Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine clock radio
One of the better clock radios I've owned (and there have been many). For the price, an excellent buy. Radio is fine for waking up, though not something you'd want to leave on all day (hence the four stars). Two features on this clock radio are indispensable, and not always found: 1) a visual notification that the alarm is set (this is a little green dot on the right side...
Published on 8 Jan. 2009 by M. Schwartz

versus
129 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice little item.
I bought this clock radio after looking everywhere for a model with a large display for a friend with poor eyesight. You can get an ordinary alarm with a huge display, but without the radio.This seemed to fit the bill. It sure is an attractive bit of kit, and easy to use.The only criticism I have is that the display is quite dim in daylight,and even I struggled to see the...
Published on 20 April 2008 by Sandie O


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 89 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine clock radio, 8 Jan. 2009
By 
M. Schwartz - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony ICFC218S Clock Radio (Silver) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
One of the better clock radios I've owned (and there have been many). For the price, an excellent buy. Radio is fine for waking up, though not something you'd want to leave on all day (hence the four stars). Two features on this clock radio are indispensable, and not always found: 1) a visual notification that the alarm is set (this is a little green dot on the right side of the front); 2) a button for canceling the alarm, after it's gone off, for the day. The latter means that you can leave the alarm set for the entire week (i.e., "on"), without having to actually turn a switch off in the morning, and turn the alarm switch back on at night. Really handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I glows in the dark, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Sony ICFC218S Clock Radio (Silver) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
The Sony Clock Radio is ideal. The time figures are clear and easy to read. The setting are a joy to use. Even with arthritic fingers to set the time and alarm are quite simple as indeed is the on/off switch. The sound clarity is good not tinny like so many other small compact radios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


229 of 238 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad from a usability point of view, 21 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Sony ICFC218S Clock Radio (Silver) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I've been after a new clock radio for my mum who suffers a bit from Alzheimer's so I was after something that would be very simple to use. This somewhat fits the bill, though does have some problems. This review is based upon my requirements on usability.

Controls:

Most controls are located on the top of the unit. First there are some small buttons for setting the time and switching to daylight savings time (DST). Normally, and thanks to the "auto" time/DST setting feature, you wouldn't need to touch these but if you did nothing really happens. For someone like my mum, this is a good thing since she won't accidentally change the time/date setting. You have to press and hold buttons for 2secs for something to happen.

Next we have a rotary three position switch for setting the alarm mode (off, radio, buzzer). This switch some people may find really very fiddly. It is of very poor quality and I can see that would be the first thing to fail.

After that there is a sleep button and two buttons for turning the radio on and off. The off button has a different tactile feel from the other buttons. Having the radio on/off separate from alarm on/off is good from my point of view. The sleep button allows you to listen to the radio for 90, 60, 30 or 15 mins which is a good feature.

Finally on top we have a big snooze button that also doubles up as a "show the date" button and sleep button; and next a rocker switch for setting the alarm time.

On the side of the unit are two rotary controls (radio tuning and radio volume) together with a AM/FM switch. I would have preferred to have seen the tuning and vol controls very separate (perhaps on different sides) so as to avoid accidental detuning of the radio.

Features:

The "automatic time set" feature is a little misleading - all it means is that the date and time has been pre-set in the factory. Mine was a couple of minutes out initially. The clock is backed up with a replaceable lithium battery so it should last a reasonable time. To be clear, there's no link to the Rubgy time signal here.
The clock stores the date, which is viewable by pressing the large snooze button. The date can be used to automatically adjust for GMT/BST.

There is no brightness control for the display but I find its brightness to be a good balance of not too bright and not too dim.

The clock shows 12hr time with a PM indicator. This is good for people who find 24hr clock harder (I don't think there's a way to go to 24hr mode).

The radio reception seems OK, much as you'd expect from a device of this price.

Overall its pretty OK; has some usability concerns (notably the alarm mode switch). The separate on/off radio buttons and sleep feature should make things easier for my mum compared to her existing clock radio at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted, 27 Dec. 2010
By 
M. J. O'malley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony ICFC218S Clock Radio (Silver) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Having been late for my overtime a few times and thus being out of pocket - I decided my mobile was no longer sufficient to wake me up, and decided on a 'proper' alarm.

I had a few criteria;

- Had to be wired, no messing with batteries.
- Had to display the time
- Had to be easy to set
- Easy to snooze
- Have a radio

This has all the above, and is very simple to use due to the small price - the alarm is incredibly easy to alter and snooze.

All in all a great product that paid for itself the first morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 119 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, 4 Feb. 2009
By 
Steven Freeman "Steevo" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICFC218S Clock Radio (Silver) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This clock radio is excellent build quality,you can tell as soon as you unpack it.
Dont be fooled into buying a back up battery as one comes with the unit already installed.
The display is perfectly adequate for brightness and I chose this one as the display is large but not huge and means that I do not have to put my glasses on in bed to look at the time.
The design is very good and has the Sony signature of being ageless and therefore will go with any setting.very pleased and satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


169 of 179 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality product!, 22 Jun. 2007
By 
Mr. Daniel Tancock (Honiton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony ICFC218S Clock Radio (Silver) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I recieved mine today from another site (play.com/11.99/free delivery) and i am very pleased with it.

As soon as i plugged it in the time and date set itself- wow! Really simple to use. The green display is large and i was worried it would be really bright- its not at all and it is still perfectly visable.

I did think though that it was a little bigger than i expected, but still its stylish and i would definately recommend it!

£17 from amazon is a bit steep though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clock Radio, 8 Sept. 2009
By 
Ms. ELB Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony ICFC218S Clock Radio (Silver) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Haven't had a new clock radio for 30 years and so impressed with this Sony.
Like the fact it finds the time itself and that it's so easy to operate.
Wish I'd changed the old one years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 139 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice little item., 20 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony ICFC218S Clock Radio (Silver) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this clock radio after looking everywhere for a model with a large display for a friend with poor eyesight. You can get an ordinary alarm with a huge display, but without the radio.This seemed to fit the bill. It sure is an attractive bit of kit, and easy to use.The only criticism I have is that the display is quite dim in daylight,and even I struggled to see the time, and my eyesight is good.After all,it's not always dark when you want to know the time, is it? All in all, it's Sony,it cost just over a tenner,and is good value,but the poor display lets it down, hence the 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 25 Sept. 2009
By 
Debbie (Notts, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony ICFC218S Clock Radio (Silver) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This alarm clock does as it says, it's simply a matter of plugging it in and you're off. It's really easy to use, including the alarm set up. It is a little on the large size but this means you can always see the time where ever you are in your room!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony coming up with the goods again, 20 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Sony ICFC218S Clock Radio (Silver) (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Delighted with the new clock, though I still have to go through the instruction booklet to find out what else it will do! I have no concerns with that, I'm sure there will be other attributes that I can make use of.
The size of the numbers on the face is larger than previous clocks I have owned - this is of great assistance when reading the time in the dark.

No hesitation in recommending this clock. The price was good as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews