Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars58
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2007
Not a bad CD. But The Wurzels seem to have jazzed up some of the songs, bit of a disco beat. My 7 year old thought they were good to dance to. Having said that they do sound good, but not what true Wurzel fans might expect. Some of the song I remember Adge Cutler singing, and thought Pete Budd's versions wern't as good. He seemed to be trying to sing them in Adge's style & personally thought that didn't work. If you prefer the Wurzels now then you will probably enjoy this CD. Fans of the older stuff, namly Adge, may not.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2009
May 2007 saw the release of the second compilation to bear the name "The Wurzels Greatest Hits". This collection brings The Wurzels story right up to date with the inclusion of three tracks from the "Never Mind The Bullocks" album, and the band's 2007 single I Am A Cider Drinker 2007 performed with Tony Blackburn.

Along with these are all your old favourites from the post-Adge line-up - or at least enough from each phase of The Wurzels evolution to please those fans who buy a 'Best Of' compilation. However, Adge fans looking at the track list and expecting all those classic Adge Cutler performances may be a little disppointed, as they will find that the majority of the older songs are The Wurzels re-recorded versions from the A Taste Of Somerset album, so this truly is a 'Wurzels' compilation album.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A goodtime, good fun CD - the classics are here, plus some modern reworkings, and there's a smattering of tracks from latter day Wurzels CDs - including some rather good jazzed up re-workings of old Adge Cutler songs that highlight how good he was! Ferry To Glastonbury is quite beautiful, and when the Common Market Came to Stanton Drew has simply not dated.

The only downside is the reworkings of hits by Oasis - amusing, but I'd rather hear the lyrics Wurzelized!

Well worth investing in.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Bought as a bit of fun for a colleague from the countryside. All those fun tracks are here so if you have a brand new combine harvester with a CD player this could be for you...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
I liked this a lot although I was a little surprised at some of the selections eg. how come a song featuring Tony Blackburn is one of their greatest ?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Songs about drinking cider..excellent if you are in a silly mood or if your mood needs lifting or if you need to kill some aliens
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2010
As a new resident of the West Country, I've gained a lot of joy and local knowledge from this Wurzels CD. In particular, "When the Common Market comes to Stanton Drew" sent me off to Stanton Drew to see the stone circle and drink at the Druid's Arms. Adge Cutler might have been disappointed to know that lasagne is now on the menu there, but I hope he wouldn't have minded this dark-eyed lad trudging around Somerset.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
The Wurzels never have been and never will be the last word in cutting edge contemporary music. However if like me you're a child of the 70's and remember most of the words to The Combine Harvester song then it's well worth taking a trip back down memory lane and purchasing this. You even get a Tony Blackburn duet. If this album was a food it would be cheese and cider - not sure it goes but who cares!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
Fantastic as always having seen them in concert at Gatwick Airport Sports and Social Club in the early 1970's when I met my beloved late husband, so they have wonderful memories for me and Tommy Banner signed my husband's tie for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
He loves them has all the classics he loves to hear and few jazzed up dance songs. The dance numbers don't go down so well but he still enjoys the classics and very cheap ordered another for my mother in law.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.