park Tool Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool (Sports)
Don't buy cheap. Greatest chain tool that I ever had.
This is tool, you should buy, now.
The end.
Thank you.
After long time use, this is still great. Nothing wrong with this one. For this use, i have lost at least two chain tools, and this is still going on.
I recommend this for everyone.
Ps. much more than 100 links open, and nothing has happend for this tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Park Tool Mini Chain Brute Chain Tool
9.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews