Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic dark fun game
Dark Sector is basically Resident Evil 4 and Gears of War combined into one game but with it's own edgy style on top of that and one of the coolest weapons in a game yet - the Glaive.

Unless you've played the above mentioned games you wouldn't know what I meant by that but if you have and you love those games, then you're going to love Dark Sector...
Published on 5 April 2008 by BritReader

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decapitation is fun....for a bit
When there were rumblings of next gen consoles 4yrs ago, one of the first titles that was vaunted as the shape of things to come was Dark Sector. We were treated to beautifully rendered FMVs, apparently in game footage, that promised much. Since then much has changed and sci-fi setting has moved to modern day, a move I'm not necessarily sure was a good one. In the words...
Published on 7 April 2008 by John S


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic dark fun game, 5 April 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Sector (PS3) (Video Game)
Dark Sector is basically Resident Evil 4 and Gears of War combined into one game but with it's own edgy style on top of that and one of the coolest weapons in a game yet - the Glaive.

Unless you've played the above mentioned games you wouldn't know what I meant by that but if you have and you love those games, then you're going to love Dark Sector.

The duck and cover system is a breeze to use and the Glaive, after some quick practice becomes alot of fun. The Glaive just doesn't come in useful for taking the heads or legs off of your enemies but it can also be used with electricity and fire, turning it into a completely different kind of weapon which can be used to solve puzzles and help you proceed further into the game. For example, you may need fire to light a statue which is near a door guarded by something you need to burn before you can open it, the Glaive can be used to complete these puzzles and let you continue on your way.

Not only that but you can use the Glaive with these elements to electrocute or set fire to enemies for instant satisfying kills. Aswell as the Glaive you get a selection of guns which you can buy with money that you find and trade. You are able to aim and hold your weapon at the same time as using the Glaive which can be used on enemies that hold a shield (use the glaive to break the shield then the gun to hit them).

The look and feel to Dark Sector is incredible. The environments are stunning and the detail really draws you into the game. Hayden can also run just like the characters in Gears of War which looks brilliant and his Glaive will reflect light or rain and blood with run from it. The sounds are also very satisfying and the music gives the game a fast paced tense feeling.

Where Dark Sector lacks is in the plot. There hardly is one, with not that much story to the game but lots of gameplay. You meet characters that you don't know anything about and you never get the feeling of being drawn into the story at any point throughout the game, you're just thrust into the action from the beginning and it gets better as you go along.

Although a good plot would have made the game that much better, Dark Sector gets it right in every other way. The gameplay is so much fun and easy to use. The Glaive can also use the sixaxis motion aftertouch which can be controlled to take out multiple enemies. It's easy to use and a nice touch in large battle areas. As you progress through the game your abilities grow and you become stronger and the Glaive becomes more powerful. The sense of building up from the beginning keeps the game fresh as you get further in and the gameplay doesn't get boring.

Boss battles are fun and can use a number of strategies to complete. Some of the animations and final end battle scenes are great to watch and some of the large enemies can be alot of fun to beat.

Dark Sector is a great game. Great graphics, fantastic gameplay, sound, design, easy to use and a solid well produced feeling to the overall product. Just don't expect a very deep or hollywood style plot as with Dark Sector it's more about good fun gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Come with me to the Dark side!, 19 Jun 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Sector (PS3) (Video Game)
I am a gamer of over 30 years standing. I can recall playing games on my cousin's orange Grandstand console, circa 1978, and playing Space Invaders in greasy Greek-owned cafes during the early 1980s (Aah! Sweet memories). So, I think I know by now, what constitutes a good or bad game. This is definitely the former! When playing, it became obvious to me that it's been heavily influenced by games such as Metal Gear Solid, which is not a bad thing. But what the developers have done, is minimize the length of the FMVs. So you won't have to sit through long pretentious sections, without using your joypad. Another influence, is the 1983 film Krull, which featured a Glave weapon comprised of 5 spring-loaded blades. But in the game this weapon can do much more than it did in the movie. For instance, you can throw it at frozen or electrified objects in order to energize it, then freeze or electrocute your enemies!! This is fantastic fun, whenever you pull it off. And as for the complaints about not being able to save wherever you are, that is not the case. If you quit, then select "Continue" when restarting the game, it will take you back to wherever you left the game previously. And anyone that admits to looking up cheats on the internet, is NOT a true gamer. The AI of the baddies is pretty good, but not undefeatable. So you won't get too frustrated with the game, even if you are a newbie. It has obviously been designed with playability in mind, so that anyone can grasp it and enjoy it. Having said that, even an oldie like me, is still stuck on the final level boss. Have no fear. I'll let you know when I beat him.
There are also some excellently designed levels, especially the graveyard level which leads you into the church where you will meet...Oh, I better not spoil it.

Fantastic fun!

P.S.
I forgot to mention the Predator-style invisibility suit you can win. Ooops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good game, 14 Mar 2009
By 
Ms. A. L. Robinson "Adele" (Liverpool, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Sector (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought this game a few weeks ago and only just started to really play it. It became quite addictive, leaving me wanting to carry on and complete more. Even though I am a girl I found this really good. The controls are easy when you have practiced it a bit. It's not one of those games where you have to fathom out which button does what, it comes naturally with the tutorial as you go along.

I would definitely recommend this game, especially if you are only paying a tenner like I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil & Gears Combined? You better believe it!, 19 April 2008
By 
K. Holmes "J4BB3R W0CK1E" (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Sector (PS3) (Video Game)
When i read reviews on this game people stated it was gears of war combined with resident evil and i was skeptical to believe that any game could combine aspects from 2 legendary franchises and be of any good. I bit the bullet went out and bought it and have to say one of the best decisions i have made!

Word of warning this game is no way suitible for kids, very gory and very violent...and im not just saying that. The main weapon in the game is one of the best and most original weapons ever in a video game its called the Glaive, a 3 bladed throwing weapon that beats any gun!

One of the coolest aspects of dark sector is when throwing the glaive you can manually control it by entering a camera angle after the glaive has been thrown. There is nothing better than throwing this beast of weapon controlling it yourself and litterally chopping peoples heads off or cutting people in 2 and watching blood fly everywhere.

Some very intense battles where you have lack of cover and fighting 10+ people - have the glaive by your side? no problem! fighting endless zombie like creatures in darkness - have the glaive? no problem!

The storyline is very original, graphics are beautiful, lighting is superb. i 100% recomend this game to anybody, you will have lots of fun and enjoyment. One of the best if not the best PS3 games to date. 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decapitation is fun....for a bit, 7 April 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Sector (PS3) (Video Game)
When there were rumblings of next gen consoles 4yrs ago, one of the first titles that was vaunted as the shape of things to come was Dark Sector. We were treated to beautifully rendered FMVs, apparently in game footage, that promised much. Since then much has changed and sci-fi setting has moved to modern day, a move I'm not necessarily sure was a good one. In the words of Public Enemy, Don't Believe the Hype. Although having said that, Digital Extremes have created a good game, its just not great.

The not-so-original plot revolves around a fictional Soviet state called Lasria whose population has become infected with a mysterious infection.....yes that old chestnut. You play as Hayden Tenno, some sort of Black Ops soldier who is sent in to investigate. Cue 'Prologue'.

The first problem I have with this game is the Prologue level is so bland and lifeless though not visually. DE opted to use their own written from scratch engine, and theres no denying that DarkSector looks great in places, in some places it shines, but unfortunately in parts its not as polished as other sneak-em-ups in the genre. You very quickly realise that you can't even duck or cling to walls which I would have thought was a basic requirement for this type of game. Sneaking through corridors and not even being able to duck or hug the scenery to take cover, felt like a few steps back in game design and almost made me want to put down the controller. After the initial tedium and encounter with a mini-boss helicopter things do improve although the lack of duck and cover becomes a problem later in the game.

For example when you're faced with a number of enemy soliders all trying to take your head off, the best you can do if caught in cross-fire is to press X and run for cover. Gun combat is generally pretty solid though melee is a bit hit and miss particularly when there are groups of enemies attacking you. During melee you can almost perform some pretty gruesome finishing moves which is one of the reasons this game has been banned in Australia. Gotta love censorship right?!!

Once infected with the virus and after a very cool FMV, the screen lights up, quite literally, as the drab palette is replaced by glorious colour. This is where the game really starts. Your main weapon in the game is the much touted glaive which is a work of pure genius and one of the coolest weapons I've seen implemented in a videogame. Lovingly ripped off from a 1983 movie that most people will never have heard of (though I bet the game designers have seen it!!) called Krull, the glaive in DarkSector is a tri-armed blade, much like a boomerang which has a lot more abilities hidden up its sleeves. Once armed with this beauty it soon becomes clear why this title has an 18 cert. It's bloody, and much delight can be derived from liberally disecting the enemy as you go, although their death cries do become annoying after a while. The more powerful you become the more visceral it gets.

As you progress through the game additional abilities are unlocked, both for yourself and your weapon, the coolest of which has to be the aftertouch. Once thrown, by pressing R2, another press whilst the glaive is in flight goes into aftertouch mode. This is basically a slo-mo behind POV of the weapon which you can steer using six axis, not recommended, or the right analogue stick. Being able to steer the glaive in-flight towards targets, lopping off limbs in the process is very cool, definitely one of the best features of the game and works very well. You're also able to 'trap' elements like fire and electricity which adds to the fun when a zombie or soldier is on the business end of the blades.

Your first encounters with the infected populous of Lasria are noteworthy also. Think zombies with hardened twisted exteriors and you're not far wrong. At first these encounters invariably take place in subterreanean areas with very little light and actually work really well. Seeing shadows loom towards you is quite disconcerting, and though the lighting levels can be adjusted I think it detracts from the atmosphere if you choose to do so. The AI of the enemy soldiers is pretty good but could be better. A lot of the game does feels like one set piece after another consisting of taking out multiple enemies in an area using a combination of guns and the glaive. Shield yourself behind something, move from cover, dispatch multiple enemies with the glaive or guns and progress to the next area. Rinse and repeat. There are some environmental puzzles although they aren't exactly taxing. I haven't played the game through completely yet but I'd imagine this could be become tired if there's no variety in the gameplay.

This game does remind me a lot of The Darkness and whereas that title had production values through the roof, this title unfortunately does not and it shows. After this much time in development I guess I was expecting a lot more, a finely tuned polished product. DarkSector is not a bad title by any means and I would recommend it, albeit as a rental, because whats there is a lot of fun and worth playing. In summary this game is not as great as the sum of its parts which is a shame because it could have been a whole lot better. I can't help but feel that this is a missed opportunity. There are some great ideas here and a lot of potential for a sequel, its all in the execution, no pun intended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously underrated, 16 May 2008
By 
G. Nisbet (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Sector (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm at a loss to explain the hatred many people seem to harbour for this game. They must have either played it for 10 minutes or had impossible expectations. The complaints are completely unjustified. There are no control issues. None. There are no glitches that I encountered either. What I encountered in actual fact was a beautiful looking game with stunning sound and breathless action.
It is correct to call it a blend of Gears Of War and Resident Evil 4 and while not quite scaling the heights of those games it manages capture the basic elements that made them fun. It has bags of atmosphere and some sweet levels. The start is actually the most boring. When the game gets darker it gets better, closely resembling the sewage/science block levels in RE4 complete with sheer panic. Enemies attacking from all sides in a darkened room amps up the tension. Finding some cover and glaiving off their bonces creates maximum satisfaction.
Listen, if you like action and aren't interested in profound plotting then this game has it in spades. Just don't expect anything new. I've given it 5 stars to counter the ridiculous 1 star reviews. No WAY is this a 1 star game. Let's keep 1 star for the likes of Jericho eh?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So here it is!, 9 April 2008
By 
M. Bestwick "Johnny C" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Sector (PS3) (Video Game)
So by the title here it is! First off lets just add this is a very gory game and parents please unless you want your child sitting in a dark corner crying to themselves because they thinks they sees a man in Black with a Glaive in his hands please by all means show them this.

Gameplay: First in gameplay you notice that there is a lack to cover system e.g standing by cover constantly hitting the cover button just to be hailed by bullets. Also when enemies cover you do notice that it seems the designers decided to go back 10 years in gaming by putting the same enemy behind cover but when shooting from behind cover he pops out like a whack a mole game. However in all fairness when controlling the charater the designers did put in a few nice touches such as the running system, this shows the game realism as you run you notice the blur off the side off the tv screen, nice touch but shown on many games in past.

I will be nice now and say the Glaive is one of the coolest weapons in the last ten years with the touch of sixaxis this completed it for me with the aid of its trusty torch (even though this disappears after a while, whats wrong no batteries!). The weapons system is in fairness really good i do like the the third person over the soldier feel of the game maybe bit too resident evil 4, but that game did win nearly every award they were nominated for so i think good choice in copying the idea.
The weapons themselves are a good mix of starting picstol then upgrading to the spraying pistol, the to an automatic rifle, to a shotgun and then to a nice rocket launcher, which by the way the designers really shocked me with the first real boss battle (a massive mutated king kong on the loose) and the way the shooting and the dodging coould of been some sort of movie scene pure genius!

Graphics: The graphics in the opening and following scenes did startle me it looked so real I thought it was going to start raining out the tv screen, and on the normal gaming system as said previous did seem quite good with blur of screen when character is running, But by far the best touch is the way the glaive seems to slice your enemy like it was actually Darth Vaders light saber cutting into Obi Wan body. NIICCEE!!

Story: Set from past to near future the story is based on Hayden Tenno the poor man is tortured by the amazing ability to bring out glaives from his hands (Amazing power Hayden stop whining about it)the story is based in lasria where Agent Hayden is sent to find out about the infection which then you are infected by and you must defend yourself while making yourself through the cities streets while being met by an army of thousands.
The story line does seem to fade after the seventh hundreth soldier who dies from your glaive, but hey as long as you keep cutting the story keeps going(You do start to feel like this should have been a simulator on amputating after a while). This did have potential to be one of the best storylines in recent times but I believe that the games lead designer was more intrested in its gameplay than this.

Some other things to cover: If this has a sequel then it has a buyer but what I would like to see is a bit more weapons choice as of blades actions than its gunplay, a bit better cover system especially for the pop out enemies, the grenades should be looked at again and keeping with the resident evil 4 theme of third person shooting, I believe and many probaly agree that would be one of the games of the year!.

For its value of puchase this is well worth it even though I did slash it a bit, the goryness is genius and the shooting and the Glaives Sixaxis control is also pure to its heart of a trully amazing game, however with the let down of its storyline I give this 4/5. Sorry Hayden please dont use that glaive on me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars honest review, 21 April 2008
By 
Mr. C. Southern (newcastle upon tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dark Sector (PS3) (Video Game)
get this second hand for about twenty odd quid and its a bargain it really is good. theres not many games i play through twice the last one was gears of war and that was ages ago but dark sector i finished on normal then played again on hard why? because slicing off human heads is amazing and you never get bored of it. theres a few puzzles in it, driving bits were you have tanks and third person shooter so its not the same thing all the way through. ive had my ps3 since day 1 and this is one of the best games ive played on it. the only reason gamespot and ign didnt rate it higher is because d3 publisher didnt pay them to get a good score. halo 3 got a ten out of ten because microsoft gave them a little pocket money so it would sell millions. check out dark sector its a good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Sector (PS3) (Video Game)
This was the first PS3 game I purchased and it was a blast! I got it very cheap at the time and I'm glad I didnt pass it.
Still from the time where games had no trophies....
Recomended for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars game, 26 April 2014
By 
D. Mccann "m.mccann" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Sector (PS3) (Video Game)
it is very good I would recommend it to a friend I don't know what else to say about the product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Sector (PS3)
Dark Sector (PS3) by D3 Publisher (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: 0.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews