Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goose pimples
OK, so I'm 50, and maybe shouldn't have a say on new groups. But do these guys give it all. There are strong traces of punk in there, and I'm sure they must have been influenced by The Clash, Pistols & Buzzcocks. From track 1 had goose pimples, it's just catchy, within 3 listens you are there
and you know all the words. Go to the web site, and have a listen to the...
Published on 15 Aug 2007 by Robert P. Splaine

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catchy Enough
This album is reaaly all about the singles. The first son Romantic type is excellent and so is the next i found out. Apart from wait for me and i'am not sorry the rest of the album is fillers and unforgettable..6.96 isnt a bad price but I would just download the singles.
Published on 2 Aug 2007 by Bruce Fox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goose pimples, 15 Aug 2007
By 
Robert P. Splaine "mrbobsltd" (pattaya) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wait For Me (Audio CD)
OK, so I'm 50, and maybe shouldn't have a say on new groups. But do these guys give it all. There are strong traces of punk in there, and I'm sure they must have been influenced by The Clash, Pistols & Buzzcocks. From track 1 had goose pimples, it's just catchy, within 3 listens you are there
and you know all the words. Go to the web site, and have a listen to the tracks, l think the first track, they even have a video of. I was tapping away within 30 seconds.
It's in my best CD's of the year already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Im not sorry that I got this album, 22 Aug 2007
This review is from: Wait For Me (Audio CD)
This yorshire band showed a lot of promise when their single romantic Type came out last year, a great slice of spiky indie rock.

then they followed up with that with the already indie anthem of "I Found Out" with the shout "Is she going out with"

after the two promising singles, it was time for the band to come up with the goods on their debut effort "Wait For Me".

and they really do deliver the goods on this one, 12 songs that are designed to played loud, with a beer in your hand and group of mates all tuneless singing along, back of the net!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Definite for anyones CD collection, 2 Sep 2007
By 
D. Hooper "BEN" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wait For Me (Audio CD)
Wait for me is a fantasic album, full of fire passion and energy. Every single song on there could be a single in its own right, and after one listen on the album the whole way through im sure you would agree. A must have for any pop/rock/indie fan.

Recommended songs: Romantic type, I'm not sorry, I found out, Take her back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quality album, 10 Aug 2007
This review is from: Wait For Me (Audio CD)
Not much to say except possibly album of the year, I can't turn it off. As for the last reviewer, although he is spot on about this album he is so wide of the mark regards indie in general he has almost gone full circle. For instance, The Cribs have been around longer than any of the acts they supposedly copied?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally here and it doesn't disappoint, 25 May 2007
This review is from: Wait for Me [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Although I don't like describing bands as "X meets Y", I'm simply too unskilled to avoid it, so sorry: The Pigeon Detectives are The Jam meets Feeder - purveyors of energetic, hooky and anthemic garage rock.

They sit well with contemporary staples (Kaisers, Franzs, Arctics, et al) but wear their old influences (The Kinks and Velvet Underground) brashly enough that they don't sound like copycats.

'Romantic Type' is very Feeder-like; fast-paced shouting of amusing lyrics mixed with tempo changes into more tender, reflective segments and fun guitar solos. My favourite on the album though is 'I Found Out', Undertones-like (read: Teenage Kicks-like) and with a shouty backing vocal, highly sing-along-to-able.

I can sympathise with complaints that The Pigeon Detectives are generic, because there's no denying that there are hundreds of UK bands putting out music like this, but one can't help thinking this band are something more, perhaps having taken those five years since forming in 2002 to really nail down the precise tracks they want to define them in their debut album. It will certainly be interesting to see where they go next; a mass bandwagon jumping could shoot them to the top of the popularity stakes in latter 2007 or they could just fade into obscurity like so many others - neither would be quite deserved.

Inoffensive, uplifting but not especially remarkable UK rock - worth a listen, if not a purchase. The mental imagery of their name gives me the laughs, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple But Effective!, 7 Sep 2007
By 
Jr Teague "weag" (Warwick Uni) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wait For Me (Audio CD)
Many people have said this Album is simple, but so what!!! Its damn effective raw energy and power with catchy riffs and sing along choruses. Ok its not a classic but still very very good. (what it the review bellow all about!?!?!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant upbeat album, 7 Sep 2008
This review is from: Wait For Me (Audio CD)
I borrowed this album off a friend having never heard the Pigeon Detectives before and within a couple of days of having listened to the odd song i found myself in love with this album.

Absolutely brilliant upbeat songs with a few slower but still cheerful songs. Doesnt get boring easily, despite a lot of listening. Pretty unique (as far as i've heard). Catchy.

Lyrics good
Melodies great

End result: 10/10 :)

I recommend this to anyone who likes The Wombats, The Fratellis, The Kooks, and most people who like The Killers ( for a slightly less depressing experience :) )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well what do i need to say.........., 6 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. D. S. Rees "Dan.............Just Dan" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wait for Me (Audio CD)
Never really been a fan of the indie scene and more of a metal fan myself, i went to see this band due to my friend buying tickets and needing someone to go with him. Live, they were fantastic which surprise surprise led me to buy this album which is so so catchy and to be honest just brilliant. so yeah buy it!!!

Best songs:
-I Found Out
-Take her back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars caught in their trap!, 17 May 2008
By 
Nicole Cook (South East, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wait For Me (Audio CD)
Admittedly upon first listen of this CD I was certain the Pigeons were just another standard indie band, yet after just a few listens of this I found myself totally loving this striking debut.
This CD flows flawlessly, each song a remarkable prologue to the next, it's so easy to listen to and is guaranteed to have you singing and dancing wherever you are!
Sure the boys aren't about to win any brit awards but this cd does exactly what any indie/pop cd should do, it's fun, memorable and completely captivating!
You will not regret buying this, especially at this price! Best tracks include 'Take her back,' 'You know I love you' and the massive opener 'Romantic type.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same? So what, enjoy it for what it is!, 5 Feb 2008
This review is from: Wait For Me (Audio CD)
It seems that some reviewers are critisising the 'Detectives' for being 'indie'. What is 'indie'? Is it not just a genre invented by the media? Enjoy this album for what it is - simplistic music made by people who obviously enjoy making it. Not a classic album, nor (IMO) will they make another album worthy of note but so what, we live in an era of throw-away bands. Buy it, Love it, Move on to the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wait For Me
Wait For Me by The Pigeon Detectives (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews