Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continues to show its excellence
Battlestar Galactica is in my opinion the finest science-fiction television series that presently exists, being a hardcore fan of the genre it takes a lot to be able to come out with such a comment, since I have been watching sci-fi television series for as long as I can remember. In the space of a year, from when I first saw the pilot episode Battlestar Galactica has...
Published on 3 Nov 2007 by D. M. York

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series - shame about the (missing) extras
I need to preface this review by saying I've just got the disks and only skimmed the contents in the DVD player - it is possible the extras that I was hoping to find are there but are hidden somewher inobvious.

The series is, of course, great; I watched it on Sky when it came out and I wouldn't be buying the DVDs unless I liked it. What I'm complaining about...
Published on 7 Sep 2007 by J. S. Cox


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continues to show its excellence, 3 Nov 2007
By 
D. M. York (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 [2006] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Battlestar Galactica is in my opinion the finest science-fiction television series that presently exists, being a hardcore fan of the genre it takes a lot to be able to come out with such a comment, since I have been watching sci-fi television series for as long as I can remember. In the space of a year, from when I first saw the pilot episode Battlestar Galactica has become my absolute favourite television programme, bar none.

Series three picks up the torch from the end of series two and continues to take the show in brilliant new directions. For the first time since the very beginning the show begins to feature story lines that show a great deal of relevance towards the modern day, featuring stories about suicide bombings as well as "terrorism" from a perspective that is quite alien to a western audience. Character development continues to get better and better, finally managing to look at the relationship of Apollo and Starbuck without teasing the audience in the way that the previous series have.

All I can say is that I am not sure how patient I can be to await the release of series four, especially since I watched the entirety of series three in the space of a week. I seriously cannot recommend Battlestar Galactica strongly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rush release. thankfully., 15 Nov 2007
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 [2006] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Third season of the space opera that has taken the concept of the original battlestar galactica from the 1970's - a group of humans survive an attack by their robotic enemies the cylons and set off in search of the mythical planet earth - and updated it to great success, removing the camp of the original and creating instead a powerful and very mature drama.

Broadcast on sky one, and thus as a virgin media customer the second half of the season was something I couldn't see on it's original broadcast. The dvd is a somewhat rush release as it contains nothing more than all twenty episodes, spread over five discs, with no direct scene access or set up options, and the only extra is a short story so far documentary on a sixth disc. But after months of waiting for the rest of the season I don't mind that too much, because the discs are perfectly watchable.

If you've not seen the show before, then start with the mini series and seasons one and two. the story so far documentary can bring you up to speed, but it's better watching it in order.

Episode wise, the show devotes the first four episode to resolving the cliffhanger ending to season two. this draws parallels with the situation in iraq, but never in a heavy handed manner, and it makes the viewer think for themselves. I always prefer that style of writing. the first three episodes set up a resolution, which then occurs in the spectacular and thrilling fourth one.

The following episode deals with the aftermath to all this, and how alleged traitors should be dealt with. there's no spectacular action in this one, but it's great, thought provoking drama.

over the course of the next two episodes, humanity and the cylons have hard choices to make about their future plans. this is an involving two parter that is throughly absorbing to watch.

episode nine flashes back to the unseen time before the season two ending, and deals with the relationship between starbuck and apollo. an irksome episode to watch because the two become totally unsympathetic. There were apparently lots of deleted scenes from this one, so it's a shame they're not included as extras.

What follows gets the show back on course, in another spectacular two parter, as both groups continue their quest for earth, and things come to a head on a planet that is about to be destroyed.

There's a slight lull over the next four episodes, like there were at this point in season two, but these four are stronger, dealing with the relationships of all the main characters, and showing a few thought provoking and interesting things about life in the fleet.

the next episode moves starbucks' storyline on, and fills in some shocking details about her past. it doesnt make her much more sympathetic though.

and the three remaining episodes don't do the same for apollo either, when an important trial causes him to lose lots because he so rigidly sticks to his principles. these three episodes feature a very appealing character in the shape of sebastian spences irish lawyer, add some good depth to mr gaetas character, and end with a startling cliffhanger that will make you eager to find what happens next.

A strong season all in all, despite the way starbuck and apollo irritate, and a great show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series yet!, 12 Sep 2007
By 
Nik (Hull, East Riding Of Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 [2006] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The originial Battlestar Galactica was an enjoyable piece of sci-fi hokum that emerged in the post Star Wars period of the late 70's. Along with Buck Rogers In The 25th Century it entertained me as a kid growing up at the time. So when I heard a remake was on the cards almost 20 years later it struck me as another lazy bit of television. Boy was I ever WRONG! This 're-imagined' series is arguably the finest piece of TV sci-fi ever! At the very least it is the best since the Star Trek franchise peak of the late 90's. Dramatic, realistic, emotive and damn sexy! It has great effects, brilliant acting, powerful music and truly excellent scripts-I have NEVER seen a show that presses so many of the right buttons so consistently!
The third season does NOT disappoint either. The Cylon occupation of New Caprica has astounding political resonance -the parallels with a contemporary military occupation are unmistakable!
The year gap that was passed over at the end of season two is deeply mined to create many great story lines. The development of the will-they-won't-they saga between Apollo and Starbuck makes great use of flashbacks - if like me, you are rooting for 'em,certain scenes will have you shouting with sheer delight! The equally interesting -if more subtle- potential romance between Adama senior and President Roslin is blossoming nicely and Bill Adama the man has a rare outing.
The development of the Cylon characters is well handled with some excellent revelations and hints at others yet to come. The 'final five' Cylon models concept is excellent with a truly incredible revelation at the season's end that will blow you away. The development of Starbuck's character is equally surprising, her possible destiny is hinted at throughout the season but the conclusion is still pure dynamite.
The trial of Gaius Balta is a well considered reflection on notions of guilt, revenge and justice. It refuses to go along with black and white morality and leads to a speech by Apollo that is his finest moment to date.
Season four has a lot to live up to and I can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant continuation of the story, poor DVD, 7 Sep 2007
By 
M. Wilcox "elvendil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 [2006] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
There is a lot that could be said about this third season of the very clever, and very powerful series, though I'll try to keep it succinct. It scores a lot of hits, but also a couple of misses. As you will no doubt have come to expect, the story arc is enthralling, edge-of-your-seat stuff. It's intelligent and expects you as a viewer to be too. If you are you can sometimes spot what's coming up, but it keeps you second guessing a lot of the time even if something pans out as expected.

The season starts with a brilliant resolution to season two's almost unbelievable cliff-hanger. The first four episodes are pure gold. The last few episodes are not quite as good as the first, but still some of the most compelling, gripping, dramatic, and emotional sci-fi you're ever likely to watch. Plus, the end music for the last episode is so stunningly brilliant it actually grabbed my attention away from the story (but that's because I recognised it as a rocked out Jimi Hendrix track with a lovely eastern flavour all over it - I may actually buy the soundtrack CD just for that, and I never buy soundtrack CDs).

Even the filler episodes were pretty good (let's face it, every show and every season always has them - including Battlestar) - with one exception. There was an entire episode devoted to the exploits of Kat - someone I've always seen as a minor character, and an obnoxious un-interesting character at that. I frankly didn't want or need to see that episode at all, and would have been far happier if that time had been spent on one of the Number 6 characters, considering how neglected that character became.

The other point that is starting to concern me is that the religious element is getting a bit overpowering. What I liked about season 1 and 2 is that it was all kept open to interpretation - everything _might_ have been divinely controlled, but just as easily there could be rational explanation behind it all too. Season three finds the balance shifting to a level I do not like - too many characters seem to know too much that they should not without 'divine intervention', and there are too many 'co-incidences' that are crucial. And I say that even accounting for the retro-active possibilities reviled by the ending. But, I have faith (haha!) in the producers, and wouldn't be too surprised if season four offers more credible stuff. I certainly hope so.

So, as a story, as a piece of drama, as sheer entertainment - five out of five. Some of the best sci-fi ever written and filmed. It has flaws if you look for them, but what doesn't?

As a DVD box set - well. What a disappointment. Quite what the compilers of this set were thinking I do not know. When creating a 'bonus disc' on a third season box set, I think it's safe to assume the person buying it will own, or at the very least have seen, season one and two. So, the bonus disc shouldn't consist of nothing more that a poorly voiced-over re-hash of season one and two, and certainly not one using nothing but old footage. Rather, a bonus disc should tell you something new and interesting, offer insights, give possible explanations, tell you about the writing process, offer a couple of interviews. You know - give us 'extras'. The bonus disc does nothing of the sort, and I can only imagine that to 99% of the people buying the DVD set its one and only possible use would be as a coaster. Utter utter garbage, and really not good enough. It's not going to entice anyone to buy a box set, because it is in no way a 'value add'. It's truly pointless. Other than that the DVDs themselves are as expected, reasonable packaging and nothing much to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few patchy episodes, but mostly ace, 11 Nov 2007
By 
shpadoinkle - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 [2006] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This season, the network wanted more stand-alone episodes, and it really was NOT a good idea for BSG. They are generally well done, but it just feels like they get in the way of the flow of things. They made me fidgety. There is a lot less action, and more drama/melodrama. I want to know what HAPPENS dammit, and I'm not really bothered about the working conditions on the Tillium refinery ship - sorry. I'd say there are about 3 or 4 dodgy episodes, where the writing seems to go a bit cliched and stale.
Having said that, most episodes are brilliant - the usual BSG standard of excellence. It's not as breathtaking as the first 2 seasons, but it's just as involving and entertaining. Im really hoping season 4 (the last?) will have weathered the storm of the dodgy episodes. And there is a huge plot twist at the end..how will they deal with that one?
Come on BSG..you can do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome TV, 13 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 [2006] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The only show on TV that rivals the ambition, writing and cinematic execution of Lost, Battlestar Galactica is one of the best SciFi series ever to hit the (not so small) screen. What I find stunning, is how the creators manage to blend originality, mythical references, actual ancient mysteries of Earth and current social commentary into a fabulous, character driven sci-fi adventure. I own the first two seasons and I will surely own this one as well.

As has been written by other reviewers, the setup and pay-off of this 3rd season quite litterally BLEW MY SOCKS OFF. I can absolutely forgive the two or three filler episodes in the middle because they did include important character stuff which will probably turn out to be Season 4 foreshadowing. Yes, it's that well-written.

FRAK! So say we all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subversive SF for mature viewers, 19 Jun 2007
By 
Ray Blake (Hemel Hempstead, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 [2006] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Season 3 is where Battlestar Galactica came of age. Alone among contemporary dramas of ANY genre, this season tackles pressing issues of our times. Suicide bombing, torture, psychological abuse, identity and reality are all given a thoughtful, non-patronising treatment and the drama wrapped around them is utterly compelling.

The end of season cliffhanger episode is perhaps the most memorable TV event of this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subversive, mature and taut..., 24 April 2008
By 
I. Sidhu "Cylon God." (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Most people would be slightly weary of the idea of a new and re-invigorated version of the spectacle Science Fiction Drama series Battlestar Galactica (1978-1980) being up to the year in which the series became 'Galactica 1980', which lead to its thoroughly trashed downfall, was a bit of a surprise that a network had decided to re-fashion the show with a more updated and far more interesting story. Many fans would, should insist that this is a re-imagining not an intrinsic remake of a cheesy lovable, and to use a pun for a modern show, "That 70's Show". Many of the sci-fi fan-boys, and girls, were in need of a successful sci-fi drama series that had the ability to keep fresh interest and action with drama to top.

The show comes from that concept of a 2003 mini-series, a somewhat thorough and enjoyable close to 3 hr pilot. The principal point, machines are made by man, evolved, rebelled, and a war began.

Sci-fi rubbed off on this show, and it pays to respect it with homage's. With elements from novelist Philip K. Dick from his earlier works of "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep" now known as the film adaptation "Blade Runner" along with the dark twisted parallel of the humanoid Cylons, and that mirrored `skinjob' reference. It also manages to match the dark allegory of P. K Dick' "Valis" a unique exploration of plethora's and universal metaphysics.

The virtuous and glamoured imagery bears the likeness of Kubrick' "2001: A Space Odyssey" with cross-cut scenes of Baseships in the sunlight of a nearby star, with a score to match. The score itself is very cinematic, in that it mixes and mingles with the imagery of the show to great exertion; continuously trying new techniques and new ways to give the eye candy. The score feels very dark, operatic and at the same time very tautly tense; it again has mirrored Vangelis' score in "Blade Runner" with the deep drum sound to hard hitting acoustics.

Battlestar Galactica is the best character drama that has the real dexterity of raw emotion; the acting shapes plot and vice versa. The characters are flawed and they should be, the situation creates the drama and evidently shapes the characters actions. It perhaps is the only show to bludgeon the scene with taut and well crafted dialogue and sharpest whit, measured writing that current shows like LOST and Heroes could benefit from. The dialogued scenes are spot on quality, the actors all themselves have unique range; perhaps currently the best acting troupe on TV. They have unique ability to play different parts of their personas during the course of a single episode, and still bring a sense of morality, logic and whit to the role; very much unlike a "space opera".

The acting troupe has characters including Edward James Almos' brilliant depiction of Commander/Admiral Adama; easily being a favourite. His slightly depressed attitude yet experience make him capable, if not slightly down heartened. His display as a commander of the pride of the fleet does show why he is the best person to have control of a superior vessel. He is quick to think, act and knowing what the cost is with the troubles of his confounded life. Two other characters change form and gender, the two now female, where the Galactica predecessor had two male characters, (when fans should not complain) Katee Sackhoff as Kara 'Starbuck' Thrace, is born into the role of a hard-headed female Viper pilot. As well as the other female candidate played by Grace Park nicknamed 'Boomer'.

One thing this show does well is giving the most unexpected outcome possible, real credit to the writers that show they have a lot of grenades to go certain ways and that their bold spontaneity will either be accepted or judge by audiences. The writers of this show are very clever, in that you might think they plan out the show years in advance a la "Babylon 5" or "Lost" however you could not be more wrong. The show is written by boldly engaging the big issues currently on TV. You wonder how does a rag-tag fleet survive in the most logical and pragmatic way, scripted to show you that the real evidence of this is present in stories inspired by recent history and current events.

Truth is that many aspects of futuristic life may well be reflected on the current stand stead of today's socio-political and ethical conflict, that's if we decide to create robots that want to kill us. The themes themselves also reflect the big issues: drama, love, personal betrayal, post-9/11 parables, death, rape, murder, greed, religious extremism, depravity and also the antonyms when the situation lightens up (there is humour). In addition, unremittingly keeps putting forth the notion of what is exactly human. It's about genocide, war and the abyss after the precipice.

The special effects are not the only thing that shows high production value, it would put some of the current Trek franchise to shame. Everything is luscious, from the pure spot-on script and unexpected plots to the character actions and the big explosions going on outside.

The imagery splits from sporadic to perpetual, the effects are full of ardour CGI and digital FX, 'in the mind of the pilot/documentary' shot sequences. The new breed of improved and scary Terminator influenced Cylon centurions and human-looking Cylon infiltrators who's brutal degradation towards mankind reflects the worst parts of humanity. Is it pure hate, spite, jealousy or maybe because they have found a god to kill for; sound familiar? Moreover, what you have been waiting for, yes it does have graphic scenes of a sexual nature, but it's not for everyone.

Verdict:

The World is over. The Fight has just begun. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget the fact that this is Sci Fi, 4 Sep 2007
By 
Lee Atkinson (Redditch UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 [2006] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Its a shame to me that this is a Sci Fi show as loads of people that I know would enjoy this but dont watch it as they still label it a geek Sci Fi show. Some perhaps remember the camp and rather poor original that failed to deal with the gravity of anhilation of the human race and instead stuck in a comdey robot dog. Recently I managed to get the wife to watch the mini series after I had raved about it. The result we basicly sat through all 2.5 series and are now awaiting the release of series 3 on DVD. This is a woman who feel asleep during Star Wars and would never watch a Star Trek!

I was concerned after the end of Season 2 how the show would transition to being mainly planet based. Thankfully my concerns were ill founded. Firstly the first four episodes are some of the best TV I have ever seen and the fourth episode is probably the best of all of the series so far. The season starts with the occupation and the show pulls no punches introducing such themes as collaboration, death squads, sex for favours, terrorism / free fighting. (How many in the Western worls can view suicide bombing as freedom fighting? - yet here we are forced to do so). It is the introduction of these hard hitting themes that make you want more and force you to take the show seriously.

My only concern (and this mirrors my concern at the end of series 2 which was unfounded) is the revelation about 4 of the 5 cylons. I wont spoil it as it would be criminal to do so but 1 of them just cant be a fracking cylon. I have read that this sets up lots of interesting story arcs in series 4 so hopefully they will prve me wrong.

Also cant wait for Razor check out the trailers on u-tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "You've gotta be frakkin' kidding me!", 4 Aug 2007
By 
TK-1308 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 [2006] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The excellent reimagining of Battlestar Galactica continues into it's third season and drops us right into the fire as the events of New Caprica unfold under the Cylon occupation.
Although it isn't vital to the overall story, for those who can I advise that you log onto the Battlestar website and download the 10 episodes of The Resistance which fill the gap between Lay Down Your Burdens: Part 2 and the season 3 opener Occupation.
This season has changed gear somewhat in that it really starts to focus on the characters rather than space combat and over-use of special effects. However, this does not detract from the excellent storytelling in any way, giving us episodes that begin to uncover the history and the dynamics behind the two antagonistic forces involved in this conflict.
Drama, politics, religion, death and human nature are what Galactica does best and the writers this year have excelled in providing stories with heart and feeling.
There is a lot of loss this year, some more shocking than others and there are some geniuinely surprising moments along the way.
The highlights for the year are the interactions between Gaius and Six, the Cylon's Council as they struggle to understand the events of New Caprica, the developing evolution of D'Anna and the revelation about the other 5 Cylon models that we've yet to see.
The series moves along, building to a three part season ending with one of those really biting cliffhangers that leaves you wanting more. The end of the season may not be a surprise to those who are still reading the original Battlestar novels or who know the original series well but it's still well constructed and Saul's line pretty much sums up how I felt when watching it :)
Unlike the previous DVD releases so far this one has virtually no extras. The sixth disc has a 42 clip show called 'The Story So Far' which sums up the events of the first two seasons and is narrated by Mary McDonnell. Unfortunately there are no commentaries, no deleted scenes and The Resistance webisodes are not included or even mentioned in the clip show.
Season 3 may seem like the middle of a book to some viewers but it's been damn good television and get's us all set for the final season next year.
Launch when ready!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 [2006] [DVD] [2004]
Battlestar Galactica: Season 3 [2006] [DVD] [2004] by Edward James Olmos (DVD - 2007)
£9.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews