Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a trinket... I didn't expect a lot but I'm happy
I'm 23 years old, and therefore probably not as rough with my toys as your average 5 year old, but I've had no problems with the gyroscope's build quality. This isn't a polished toy (literally) or indestructable but for a trinket I bought on a whim I'm pleased.

Explanation for scores:

Build quality:
I have used it for the past couple of weeks,...
Published on 30 Sep 2011 by JRAE

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broke on day 1
I bought this for for son's birthday and we both loved the idea of it. But the outer ring snapped completely on it's 5th use on day 1! Very low quality metal and the finish was quite tarnished and patchy. Peanuts and monkeys I guess.
Published on 3 Dec 2009 by A. R. Samuels


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a trinket... I didn't expect a lot but I'm happy, 30 Sep 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tedco Original Toy Gyroscope (Toy)
I'm 23 years old, and therefore probably not as rough with my toys as your average 5 year old, but I've had no problems with the gyroscope's build quality. This isn't a polished toy (literally) or indestructable but for a trinket I bought on a whim I'm pleased.

Explanation for scores:

Build quality:
I have used it for the past couple of weeks, admittedly less once the novelty wears off, and it has stayed in one piece- I wouldn't suggest putting it on a tight-rope over a stone floor but for most purposes the build quality is adequate. (I actually did drop it from a height of about 5 feet when messing about, granted it fell onto carpet but it still survived)

Education:
It's a fantastic example of precession and obviously gyroscopes- if you wanted to teach a child about how a gyroscope works (and subsequently many amazing things) I would recommend the toy, but I'd probably also get a Powerball to demonstrate a spinning wheel's resistance to external forces. Then again for the money this can't really be beaten.

Fun:
Well... you spin it- that's about it really. It entertained a few friends for a few minutes- in an age of Gears of War 3 and Xbox 360s that's impressive for what it is.

If you're on this page, you're interested in getting a gyroscope toy- this one is small (3 inch diamter roughly) but it's cheap and does the job well enough to justify trying it before moving up to more expensive models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broke on day 1, 3 Dec 2009
By 
A. R. Samuels "ShutUpEccles" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tedco Original Toy Gyroscope (Toy)
I bought this for for son's birthday and we both loved the idea of it. But the outer ring snapped completely on it's 5th use on day 1! Very low quality metal and the finish was quite tarnished and patchy. Peanuts and monkeys I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cheap and low quality, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tedco Original Toy Gyroscope (Toy)
when started it vibrates a lot, so the tricks shown are impossible to be done. Even after applying some oil it is still noisy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gyro, 14 May 2009
By 
S. Turner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tedco Original Toy Gyroscope (Toy)
Good fun, my son (age 11) loves it! Has anyone come up with a pull-cord that lasts more than 5 minutes though?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars gyroscope, 18 Feb 2010
By 
M. Gatt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tedco Original Toy Gyroscope (Toy)
as soon as we purchased the gyroscope we had some good tricks with it.
after a fortnight however, the gyrsoscope wasn't as efficient as it was before.
in fact we had to purchase another one which has bearings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect but OK for the money, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tedco Original Toy Gyroscope (Toy)
It's not perfectly balanced and rattles a bit on the stand but it's acceptable for the money.

It demonstrates the gyroscopic principle adequately and should fascinate youngsters.

I had one years ago where the retaining pins/bearings were threaded and you could adjust them to take out any slack in the fit making for a better, smoother spin. This device doesn't have that facility.

All in all it's a fun device and as a spontaneous purchase I'm happy enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Totally unbalanced vibrating jumping about, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tedco Original Toy Gyroscope (Toy)
Obviously a very cheap toy, not a gyroscope, when spun the vibration made it completely unstable
Returned it and money refunded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Nigel Pike "Pikey" (Henley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tedco Original Toy Gyroscope (Toy)
My 4 year old daughter is facinated by it and loves it
its solid good quality and works great
good selvery too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Toy!, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Igal Eliyahu (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tedco Original Toy Gyroscope (Toy)
I bought this item to my daughter and she absolutely love it!
She can play with it for hours, showing trick to her friends. and it is also nice to explain fundamental physical principal.

Igal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tedco Original Toy Gyroscope (Toy)
This a toy but it worked well and entertains the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tedco Original Toy Gyroscope
7.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews